We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Visit (again)!”
Review of The White Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wherwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wherwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marvelous Visit (again)!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for a week in mid-May. Accommodations clean & cozy -- drinks & food excellent...

The Inn was established in 1611 (so no en-suite facilities) but it has retained its old world charm, the staff is friendly & go out of their way to make you feel like old friends.

This wasn't our first stay and...and it won't be our last...

We will be back!

We highly recommend it for a relaxing, chill-out experience!

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooking the back yard (garden) -- large room and beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuffin-Parsnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
41
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I cannot remember the last time that I stayed overnight without en suite facilities. Despite our misgivings, the Tripadvisor reports encouraged us and to good effect.
The pub is 17th century and you feel has not had any major changes since. The room was large and bare but clean and the bed comfortable. While we shared toilet and bathroom, this didn't cause any problems.
The bar was buzzing with locals who were friendly and there were three or four real ales to try. The food was pub, not gourmet - the pies we both had were excellent. Mine was game and bacon, by wife's lamb and rosemary. The full English the next morning was fine with good sausages and excellent mushrooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having used the White. Lion many times for food and our fishing trips to the Test, we decided to try there for accommodation.. What a brilliant decision. Great food as always, honest comfortable clean rooms and above all very congenial and obliging landlord. Very understanding and compassionate when we received bad news during our second night, necessitating a short notice cancellation of part of our stay.
Would recommend without any qualification.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visited with well over 20 friends after a classic MG car run and they certainly looked after us as most of us had pre-booked a meal. Those that had not pre-booked were also quickly served. All the meals were freshly cooked and nicely presented. Generous portions proved a little difficult for some but all were happy with the quality of the food and service. We have not visited here for some while but will return soon. There was a nice menu choice and a good selection of beers, ales and wines. I had the excellent Cod & Chips with tarter sauce and mushy peas that was very filling.
The pub has a nice overall atmosphere and the staff were all very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My other half & I were passing through here 3 weeks ago & decided to pop in for an early evening meal... We were seated downstairs which was a lovely comfortable area, felt so homely. We had one of the pies & the shepherds pie followed by the mini cheesecake selection, which was lovely!
We decided to visit again last week which was ok but wasn't as good as our previous visit, we were seated up the top area which wasn't as nice as down the bottom. I like dog friendly pubs as we have a dog but we had 4 other customer dogs round our table which was a bit of an off put. We ordered the Scallops to share as a starter which we awful, no taste at all pretty glad they had the butternut with them as that's all we could taste. For mains my other half had the Trout which he loved & I had the Chicken Curry which again had no taste at all! The rice had all the water left in it which made the sauce even blander. Coffee however which the great menu selection was gorgeous. The staff were off & not welcoming on the first Monday we went like i said everything was brilliant, Will visit again but not in a hurry like last time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henny16h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I needed somewhere to stay and found The White Lion by searching the web. I wouldn't normally have chosen a place without en-suite, at the time of booking I just needed a room.

I was racing at Thruxton and four friends joined me for an evening meal and I have to say what a super place, food was great, Timothy Taylor Landlord on draft, a great breakfast all complemented with friendly staff.

Room 3 is stunning and I'd happily recommend the White Lion to anyone.

I'll be back and many thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckslady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We went to the White Lion as a get together meal .I haven't been there for some years so interesting to see if there were many changes.We had a table reserved and the staff were very welcoming.It was a lovely sunny day and people were sitting outside.The menu was pub meal standard .There we're choises of pies and veg etc.I had White bait as a starter and was disappointed it was over cooked with too much batter .The main course ham egg and chips ,this was fine .The coffee was a problem as it was a cup of ordinary coffee with or without milk ,no other choises ,but we told that they are getting a machine soon .The overall feeling was pub meal good service ,and marks out of ten I would say six .bill

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wherwell
0.6 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
204 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
245 reviews
5.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
442 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
6.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Property: The White Lion Inn
Address: Winchester Road | Wherwell, Wherwell SP11 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wherwell
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing