We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful country inn”
Review of The White Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wherwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wherwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for the night on our way to the New Forest just to break the journey for a relaxing start the next day.
The touble was we did not want to leave, this is a truely lovely pub in a beautiful village, it has a very good selection of real ales and the food is very good too.
We were made very welcome on arrival then had a lovely evening meal followed by a comfortable nights sleep in a spotless room which had lovely village views.
The breakfast was very nice and the owners very friendly.
We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: don't worry that the rooms do not have en-suite there are enough bathrooms for everyone.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 125stevej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The White Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

WE have stayed at this little gem for the past 8 years now and we cannot fault it, Sean and Kevin are the perfect hosts, we feel like we are coming back home everytime we stay, doggy friendly, great food, and a fantastic place to stay whilst in Hampshire, For those who fish the gin clear chalk streams are a stroll away, or if you just want to pass the day away on the perfect river banks and watch the array of wildlife it couldn't be better, we moved to live in Hampshire then moved back out to Yorkshire, we are now selling up to return we love it so much. Thankyou guys for a great stay again see you all soon Mike and Amanda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank link2od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have eaten at this pub a few times now and I can only say what fantastic food in a pub that great friendly staff. They have lovely gardens and children and dogs are welcome there, so on the whole a nice quite welcoming pub with great food

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

On our way to cornwall we stopped here for the night . It is dog friendly in a lovely little village with friendly , helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. We had a family room which was a good size ,clean and comfortable , we knew it didn't have an on suit and it wasn't a prob as there were plenty just down the corridor which were spotless .The place has a good relaxing feel about it bar staff, locals ,and the owners all made us feel very welcome it was a good start and end to our holiday .as we enjoyed our stay so much we stopped there on the way back to ..... and will again next year ....

Room Tip: Id imagine they would all be pretty good ..... we had a family room facing the back ..
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked for 3 nights. One arrives via front or back doors into bar/lounge area. A warm welcome and with 30'' suitcases up the stairs via the bar, yes behind the bar !!! The rooms (6) are all very large and most with a view of white washed cottages with thatched roofs. Dont be put off by no facilities, with house full Saturday night we met no one using the 3 toilets / bathrooms. In fact for 3 rooms it is almost like having an ensuite. This is a 16th century ''letting '' hotel. . Quality linen/towels., and beautifully decorated out, as is all of hotel. Breakfasts are a specialty and by day 3 we asked for 1/2 serves . Pies ,etc are specialties. Mine hosts are all delightful people and happy to talk about the village which was visited at times by Queen Victoria. Pleasant walks every where. This is a ''Gem"" and in all honesty was the hilite of our 3 weeks touring UK. It has wow factor in a very nice English way

Room Tip: Look up website and check rooms out for a view of quaint cottages.....all rooms are excellent aswe c...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianjcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had lunch here today and really enjoyed the whole experience. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere is relaxed, the beer is good and the food is very tasty. Overall an excellent experience and good value too.

It's a typical village pub in a very pretty location, near the Test Way with lovely local walks. Unsurprisingly it's pretty popular and was full today, but the service was quick and hard to fault.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltshirewanderer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We dined and stopped over at this quaint restaurant/hotel in the middle of the Hampshire countryside. The food was surprisingly good, home cooked pies with fluffy mash and mushy pies hallelujah a speciality. Other plates had enormous steaks and meats, filled to bursting. We had a table that had starters, mains and desserts and everyone was impressed. Service was polite and efficient, great beers and wines. The rooms are a bit like stepping back in time, and do need a little investment like having en suites, bigger tv and larger beds - and revamping the decor. Although I'd still go back its quant, quirkiness more than making up for its short comings, David the landlord is a great bloke, he'll serve you a wholesome breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laineydesanvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wherwell
0.6 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
206 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
253 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,211 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
195 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: Winchester Road | Wherwell, Wherwell SP11 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wherwell
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing