We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem For The Family”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Chicklade B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little Gem For The Family”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Although we only stayed one night, the hosts Lynda & Colin, made us feel especially welcome. From the moment we booked the family room, after chatting to Lynda, I knew we had made a good choice. It is listed as a bed and breakfast, but the quality of the rooms and fittings were better than many hotels I have stayed in.
The family room, was two separate rooms linked with an adjoining door, the children had two big beds to sleep in and enough play space on the floor to build the Lego. The main bedroom had a large comfortable bed, with plenty of cupboard space, tea and coffee, TV on the wall.
The breakfast in the morning was plentiful, great selection of cooked food, cereals, juice etc
The location is just off the A303, but they have a big drive to park in and I could not hear any traffic. A great spot to visit Longleat for the day or Avebury.
Lastly, Lynda & Colin are exceptional hosts, warm, friendly and could not help us enough to make our stay wonderful. Better than excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisScholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
34
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Amazing place to stay...They make you feel so welcomed it's truly great to stay up here...it was only 19mins from Longleat and after we went to Salisbury with the helpful direction from the wonderful owners...truly amazing

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aymenpicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I had a great holiday here. Lynda & Colin are great hosts with good advice and ideas when required. Breakfast was great with a good choice of cooked to order food plus different fresh fruit each day. Plenty to do in and area the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just Stayed for 4 nights in this lovely B&B .The owners going out of their way to provide you with good service .Although we have visited this area quite often as it is not that far from home Lynne was still able to come up with little gems each day of something different for us to see.If you were new to this area then the list of places to visit would be endless .It is close to Longleat,Stonehenge,Stourhead and Salisbury.I was a little concerned as the house is just off the busy A303 but once inside was amazed at how quiet and peaceful it was in our room .There are only 3 guest rooms which are all on the third floor of this impressive property and we were fortunate to get a free upgrade to the family suite which would have been ideal for a family .We were greeted with tea and cake on arrival and the breakfast was cooked to perfection.There is also ample off road parking .If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this locality I can not see how you could find better hospitality than the Old Rectory

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went away for my boyfriends 27th birthday, the old rectory was prefect for our stay and catered our every need (and more). We stayed here for two nights in 2 of the rooms, the service was lovely! So helpful and friendly, and the rooms were very nice! I would most definitely recommend staying here for anyone of any age, the rooms are very homely and the area is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Proza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We could not have been made more welcome! The attention to detail in the Family Suite guaranteed a delightful stay. Run by a charming family who truly believe in hospitality, this calm, beautiful house is simply a pleasure from arrival, through a cosy night in a superb bed, to a tasty, well-presented breakfast to the final farewell. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knickerbockergloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Very warm welcome, lovely house. Parking very convenient. Owners will recommend local places to eat and know all there is to know about the local area.
We stayed here for one night to visit old Wardour castle.
Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order. Stayed in the French themed room on the top floor which was comfortable (lovely bed) and well decorated and has en-suite.
Would recommend! :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma and David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicklade
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Lamb
The Lamb
#1 of 2 in Hindon
337 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#2 of 2 in Hindon
113 reviews
10.3 mi away
South Western Hotel
South Western Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tisbury
35 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chicklade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chicklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is conveniently situated on the A303 but well set back in its own grounds nestling next to All Saints Church. Stonehenge is just a 20-minute drive, Longleat 20 minutes and Salisbury 25 minutes. It offers a great location base for your holiday and to explore the many local attractions within the beautiful Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset countryside or to break your journey while travelling to and from the West Country. Walkers and cyclist are very welcome we are very close to Dorset and Wiltshire walkways. The Old Rectory has been sensitively and stylishly refurbished by the present owners Lynda & Colin Masefield. Guests are assured of a warm welcome, friendly service in lovely surroundings. The affordable price includes a delicious full English breakfast using locally sourced produce. The en-suite bedrooms including a family suite have been refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing