We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bargain”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a Bargain”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our room was nice enough, but for less money we had better accommodations at the other hotels on our trip. The staff was acceptable, but nothing special. The hallways/walkways showed signs of age and wear. When I went into the breakfast area after the deadline (unaware), the lady in there told me that the breakfast bar was really closed, even though there was still lots of food on display. At another hotel earlier in the week we observed the staff cordially keeping the breakfast bar open long after the published closing time. Many people partook gratefully. Next time we're in Peoria we will look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grannyfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    46
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
36
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

my husband, sister and myself have stayed several times at the Comfort Suites because we have family in town. The staff is so friendly and helpful with directions or even helping us find a Fex Ex office which was open on a sunday so we could ship a picture home to my sister who had to take the early flight out one day. The food is hot and plentiful, a very nice selection. I like how easy it is to get on and off the interstate from the hotel or go anywhere in town from this centrally located site. All the staff, including maintenance and housekeeping are ready with a smile to greet you or help you with your needs. We would not consider staying at another hotel only because its been ideal for us on our past stays and we plan to return in the future and will not look further than here. Several good restaurants and the movie theater are withing a mile or two of the hotel, one restaurant in walking distance. A slight backroad parallels the War Memorial Drive and can take up east without having to get into all that traffic for a backway to walmart, several fast food joints and of course the movies. We slept very well every night of our 4 night stay. We can't say enough about this place!

Room Tip: we have been on both ends of the hall...each was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MINDEN
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in a room on the first floor and it was damp and musty even with the ac on. The rooms are big and clean. The hallways smell like a vanilla candle. Staff was friendly. It was a little difficult to find the entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softball_Mom_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I travel quite often. For one week of every month, I travel to Peoria. I have stayed at numerous places in Peoria and there was a couple of times, due to last minute booking, I stayed at Super 8.

Comfort Suites just went through a make-over. I'm not sure that the make-over included the rooms--they seem a bit outdated. However, the rooms are clean and quite large.

The last two times I have stayed here there were some less than acceptable instances. My last visit I need to work until about midnight. Needless to say, I was beginning the wake-up process a bit late, at 9am. I didn't need my alarm, there were two cleaning staff arguing outside my door with their voices raised. I will also say, if you do not like strong smells, this may not be the right place for you. A french vanilla smell permeates the hotel. It was like that both stays.

First impressions matter, and the first time I was checking in, one of the three ladies at the front desk was telling their rest about her upcoming trip to India. I stood and listened, until she was done and ready to greet me.

I will probably opt. for Staybridge or Quality Inn--which is right across the street, and where I have had much better experiences (and nicer amenities) for about the same price.

Room Tip: Request AWAY from the highway ramp, especially on the second floor...it is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRx03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peoria hotels

Green Bay, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First time staying here and in Peoria. As mentioned in another review it was very difficult to find, with the entrance through the Perkins restaurant parking lot from a small side street. Even with a GPS I was worried I wasn't in the right area! It is near shopping and restaurants though so that was a good plus. We checked in around 3:30 and went to our room to relax for a bit after traveling all day only to find our room was open and the housekeeper working in all the rooms around it. After waiting for a few minutes we just decided to go hit up the local mall and come back to our room later which was a little irritating since we were exhausted from traveling and just wanted to kick back and relax! The room itself was decent and fairly clean. A/C in room didn't seem to work very well. Beds a little uncomfortable and breakfast was just OK. They had a nice selection of foods and drinks. Overall it was just OK for the price and think it should be a little cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We travel through Peoria every year on the way to visit family & have tried all of the hotels at this interstate exit, We will return to the Comfort Suites. The price was reasonable; the room was clean; beds were comfortable; and the staff members we encountered were friendly & professional. We rarely use the breakfast for anything other than coffee & no issue with that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a basic hotel. There was no signage on the front door or anywhere else, and upon 1st site, we thought this must be the Super 8. The lobby/entrance was very plain and when you walk in, it feels like you are in an cheap outdated motel. The rooms however, were very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and had nice linens. The staff (with the exception of the breakfast lady) were all very nice. The front desk and housekeeping staff could not have been nicer! Very welcoming and friendly...Did not care for the free breakfast or the VERY crabby lady that sets up & maintains it. The hot food (eggs/sausage) was inedible.....the cold food was ok....I cannot possibly imagine how anyone could find this breakfast tasty. On day 2 we decided to pay for breakfast at the nearby Perkins, rather than have to deal again with the nasty lady and terrible food.

Room Tip: would suggest requesting a room near the lobby, as all rooms are located down one very long hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangecounty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Peoria
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Peoria
4.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain Hotel
#6 of 23 in Peoria
401 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Peoria North
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1812 W War Memorial Dr, Peoria, IL 61614-6728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites ideally located off Interstate 74, minutes from downtown Peoria, Bradley University and Northwoods Mall. This Peoria hotel is close to other popular attractions and businesses like Caterpillar, Constitution Gardens, Exposition Gardens, the Glen Oak Amphitheater, the Glen Oak Zoo, the Peoria Civic Center, the Lakeview Museum and Wildlife Prairie Park. Tucked away in a quiet location, the hotel is just seconds away from popular restaurants and cocktail lounges and adjacent to a 24-hour Perkins restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing