We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Itchen Abbas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Trout Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Itchen Abbas B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

As a family we have visited this pub a few times since it's refurbishment when driving through the beautiful Itchen Valley. I don't know if we have just been unlucky, but on each occasion it has been sadly wanting. It always seems that they have 'run out' of whatever drink we try to order and as the place has been almost empty on our visits, I am not quite sure who is drinking the stock! What an uninspiring place - I pity the poor villagers.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    7
    11
    13
See reviews for
19
16
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We decided to try the Trout as not been here since refurbishment. The whole place looks so much better and staff were friendly and attentive but Sunday roast was ok with insufficient quantities and not particularly warm. Whether the small amount was to leave you wanting dessert but we weren't going to spend £5.95 each when I had means of a pud at home for fifth of the price. Might just pop in for a pint and crisps sometime but not for meal. Husband said was a lovely pint.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroud93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely food, dinner and breakfast, wide range of choices at excellent prices and staff always willing to help and sort out any problems. Clean and comfortable rooms. Access to main roads. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizi7058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Do yourself a favour and keep driving if you're thinking of staying here: the rooms are appalling and a huge contrast to the bar/restaurant: although they too have 'issues'.
I stayed in the very cold "Family Room" which would have better-suited David Bellamy it had so much 'wildlife' in it: spiders, a colony of ladybirds and who knows what else! When l asked for heating I was informed that the controlling thermostat on the landing [note no controls in the room!] would be turned up - which it was. However the room was cold again in the morning and l noted the thermostat had been turned right down again.
Bathroom [shower only] has no heating at all and resembled something from the '60's! Sort of place that makes you feel dirty just to be in it. Calculated that the rooms are earning the place circa £2k a week however clearly not being spent on guest comfort!
All topped off with sour draft beer and less than average dinner. Passed on breakfast and went elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFryEastGrinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Itchen Abbas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived for lunch on our bikes, which we locked up outside. When we went in to order lunch we queued at the bar behind a family who I heard asking whether the pub could cater for vegetarians in their group. "No" came the answer. It was 1.15pm on a Sunday, a lovely sunny day but the garden tables weren't full, nor the ones inside the pub. When we asked if we could order lunch we were told that it would take one hour to be served. We rode off to find a happier place - The Chestnut Horse in the next door village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you want the ultimate luxury experience, don't book at a pub. If you want clean comfortable rooms, friendly and attentive staff and excellent food, all at a reasonable price then The Trout is the place for you.
Four of us booked in for a long week-end with another two dining with us on Saturday night. We couldn't fault The Trout and were impressed that the antipodean chef took time to speak to us and give us his personal recommendations.
In short, we had a great week-end and ate well, we would certainly stay at The Trout again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanRWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

6 of us went here for a snack lunch (On a Monday ) As we looked at the menu we were informed that they only had 3 baguettes left.............surely you would keep a supply of part baked in the freezer!!!! we opted for the 3 baguettes with various filling,the other 3 of us chose alternatives,one having soup.....which when it arrived looked as though it had been heated in a microwave to boiling point and tasted awful,I had pate........big mistake as I was ill later in the day.The Trout looks really nice outside and in but the service is very scatty,staff who looked like they wanted to be elsewhere and food............well work that one out,the ales were cloudy and far to cold.Will not return!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pemyjami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itchen Abbas
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#12 of 13 in Winchester
232 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,739 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Itchen Abbas
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Vine
The Old Vine
#2 of 52 in Winchester
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Inn

Property: The Trout Inn
Address: Main Road, Itchen Abbas, Winchester SO21 1BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester > Itchen Abbas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Itchen Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trout has new owners and has been completely refurbished. It offers a traditional Old English pub with roaring fires,real ales and extensive menu. The Trout is a stone's throw from the famous River Itchen,offering excellent Trout fishing. There are is a 9 hole golf course nearby. There are a number of walks and cycle routes all around the area. We welcome dogs in the bar area. There are 5 rooms. 3 doubles, 1 family room and 1 twin room. All have been refurbished. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing