We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$214
View deal
Expedia.com
US$233
View deal
FindHotel
US$209
View deal
Hotels.comUS$233
PricelineUS$231
TravelocityUS$233
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
147
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
147
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea on arrival the blue room roll top bath beautiful afternoon tea course dinner rural area stay was wonderful homemade scones stunning place to stay star stay garden room an amazing host wonderful countryside fabulous food highly recommend a visit to celebrate our wedding anniversary thought of everything
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Lovely rooms, lovely breakfast, lovely dinner, lovely people, only eclipsed by the Schnauzer and the super friendly cats. The grounds and gardens are great as well.

Why stay in a hotel when you can have this?

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MoreTea2Vicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve-Joyce33BH, Owner at Blackwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2020

Hi

Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate you taking the time, particularly Murphy the ‘Meet and Greet’ director (Schnauzer) . We are working hard on many improvements inside and out in the garden to make your next stay even more special .

Kind regards and thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

We arrived at Blackwell House as tired travelers from the U.S. We received a warm welcome from Joyce, and Murphy their wonderful dog. The room is exactly as pictured. The bed and sheets were perfection. A little slice of heaven! The breakfast was gourmet. We were so sad to leave, but were refreshed because Joyce has thought of everything.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve-Joyce33BH, Owner at Blackwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2020

Hi and sorry for the delay in responding....We are so pleased you had a great stay with us, we are working harder than ever to be ready to welcome you again when the world returns to normal. Joyce has some new treats for the breakfast table and a wonderful new dinner menu.
Murphy sends his love and we all hope to see you again soon

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019

What a wonderful experience we had at Blackwell House.
The warm welcome by Joyce and the ambience of her beautiful home were second to none.
We were able to fully relax in the beautiful lounge areas, and enjoyed the company of the friendly family dog Murphy, before being welcomed for our food.
The quality of the food and presentation was exceptional, together with the attention to detail, including a baby shower theme.
Joyce also took time to advise us in detail about the food, source of ingredients and family recipes.
We stayed for a substantial part of the afternoon and felt welcome to stay as long as we liked.
A very professional business, will definitely be back for another sumptious Afternoon Tea.
Thanks Joyce for making this special occasion so wonderful.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve-Joyce33BH, Owner at Blackwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2020

Dear Claire
thank you so much for your generous and wonderful review. We are so pleased that you had such a relaxing and wonderful experience with us and that you felt so relaxed and happy to stay for the afternoon, Murphy certainly enjoyed your attention!
Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Don't know what we can really say without saying this was the best experience, by far, that my wife and I have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast. Anywhere. The setting, the food, the hostess and the vibe were all 5 star. Joyce was the best hostess and Murphy the dog was entertaining! Highly recommend the Blackwell House!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Couv59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve-Joyce33BH, Owner at Blackwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2020

Thank you, to you both. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for taking the trouble to review your visit.
Murphy sends his love and looks forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019 via mobile

Our first night in Ireland was a dream - everything we could have asked for.

The bed, pillows and linens were so comfortable.

Joyce is an amazing cook - everything was homemade and delicious - from the shortbread cookies to lovely breads and rhubarb crumble. The country setting is absolutely lovely and the gardens supply the kitchen with fresh eggs and vegetables. They even had a nice selection of wines to choose from. The best meals we had in Ireland were at Blackwell house!

This is a very well maintained, elegant home. We were welcomed to wander through the gardens and to enjoy the sitting and reading rooms.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve-Joyce33BH, Owner at Blackwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2020

Dear Amy

Thanks so much for your lovely review out is very much appreciated. Joyce is currently working on some lovely new menus and treats for when you return!?

Stay safe and well, kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews