We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're trying...”

Peoria Riverfront Museum
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Peoria Riverfront Museum features international exhibitions, the Dome Planetarium, RealD Giant Screen Theater, art & natural history collections, and interactive galleries - including IHSA Peak Performance, Illinois River Experience, Discovery Worlds & The Street local history. We offer unique classes, programs and community outreach efforts that provide fun, hands-on educational experiences for all ages. The Museum is the perfect, riverfront location for one-of-a-kind event rentals - unique weddings in the sculpture garden, corporate team building activities, relaxing meeting spots, special celebrations, giant screen video game competitions and even dinners under the stars. Peoria Riverfront Museum is a privately funded AAM-accredited nonprofit museum. Our mission is to inspire lifelong learning for all - connecting art, history, science and achievement through collections, exhibitions, and programs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Peoria IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“They're trying...”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Another riverfront attraction. The best kept secret is the movie theatre. Huge screen. Tickets are expensive, but the food is cheaper by far. The collections are decent, and it's getting better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ejonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    66
    31
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs more!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The museum facility and large and well maintained however the exhibit hall is very small. When you think museum you think artifacts and two rooms of artifacts just wasn't enough for us. Luckily the second exhibit was Ripleys believe it or not. That exhibit was fun for all Members of my family. There is much to see in that exhibit and some to make you really think.

The children's area of the museum is fun but could use more interactive experiences. The soccer and basketball areas were over run by teens making my 7 year old hesitant to go and try out how accurate his throw was or strong his soccer kick was.

I would like to see this museum expand. It's in a Gorgeous location and has plenty of room for other exhibits!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
972 reviews
550 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“$$”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I refused to pay the admission price that they were asking so I visited the free displays in the hall & lobby area. The gift shop was larger than most small museums and I did purchase a few items

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pnkgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We live here and were so excited to see how this museum turned out. We were extremely disappointed. Not much to see at all. There is an IHSA section that would be fun for middle age kids and an area for smaller kids, but the river history section is lacking. There was a fish tank with local fish that was so tiny. You can drive across the bridge to Bass Pro and see a better fish tank representing the illinois river. There is an movie theater, but it keeps breaking down. We would've gone in the planetarium section, but it was only doing shows at odd times of the day and we would've had to kill time and saw no point and decided it wasn't worth it. Admission is high for what is available, we don't anticipate ever going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hoping it will grow”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Fabulous new building, great addition to the community.
Went to see Chihuly exhibit. It was good, some lighting was ridiculously bad, like, non-existant. And that was surprising since I heard the tour guide say that the building was designed specifically to accommodate this Chihuly exhibit. That's a lot of eggs in one basket if you ask me. What'll the rest of the exhibits look like in there?
Expensive.
Small and the teeny tiny history of Peoria, you can do that in a New York second.
Some fun things for kids.
Couple hours and you can see all there is to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank 4dordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peoria Riverfront Museum also viewed

 

Been to Peoria Riverfront Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing