We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and excellent service.”
Review of The White Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wherwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wherwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We had come down for a wedding and choose to stay further out to save money. The prices were very reasonable and the breakfast was included. The inn was beautifully decorated, one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in; it was very authentic and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast was to a high standard and very delicious. I would definitely come back if I get the opportunity; I was extremely satisfied. I can not recommended this place enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanor_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for the night on our way to the New Forest just to break the journey for a relaxing start the next day.
The touble was we did not want to leave, this is a truely lovely pub in a beautiful village, it has a very good selection of real ales and the food is very good too.
We were made very welcome on arrival then had a lovely evening meal followed by a comfortable nights sleep in a spotless room which had lovely village views.
The breakfast was very nice and the owners very friendly.
We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: don't worry that the rooms do not have en-suite there are enough bathrooms for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 125stevej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

WE have stayed at this little gem for the past 8 years now and we cannot fault it, Sean and Kevin are the perfect hosts, we feel like we are coming back home everytime we stay, doggy friendly, great food, and a fantastic place to stay whilst in Hampshire, For those who fish the gin clear chalk streams are a stroll away, or if you just want to pass the day away on the perfect river banks and watch the array of wildlife it couldn't be better, we moved to live in Hampshire then moved back out to Yorkshire, we are now selling up to return we love it so much. Thankyou guys for a great stay again see you all soon Mike and Amanda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank link2od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have eaten at this pub a few times now and I can only say what fantastic food in a pub that great friendly staff. They have lovely gardens and children and dogs are welcome there, so on the whole a nice quite welcoming pub with great food

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

On our way to cornwall we stopped here for the night . It is dog friendly in a lovely little village with friendly , helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. We had a family room which was a good size ,clean and comfortable , we knew it didn't have an on suit and it wasn't a prob as there were plenty just down the corridor which were spotless .The place has a good relaxing feel about it bar staff, locals ,and the owners all made us feel very welcome it was a good start and end to our holiday .as we enjoyed our stay so much we stopped there on the way back to ..... and will again next year ....

Room Tip: Id imagine they would all be pretty good ..... we had a family room facing the back ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked for 3 nights. One arrives via front or back doors into bar/lounge area. A warm welcome and with 30'' suitcases up the stairs via the bar, yes behind the bar !!! The rooms (6) are all very large and most with a view of white washed cottages with thatched roofs. Dont be put off by no facilities, with house full Saturday night we met no one using the 3 toilets / bathrooms. In fact for 3 rooms it is almost like having an ensuite. This is a 16th century ''letting '' hotel. . Quality linen/towels., and beautifully decorated out, as is all of hotel. Breakfasts are a specialty and by day 3 we asked for 1/2 serves . Pies ,etc are specialties. Mine hosts are all delightful people and happy to talk about the village which was visited at times by Queen Victoria. Pleasant walks every where. This is a ''Gem"" and in all honesty was the hilite of our 3 weeks touring UK. It has wow factor in a very nice English way

Room Tip: Look up website and check rooms out for a view of quaint cottages.....all rooms are excellent aswe c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianjcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had lunch here today and really enjoyed the whole experience. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere is relaxed, the beer is good and the food is very tasty. Overall an excellent experience and good value too.

It's a typical village pub in a very pretty location, near the Test Way with lovely local walks. Unsurprisingly it's pretty popular and was full today, but the service was quick and hard to fault.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltshirewanderer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: Winchester Road | Wherwell, Wherwell SP11 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wherwell
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing