We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good old fashioned hospitality!”
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Itchen Abbas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Trout Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Itchen Abbas B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good old fashioned hospitality!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were welcomed warmly on our arrival by a lovely man (who I think was called john).the rooms were clean and comfortable.The highlight of our quiet country getaway was sitting by the lovely fire and having a real ale and excellent home cooked food. I would recommend this to my friends who want a country pub and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilasmith2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    7
    11
    13
See reviews for
19
16
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Called into The Trout on the off chance on a Wednesday, which happens to be curry night. Choice of three curries and a small wine or beer for £10, which was not only delicious and filling, but excellent value for money too. Staff were welcoming and attentive and the pub was cosy with fires roaring and candles lit. We'll definitely be back to try the main menu.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Winchester-expensive place to stay. Up pops The Trout Inn, £45 a night food a bit pricy but what the hell.

Pork belly delicious, shame about bisto gravy!

THE ROOM - It's clean but very dated, rough finish to say the least, cobwebs galour.
ramshackle furniture.

bathroom very aged 80's shower cubicle, turn on the shower and it literally dribbles, so no shower tonight :-(

Saniflow unit behind toilet pan, brush your teeth and off it goes like a magimix!

The cistern obiously leaks so the saniflow intermittently runs, switching it off, it can deal with deposits in the morning!

Here is the worst bit thou, went close the curtains, noticed a breeze, nay gale, look down at the window its open, it wont close properly!

I CAN PUT MY ENTIRE INDEX FINGER THROUGH THE GAP TO OUTSIDE.

GREENE KING YOU CANNOT CHARGE £45 FOR THIS, IT IS WORSE THAN 1990'S STUDENT DIGS IN LEEDS!

Folks eat the food, but book the Winchester Spa, for twice the money you get 8 times the benefits

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Itchen Abbas hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The Trout is in a beautiful setting & the staff are superb. Polite, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. My only observations are that the menu often has many items not available even though they appear quite quiet, but for me, more importantly, the pub is cold. There are some beautiful fireplaces, but they are either not alight or just glowing. This makes me want to eat & leave ASAP.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chardonnay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a old pub with accommodation, so don't expect a swanky hotel room. However, the twin room I occupied was decent enough, no complaints here. Where the Trout Inn scored high on my list is the service. The staff go out of their way to help you. The breakfast was very good, and they serve real coffee, not the instant or filter variety. So, my experience was a rather good one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartholomeus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

As a family we have visited this pub a few times since it's refurbishment when driving through the beautiful Itchen Valley. I don't know if we have just been unlucky, but on each occasion it has been sadly wanting. It always seems that they have 'run out' of whatever drink we try to order and as the place has been almost empty on our visits, I am not quite sure who is drinking the stock! What an uninspiring place - I pity the poor villagers.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We decided to try the Trout as not been here since refurbishment. The whole place looks so much better and staff were friendly and attentive but Sunday roast was ok with insufficient quantities and not particularly warm. Whether the small amount was to leave you wanting dessert but we weren't going to spend £5.95 each when I had means of a pud at home for fifth of the price. Might just pop in for a pint and crisps sometime but not for meal. Husband said was a lovely pint.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroud93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itchen Abbas
1.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,765 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Itchen Abbas
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#6 of 52 in Winchester
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Inn

Property: The Trout Inn
Address: Main Road, Itchen Abbas, Winchester SO21 1BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester > Itchen Abbas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Itchen Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trout has new owners and has been completely refurbished. It offers a traditional Old English pub with roaring fires,real ales and extensive menu. The Trout is a stone's throw from the famous River Itchen,offering excellent Trout fishing. There are is a 9 hole golf course nearby. There are a number of walks and cycle routes all around the area. We welcome dogs in the bar area. There are 5 rooms. 3 doubles, 1 family room and 1 twin room. All have been refurbished. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing