We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday afternoon”

Caterpillar Visitors Center
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Caterpillar Visitors Center is a fascinating look at the company, the iron and the people making sustainable progress possible around the world. From the humble beginnings of the first tractor to the company's present-day leadership in building infrastructure and powering the planet — it's all right here on Peoria's beautiful riverfront. We invite you to experience Caterpillar like never before and plan your visit today.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Took the family (parents and sister + 3 kids under 12 on a Saturday afternoon. Spent about 2 hrs here, after watching the video, my nephews found the simulators and it was fun challenging each other on the excavator. The workers were helpful and knowledgable on the equipment. My mom and sister enjoyed a quiet conversation while sitting in a bucket of a compact wheel loader as the kids ran around climbing on the equipment and pretending to dump the two of them out of the bucket. :-).

Helpful?
Thank Rucklvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    102
    35
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Exhibits”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The museum has former Caterpillar employees who assist visitors as we toured the exhibits. There were 3 very interesting, short movies that tell the Caterpillar story including pictures of CAT equipment in use all over the world. There is a historical timeline of the development of the company and equipment. There are equipment exhibits that are set up so visitors can climb up into the equipment. There were simulators set up to let visitors get the feel of operating the equipment. The gift shop has a variety of items available for purchase.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Smaller than expected”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Was nice but not a lot of equipment on display. Is more of a Cat history museum than a visitor center. Four or five pieces of equipment in showroom and some simulators that were fun to try. Other than that pretty much old photos and history of Cat. If you have ever been to John Deere visitor center in Moline you will be disappointed in this place. Also has a admission fee whereas John Deere center is free. Was interesting to see once but wouldn't go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TWD435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Caterpillar Visitors Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
With eight exhibit galleries and our product floor, we strive to bring our patrons the best possible experience at the Caterpillar Visitors Center. What could we have done to make your visit more enjoyable?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the exhibits to the equipment to the simulators. Awesome. The kids, the wife, myself all gave it an A+. Bravo

It is free for kids under 12 and I think $10 maybe for adults. Don't miss it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not what i was expecting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i thought it was a little smaller than it should be...there are not very many exhibits. need to expand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank klumpkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Caterpillar Visitors Center, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know the Visitors Center didn't meet your expectations. We are always looking for ideas from our patrons. What exhibits or activities would you like to see at the Visitors Center in the future? We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caterpillar Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Caterpillar Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing