We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monkton Farleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

It was a birthday treat for my girlfriend, who was soon to become my wife, and we had the most wonderful 2nights stay. Massive bed with 9 pillows. Gorgeous bath. Open fire. Food very tasty. Easy to find.

We wanted a private, exclusive weekend away from the normal trappings of life and certainly got it.

Room Tip: The biggest one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damianandfidelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a review of the restaurant. I was not aware that it was a hotel. It was recommended to me during my stay at lucknam park. Wonderful setting and beautiful pub. I was disappointed that there was no lamb left and no more crackling left, but working in the industry I understand this happens. Food was good but expected better. My crab and octopus salad was a little bare and I expected my pie to be a full pie but instead was a slither of a much bigger pie. Desserts were exaggerated. 6.25 for a very small chocolate and and raspberry tart and 7.25 for 3 chunks of cheese. Pub food should be more wholesome. Service was good though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband and I were greeted by Tom and his great team on Friday 10th August when we stayed in this beautiful boutique hotel. Room 3 was huge atmospheric and beautiful and contained a free standing roll top bath at one end, in addition to a beautifully modern walk in shower room. The kingsize sleigh bed was extremely comfy and lots of little details around the room made all the difference. The menu for our evening meal was comprehensive with something to suit everyone. The food was beautifully cooked and presented, the service was excellent at all times. There was also a wide choice for breakfast and we can recommend the full english! Top marks, fantastic team we will be booking again

Room Tip: Room 3 was spacious and beautiful with attention to detail in every corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsysunflower2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have stayed here twice now (the first time in room 2) we opted for room 1. This is the smallest room but still a good size with a lovely bathroom,REN smellies, new magazines and a very comfy bed. The only negative is that the room is dark but this is in keeping with the pub decor. We didn't eat dinner here as we were visiting friends who live in Bath. Breakfast the next day was lovely lots of choice beautifully cooked. I would have preferred the strawberries to be chopped up as it made for messy work at the table. We were entertained by a delivery person whistling the national anthem and jerusalem especially fitting after the GB team performance the night before. This is a lovely base to explore Bath and they don't stipulate a 2 night stay at weekends a practice more places should adopt. It's also very close to Laycock Abbey which is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a review of the food in the restaurant and not the accommodation. We have visited this pub before and have been impressed with the food; however, it was not as good as previously. The bream fillet was tiny and although the vegetables were nicely cooked, the portion was a joke for £15. My lamb and rosemary pie was a slice cut from a larger pie and was evidently reheated in the oven - the small cubes of meat were not particularly appetising and akin to something you would get from a fray bentos tin! We did not hang around for anything else on this occasion - staff were pleasant enough but little touches like a basket of bread have gone (at least on this occasion), and the portions were disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BladderedBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

An absolutely beautiful village pub serving wonderful food and great beer. Good for families. If I have to be critical at all it would have to be the light - or rather lack of it. Ambient lighting has its place, but it really shouldn't strain the eyes!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights midweek in the fabulous room 3. It is absolutely HUGE! There is a roll top bath in the room itself and a wonderful log fire which is all set to light when you arrive. They then set it again when the room is made up. The room was spotless as was the shower room which was also an impressive size. When you get back to the room in the evening there is bottled water replenished each evening. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room but they will bring tray with kettle and fresh milk in a thermos if requested. There is an ipod dock and large tv and dvd player. There is a good choice of dvds in the corridor to choose from. A previous review said it was noisy. If you have no tv or music on you can hear a bit of noise from the bar but it stops when the pub shuts and did not bother us in the least.
We ate here all 3 nights and the food was delicious. Service was also very good. Prompt but not intrusive. Good wine list - ALL wines are half price on Tuesday evenings! Also nice selection of real ales for hubby to try.
All in all this was a wonderful place to stay and is close to Bath and a few National Trust places. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: It has to be room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Monkton Farleigh, Monkton Farleigh BA15 2QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Monkton Farleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Farleigh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Wiltshire
The Kings Arms Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing