We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peoria's gem”
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Peoria's gem”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Very nice hotel from the lobby on up. Lobby is an old fashioned library--very plush. With a coffee/hot chocolate machine. Staff are nice and helpful. Room was nice and spacious and the bed comfy. Had DVD player and good sound system. Also had a whole catalog of movies to borrow from them. Room had the quietest fridge ever and the best use of space for their ironing board. Restaurant on site is very good. Dinner is not included but breakfast is and the chefs make anything just the way you like. Excellent waffles. FD also gives you two free drink coupons per night of stay.
Lodging there gets you admission to the Riverplex which is a great gym offering everything you need. Hotel uses Bath and Bodyworks products. John the concierge was very helpful and can help you plan anything you need. Hertz onsite. Everything in Peoria is just a few mins drive away and quite a few things walkable.

My only problem with hotel staff is that upon checkin they didn't tell me about the Riverplex and I found out later. Only reason I did not give this hotel full marks is for the noise outside. My view of the river was very nice but there is a lot of traffic. Usually it really bothers my sleep but it did not this time. I am going back there!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    124
    38
    26
    13
See reviews for
75
117
23
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We booked this hotel as part of a trip through Illinois. What a great find. The hotel has been newly remodeled and the rooms were clean and bright. A little on the small side but we were just there for the night. The room rate came with 2 free drinks per person which we enjoyed at the bar before our dinner at the hotel restaurant Two25 I would have to say that our dinner there was one of the best we've had in a long time. Our room rate also included a free made to order breakfast the next morning. We each had an omelet and it was a fantastic way to start the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelfromCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The staff was very friendly, helpful and resourceful. The renovated rooms are not huge, but furnished nicely. The daily drink tickets, free breakfast, and free shuttle are a great bonus. I'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhs2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My only other hotel experience in Peoria was the deteriorating and much-reviled Holiday Inn just down the street. The Mark Twain, which is about the same price as the Holiday Inn, is VASTLY better. It's clean, beautifully decorated, and the staff is very pleasant and friendly. The amenities are a bit limited (particularly room service, which is somewhat grudgingly provided by the adjoining restaurant), which makes this hotel less suitable for vacation travelers looking for a luxury getaway, but if you're in Peoria on business or attending a family event, you probably won't care. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are extremely small, but they are pleasant and comfortable. The Mark Twain will definitely be my first choice on future trips to Peoria.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db05202014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My boyfriend and I were planning to stay with our dog in Peoria after a baseball game and doing some bar-hopping and the Mark Twain was perfect. It was during the summer, so we were able to score a deal with water park, 2 free drinks for each of us at the bar, and free breakfast for under $120. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly - and there was a complimentery shuttle to the game (they offered to pick us up too). The drinks are house wine, well drinks, and a couple of draft beers, but hey! they were free! The breakfast was also pretty standard, but there were omelets and waffles made to order, which was nice. The room was cute, the carpet was slightly dingy, but we had a view of the river and the bathroom products were Bath and Body Works. We also brought our dog, which wasn't a problem at all! She was able to stay in the room while we went out. Overall, I think it's a great deal - and the best location for going out in downtown Peoria.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razzle_Dazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Staff knowledge is lacking, the rooms need a really good cleaning and the property feels rundown (with the exception of the lobby).

We stayed in one of their deluxe rooms--a corner unit that was very, very small. I inquired at the front desk if there were bigger rooms and the staff member indicated that the deluxe rooms were indeed the biggest. Even after I pressed her about the size of the corner unit, she indicated that there was no difference in size. On the second night of our stay we visited friends in another deluxe room--it was nearly twice the size.

I wanted to take a toothbrush and clean the caked on dirt off the bathroom vanity--the place is just not cleaned properly. Thankfully, we weren't in the room much, but it was a disappointing experience. The good news is that the lighting is so dim that you probably miss some of the dirt--a blessing.

What made it more disappointing is that upon checkout, I shared our concerns with the attendant at the front desk--she could have cared less.

I can't recommend this property. We had friends on the same trip who stayed at the Staybridge Suites and the Embassy Suites in East Peoria--they said both of these properties were great.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grommit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This hotel was one of the best I've ever visited. I've had much lesser experiences at hotels costing twice the money. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean, bright and super high quality everything. Free drinks at the bar and free hot breakfast made to order. Close and convenient to downtown and the riverfront. I can't say enough about how cool this hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grooveshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.2 mi away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
7.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Peoria North
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Property: Mark Twain Hotel
Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602-1239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peoria
#8 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Twain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing