We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starved Rock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The rooms were clean, but definitely noisy. We wound up switching rooms from the highway side of the hotel to the parking lot side due to the noise of the traffic. When we went to switch rooms, the hotel clerk was willing to do so, but wound up giving us a room right next door to our room with the same traffic noise despite request to switch to the opposite side of the hotel. On our third try, we got a quiet room, but they did not have a king bed available, only double beds. The water in the bathroom was very cold despite running the tub for 5 minutes. The shower was definitely not relaxing. This was mentioned to the hotel staff, but no refunds or offers to switch rooms again occurred. I mentioned this again at checkout and they were going to have someone look at the water in the bathroom. After checkout, I found that the hotel clerk had charged my credit card for the night stay in addition to the charge that I had received from the travel site booking agency. Fortunately, the woman that I spoke with at La Quinta was very easy to work with and deleted the extra charge. On the plus side, the room was clean, the hotel was close to restaurants, and the pool/whirlpool were nice perks.

Room Tip: Do not sleep on the side (odd numbers of rooms) of the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Very nice hotel, close to a lot of restaurants. The Peru Mall and Target are right next door to this hotel. Olny about a 15 min drive to Starved Rock.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was a pleasant surprise. We were on a long return trip, so had driven 8 hours. We stopped in Iowa and made a reservation via Internet. The website indicated the property was newly renovated. We were greeted by an extremely helpful desk clerk. She explained that the motel was being completely renovated, starting with the first floor, starting the next day.
However, the lobby was immaculately clean, as was the breakfast area.
We had never stayed at an LQ before. The room was large, very clean, and had an adequate bathroom with the sink/vanity in the main room, which turned out to be a helpful thing.
The bed was comfortable, clean, good linens. The towels were surprisingly large sized and fluffy, which is rare in a budget motel. Very nice.
We went to the indoor pool/ hot tub. This was a really nice part of the motel. It was immaculately clean, towels provided, warm, without being overly warm, and large enough to stretch out the kinks. The hot tub was also extremely clean and enjoyable, especially after that much time in the car.
The blackout drapes were not quite big enough,but will most likely we changed in the renovation. The noise level was tolerable, although being on the front of the motel would have been quieter.
The breakfast was well stocked, in a bright, inviting environment. Not extensive, but adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

About 20 min from Starved Rock. We brought our lab and was welcomed. Breakfast was6-9. Waffles, oatmeal hard boiled eggs and other breads and cereal. Close to several restaurants, movie theatre, mall, etc. The worst part was our room faced the expressway so we could hear trucks. We didn't ask to be moved though bc we had already moved all our stuff in. People were nice. The room was clean and the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for even numbered room. Odd number faces the expressway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We wanted a weekend trip to visit Starved Rock. The hotel is right off the interstate (but not so close that the sound of traffic bothers you) and so it is only about ten minutes from the state park. We chose this hotel mainly because they allow dogs without any extra deposit or fee. Typical LaQuinta early check-in and late check-outs. There was a pool that was pretty small but clean and decent. The rooms were very clean, but nothing fancy. The location feels safe and is walking distance from a Target, mall and several chain fast food establishments and restaurants. The biggest negative was the free breakfast was very crowded and bare on a Saturday morning. There was not enough food or room for the crowd in my opinion. But the staff were nice and tried to do their best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoothrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for an overnight get away weekend. The price was reasonable for $80.99 with the AAA discount. Our room was exceedingly clean, had new mattressess and comfortable beds. The rooms are updated and a nice size. The breakfast was very nice with fresh waffles, boiled eggs, an assortment of muffins, cereals, juice and coffee.

The staff were extremely polite and nice, and the night checkout person with the curly hair was a sweetheart.

The pool and hot tub worked great with our children's ages of 6 and 7. The pool was a great temp - and though small it was perfect for our needs.

My only complaint would be that the pool and hot tub were WAY overchlorinated. It was so bad that we've had to use eye drops as all of our eyes are burning, and you have to keep the windows open in the pool room to breathe. I've resorted to using my expensive face cream to put all over my family's bodies as we lost about 5 layers of skin. I like the fact that the pool and hot tub were in pristine condition - but they need to go easier on the chlorine.

There are several places to eat in walking distance including I Hop, Red Lobster, etc. This location isn't wonderful for sight-seeing, etc........but it was a nice value and close to Starved Rock for us.

One additional perk - checkout is not until noon so we got t sleep later, have a nice breakfast, let the kids swim and relax before we had to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A great place to stay.Check in was a dream ,monet very sweet and kind. We will pick this hotel,its very clean,service the best.never stayed at a better hotel than this,because of monet asst. G.M.
The cookies she bakes are the best!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowboygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
6.9 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
5.4 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park

Address: 4389 Venture Dr, Peru, IL 61354-1014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Peru
#3 Family Hotel in Peru
#5 Business Hotel in Peru
Price Range: £61 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Peru
Peru La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing