We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced and average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over-priced and average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is an average Hampton in a below-average location. There is no way it merits the $110/night rate that my husband and I were charged. That price tag to be situated alongside the highway and next to a grungy, run-down mall. I based this comment on the pricing due to my experience with the Hilton chain and Hamptons in particular. I won't be back and feel we paid way too much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Peru, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    94
    39
    23
    15
See reviews for
143
116
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a Memorial Service. Simone was wonderful when she checked us in and made sure we were next door to other family members. The rooms were so fresh and clean and the breakfast was deluxe. This was by far the kindest and highest quality Hampton Inn we have experienced - great value as well. Thank you, Simone and the entire staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trixi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stay here every year for girls night. Newer rooms, quiet, w/nice beds. Not so on the sleeper (not stayed at too many places with good sleeper). Larger than avg pool. Friendly staff and cookies with hot beverages upon check in. Breakfast is ok, could do more; if you don't mind mostly carbs, you won't go hungry. In their favor; do have high quality tea and sugar free syrup. Lamps on nightstand have outlets so if you need to pug in things at night, you don't have to search behind the bed for outlets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallmadge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was the 8th Hampton we stayed in during our travels - Check in was confusing as the desk clerk who checked us in was more interested in talking to what she termed were "her regulars" than getting us checked into the room. The room was lovely and we were on the 4th floor so no overhead traffic - this is located right off the highway and in a very busy shopping area, it was very quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was ok - typical Hampton breakfast but something to appeal to most and get your day started. All in all it was a good experience and we would stay there again. I commented about the check in and being irritated by the confusion when we checked out I received a personal call from the manager and explained in detail the experience -she thanked me for calling it to her attention. They do pay attention and aim to please. Will definitely stay at more Hamptons.

Room Tip: The odd number side is away from the Interstate so may be more quiet on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillee4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent in all aspects of stay. Was able to use my hhonors points within hours of making reservations. Always have excellent experiences at Hampton Inns. They had time to answer my questions and I didn't feel rushed. The suite was just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We experienced a death in the family. We were looking for a place to stay near my husband's hometown. We called and made reservations that day and arrived very late at night. We were very tired and our check-in took very little time. The room was great and the breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was actually traveling back and forth from Princeton each day to stay here while taking care of my grandmother in the hospital/nursing home. I am very glad I did because the staff is super nice and helpful. The beds were super comfy. Air worked great for coolness and noise. Several have commented on the interstate noise. I could hear it, but my AC did drown it out and I slept great. The only noise issues I noticed were the heavy doors slamming as guests entered/exited their rooms. Breakfast was usual Hampton. I didn't use the pool, but did go in to check it out. I appears that they have some toys that stay there for the kids. (nice idea!) I stuck my foot in the hot tub which looked so inviting. It was nice and warm, but I was just too exhausted to go up and change. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
7.7 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
7.0 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Peru

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Address: 4421 Peoria St, Peru, IL 61354-1017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Peru, IL, the Hampton Inn & Suites Peru, is perfectly located in Illinois Valley, surrounded by state parks such as Starved Rock and Matthiesen State Park. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing