We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel but…”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family of five stayed here July 4-6 for a State softball tournament. The hotel is beautiful and but still being renovated outside and is a bit of a walk if you don't want to pay for valet parking. We were able to walk to the riverfront for the amazing fireworks display and not have the hassle of traffic to get back to the hotel. Now for the negative…we were traveling with five people all together and when my husband called the morning we were to stay, we were promised a room with 2 queen beds. The call was specifically to find out if we needed to bring an air mattress for the kids to sleep on. After playing softball all day, we were ready to go back to the hotel and relax and watch the fireworks, only to discover they were out of rooms with two beds and only had a room with 1 King left for us?!?!?! How are we supposed to fit five people in one bed?? The front desk girl was very apologetic but that didn't help our situation at all. Could have been easily taken care of that morning if we hadn't been told we would get a room with 2 beds…we would have brought the air mattress. So we had three to the bed, our 5 year old in a chair and ottoman pushed together, and one on the floor. Also, this hotel is one of those that makes you pay for EVERYTHING…breakfast is too expensive to eat, they charge $9.95 for wi-fi and don't have any vending machines or ice on the floors. All in all, a great hotel for couples maybe but NOT for families…although we were definitely not the only family staying there. At about midnight, I could hear a man screaming obscenities at his baby while the baby cried through the thin walls…it happened twice and just as I was getting ready to call security, the man stormed out and slammed his door. This is a hotel I wouldn't think about bringing my family to ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Momof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    106
    38
    13
    14
See reviews for
69
70
10
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Having grown up in this area, the Pere Marquette always had the reputation of being "the hotel". Knowing it had deteriorated over the years, I was rather concerned when my husband made the reservation. So pleasantly surprised upon our arrival! Beautiful renovations bringing the glamour back to the downtown area. Nice short walk to the riverfront for dining and 4th of July festivities. We had booked a two bedroom suite for our group of 5 and were quickly upgraded to The Presidential Suite for our 3 night stay that we extended to a fourth night without difficulty. Absolutely breath taking suite with some hidden surprises left behind from the prohibition era. Beautiful views of the river too. The very large master walk in closet was perfect for my teenage daughter. We had a roll away bed brought up and put it in the closet to make it her own little room. We had amazing service too from valet to the front desk to the restaurant/morning coffee barista. And I really have to commend all of the valet staff!!! They were wonderfully accommodating to all of our vehicle needs and all the in and out we ended up doing.
One thing that we noticed that may need to be addressed by the management. We had friends join us in our suite for cookies and social time. Apparently some cookie crumbs ended up on the floor. Our room was serviced after their visit and the crumbs remained on the floor like housekeeping just had not vacuumed. Everything else was always well maintained and cleaned daily so may have just been a one time oversight.
Would stay here again without reservation!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I flew into Peoria for a concert at The Landing and stayed here. It was perfect walking distance from the Riverfront, the restaurant we ate at for the night, and the venue. Only 4 blocks away. We were greeted immediately by very friendly bellhops and front desk staff. All funny, great personalities, and exceptional customer service skills. The hotel is very well kept, very clean, and has that nice luxury feel to it.

Our room was also very clean and the king bed was SUPER comfortable. The only thing about the bathrooms in the room that I would note for other guests who may be bunking with someone other than their spouse or family, is the bathroom door does not shut all the way like a regular bathroom door, it is a sliding one from side to side and can literally be lifted away from the wall and...oops...there goes your privacy (if that is something of importance to you). The big shower head was very nice and pumped out enough pressure for its size (always a plus for someone with a lot of hair!)

When we got back from the concert, we wanted to have another drink or two and the bartender was kind enough to stay open for a few minutes more to serve us as he was just about finished closing up shop when we strolled in. We really appreciated that!

The buffet breakfast was delicious and the staff was great there as well. However, it was a bit overpriced in my opinion for what you got. $15 a person for a breakfast of some scrambled eggs, bacon, and a pastry.

Upon our departure, instead of having to hail a cab, the bellhop at the front offered to take us to the airport in the hotel shuttle for free. Very, very nice offer and saved us $20!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody else who is traveling to Peoria for business or pleasure. The staff takes care of you, it's clean and comfy (and also very quiet), and worth paying the extra dollars after viewing what some of our other overnight accommodations could have been in the area!

Room Tip: The hotel is overall a very quiet hotel. We didn't hear one thing all night except for the thund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night for our anniversary, short trip to town. Lovely hotel. Parking was a bit of a hassle as sky bridge was closed. Our room was small but well done with high end fixtures. There were two weddings this weekend and it would have made a lovely venue!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirby03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Peoria Marriott Marquette at 501 Main Street in Peoria, Illinois; 1-309-637-6500. The hotel is an old red-brown brick 12 story building with 286 rooms. The interior of the hotel is a surprising blend of old and modern that I found pleasing. My room was small, but adequate for my needs. The shower was new and slopped to one end. The low end had a metal plate type drain that was very slow draining. I was concerned that water would overflow on to the floor. Other people in my group noted the same concern.
The hotel had a central lounge/bar area that was very popular with everyone. The hotel has an in-house restaurant named "Table 19". The was good and the prices was reasonable for a hotel. There were other more modern (new) hotels in the area, but if I am back in Peoria, I will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed on a business trip for 1 night. The staff was all excellent, very helpful, etc. An old hotel, but obviously remodeled in past few years, and all done very nicely. The rooms were very clean, great accommodations, parking garage adjoins the hotel for ease of parking, across the street from the civic center, so very handy for events to attend, etc. I walked a 1/2 mile or so to the river for dinner, there is a paddleboat and great walkway and views of the river. Will stay again if back in Peoria.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Tucked in the heart of a downtown business district this hotel was a pleasant surprise. If you love the grand hotels of old this is the place for you with polished marble floors and a pretty nice layout for afternoon business entertainment or overnight stay. Valet Service was a little stiff at $12. New parking structure on the back side is very nice, but the walk to the front door is through construction, garbage storage areas, and through the original garage which is not that pleasing and a good walk if you need a little exercise, but a real task for the handicapped. Eventually it appears there will be a skywalk from the parking structure direct to the lobby. Bar area is split into 3 areas with large comfy chairs and tables, a belly up to the bar area with stools, and a smaller area with more privacy tables within walking distance to the restaurant area. Courtesy limo will provide transport and pickup to local restaurants and that was a nice feature. Everything appears to be modern and refreshed...the rooms were excellent and clean, the mattress was absolutely wonderful...slept all night for once without any noise from hallway traffic. Nice big screen TV, nice layout of furniture except for desk chair which was very lousy...no Wi-Fi in room without added charge...obsolete business model, but it was a very clean and modernized room. The streets were very clean, with updated lighting, hardscaping, flower pots and music playing from every street light. At ten there was surprisingly little foot traffic even though there were strip joints and other attractions that usually draw a rough or undesirable faction of society. Nice stay for in by 5 out by 7 am stay.

Room Tip: Handicapped rooms right off the elevator on higher floors, that is not the norm but it made up for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwedo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.2 mi away
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain Hotel
#6 of 23 in Peoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Peoria Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Peoria
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Peoria North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette

Property: Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
Address: 501 Main St, Peoria, IL 61602-1028 (Formerly Hotel Pere Marquette)
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historical elegance of the most premier hotel in Peoria, Illinois. The Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette Hotel invites guests to experience the $70M renovation which has retained the essence that made this hotel in Peoria a favorite choice among celebrities. The hotel features 15,500 sq. ft. of new commercial space on the ground level and coming in 2014, will be connected to the Peoria Civic Center via skywalk. In the hotel lobby, an inviting great room greets guests and leads to Table 19, an upscale restaurant and bar where delicious entrees, drinks and lively conversation are the order of the day. In each of the brand new 286 rooms, guests will relax on comfortable linens, custom duvets, and plush mattress toppers. Wireless high-speed Internet access and new HDTVs balance the historical ambience and elegant décor. With modern amenities and simple luxuries, it’s our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation the trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing