We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible worst hotel ever!!!”
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed for our wedding day first off two people from our wedding party kept getting hung up trying to book there room our supossed romantic room the lil bath/hot tub was broken smelled terrible half the lights worked niether of the phones worked the lady at the desk was very very rude another guest of ours stubbed his toe three times and bumped his elbow twice in there little reg room my brother n law and wife had no air in there room and they promised to refund all our money ans some of our guest keep in mind we booked 6 rooms total and a week later still no refunds save your money or sleep in your cars it will be a better stay every other hotel in the area is better

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damorrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were road-weary when we got to Peoria for our stay. I was hesitant about reserving and paying the price for this hotel, but found out upon check-in, it was well-worth it.

Included in the room price ($125/night) were 4 drink tickets for the bar, breakfast buffet for all of us (4) that rivals 'chain hotels' Sunday brunch buffets.

The rooms were very clean with wonderful linens, double beds, DVD's player and DVD's for checkout at the front desk, free WI-FI with great coverage & signal. We were the end room on the top floor with almost full bars & good speed.

We had a river view room and even though the major highway was within a few blocks we heard nothing for noise all night.

This was a delightful stay and we will definitely return when in Peoria.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YWGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This was my first visit to Peoria and I was not too sure of what to expect from this hotel. I must say, I was very pleasantly surprised. They renovated this hotel a little while ago, and the look and feel of the place is very good. The front desk staff were professional, courteous and just generally very helpful. The room itself was good. It was not very spacious, but clearly, a lot of thought had gone into planning the layout and amenities. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spacious, clean and modern. The parking is free and conveniently located for anyone staying at the hotel. Internet speeds were good and it is easy to work from the room. I was a big fan of a part of the lobby that was set up to look like a reading room with plenty of books and comfy chairs.

On the flip side, just a couple of things. The breakfast was strictly average at the hotel. I would prefer to walk down a couple of blocks and visit one of the cafes on Adams. Also, while the location was good for people who need to be in and around downtown Peoria, it is a bit far away from places like Memorial Drive.

All in all, a great stay. I would definitely stay here again and happily recomend it to friends and family staying in Peoria.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvistraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We loved staying at the Mark Twain hotel. The room was very nice (we had a deluxe king) and was very quiet except for the heating unit. We loved the walk-in shower and the office/desk area of the room. We also loved the Two25 restaurant. Their food was great and we loved the atmosphere.

The only issue we had was the cold hallway air coming into the room around the door. Because of this we had to turn up the thermostat on the heating unit. If we come to Peoria again, we would definitely stay at the Mark Twain.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanRae22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Stayed one night. Booked a studio suite. It was very modern but small. Exceptionally clean. Fridge and microwave in room. Shuttle service from airport was wonderful. Hotel gave me two free drink tickets and when I asked where the water machine was, they handed me a free bottle. Great free made to order breakfast. I used the fitness center downstairs but wished you needed a key to open it. No business center but front desk printed my boarding pass. Nice restaurant. The place to stay if you go to Peoria.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Free breakfast, good location, great bed, friendly staff, cool decor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicago_young_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by this newly renovated hotel. Much nicer than the other hotel in town.

I went to Peoria just to dine at June, a true destination restaurant.

Look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.2 mi away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Peoria-East At The River Boat Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Peoria North, IL
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Peoria at Grand Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602-1239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peoria
#8 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range: £80 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Twain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing