We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere galore”
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Atmosphere galore”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Downtown Peoria has changed somewhat since my last visit so I decided to make a change too, rather than stay at the usual brand name hotels, I decided try out the Mark Twain hotel on 225 Ne Adams street.
Parking was simply behind the hotel. We entered through the back entrance and soon found ourselves smack dab in what looked like Twain’s library or the lobby as it were. Plush leather chairs, tables with adaptors and plenty of old timey atmosphere. Our room choice was a suite on the top floor so we could have a view of the riverfront and some elbow room for our two night stay. I was expecting just the one view but we had a corner room with three vast views including a telescope to get up close and personal. The room boasted two large HD TV’s with surround sound systems and dvd players. We didn’t bring any movies with us but they had a nice selection at the front desk.
Our reservation included for an extra charge two dinner tickets, and two drink tickets each for the two night stay at theTwo25 an unexpected treat, just off the lobby. The atmosphere of the hotel transcends to the restaurant in both appearance and service. Brick walls, plumbing hardware, tiffany lamps and cozy booths set the stage for dinner.
We ordered drinks, with a first course followed promptly with the main course. The service is unheard of for a busy bistro. They brought each plate promptly as we finished including a large pepper mill service much like the good old days. The Lobster bisque was my favorite followed with hot toasty rolls and Chicken Marsala with demi’ glaze. My Husband had a side of delish fried Calamari that he ordered again to take back to our room.
While the hotel does not have a pool or exercise space we were offered a short shuttle ride to the Peoria River Flex for our daily swim and well that is for another review. The Mark Twin hotel is on our “hot list,” for any future trips to Peoria. Price for room, meals and amenities was quite reasonable in fact somewhat cheap in my view.

Room Tip: We chose the ninth floor suite for amazing view and elbow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    127
    42
    27
    16
See reviews for
77
123
23
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greendale Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Tried a hotel once in Dublin named for a great composer. Expected greatness, was heavily disappointed. Not the case with the Mark Twain in Peoria. Our group of 4 guys made a road trip to Peoria over the weekend. They gave us rooms with a river view and it was quite pleasant. Between our two rooms we had absolutely no complaints. Everything was as neat, fresh, and tidy as you could ask for. Clean, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms with modern fixtures. The bar and restaurant are good. The patio deck in front had big cushioned seating. The library in the lobby has great classics to browse with a modern single cup coffee machine right there for you. The price was right, the parking was free. And you are in easy walking range of many pubs, restaurants, and the Caterpillar visitor center too. Breakfast the next day were tasty made to order omelets with good side dishes and OJ too. Definitely a good hotel.

Room Tip: The river view was nice. The patio in front was a great spot to unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrobby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississppi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here two nights & really loved our room. It had lots of table top area in which to lay my stuff out & getting ready was quite convenient with all that space. The staff was super friendly and the restaurant downstairs was a great place to unwind & have a great meal. Have to say I was pleasantly surprised how nice & convenient the location was.

Room Tip: Ask for upper river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzlover2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickie74
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and loved that we could walk to the riverfront to the festival. Also, the free breakfast and drinks were a nice extra. The only thing bad about this place is how small the rooms are. Our bed was a slightly oversized twin bed. And that is no exaggeration. There is no bath tub as its a shower only stall. I think for the price we could have at least got an actual full or queen size bed. Something to keep in mind if you are wanting to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi S, General Manager at Mark Twain Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Nickie74,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the location, breakfast and drink tickets. It makes staying with us a good value. I'm sorry that you felt the room was small. As a business class hotel, 75% of the guests here are single business travelers who are fine with the space. I am not sure what room you stayed in, but I am going to guess you stayed in a room with one queen size bed, which would be one of Studio rooms with the brick wall and modern bath fixtures and European style glass stall shower. The beds are indeed a queen, we have them custom made locally.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact me - you may prefer our Deluxe rooms that are on the top two floors of the hotel. These rooms have about 100sqft more room than the other rooms in the hotel.

Happy travels and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Naomi
nshea at marktwainhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housatonic, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place is fabulous!!!!! Easy access from the interstate, large FREE parking lot, the hotel is immaculately clean and fresh smells are throughout the hotel. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, quiet, tastefully decorated, clean, large, comfortable beds, did I mention clean?? Has a free cooked to order breakfast each morning!!! I loved this place!!!
So you have to ask yourself, with free parking, free made to order breakfast, free newspapers, complimentary drinks at the bar, WHY would you stay anywhere else in Peoria??? Rooms at this hotel start out at what you would pay for a cheap chain hotel and not get 1/3rd of the amenities you get at the Mark Twain. Do yourself a favor and check out this gem during your next stay in Peoria IL!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Peoria bridge, it is beautiful at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi S, General Manager at Mark Twain Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Michael B.,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay. We enjoy having you as a guest when you are in town to visit your family...our goal is to make you feel like you're "coming home" to a property that you feel comfortable in.

I remember that you stayed in one of our recently remodeled Deluxe rooms. I hope you enjoyed the room and noticed the changes from the last time you were here.

Safe travels, and we'll see you the next time you're in town.

Regards,

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice little hotel and very friendly and accommodating staff. It included breakfast which was made to order. It's within close proximity to the riverfront that has a walking path and a few restaurants. The rooms are small but nicely appointed and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi S, General Manager at Mark Twain Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear RichDBoulder,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

I could not tell which room type you were in, however, if you decide to stay with us again and you feel your room was on the small size, check out our larger Deluxe rooms. Contact me prior to your next stay and I'll see if we can possibly upgrade you so you can check it out.

I appreciate your patronage and the review and hope to see you again!

Best,

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice Hotel, clean rooms & very friendly staff. Also right down town Peoria, everything real close. Shoping, entertainment and sight seeing. Only a few blocks from the Illinios River. My wife and I went to a Blues concert that was only two blocks away from the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi S, General Manager at Mark Twain Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Dan807,

Thanks for your review!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the hotel and staff. I hope you enjoyed the Blues Fest - it was huge this year and will be great again next year! Please contact us to let us know if you'd like to book for next year, and ask about any Blues Fest specials, or contact me directly for your reservation.

Happy travels,

Naomi
nshea at marktwainhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.2 mi away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Peoria Downtown
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Peoria North
7.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Property: Mark Twain Hotel
Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602-1239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peoria
#8 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Twain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing