We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip to Petersburg, Illinois”
Review of RiverBank Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RiverBank Lodge
Seneca, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend trip to Petersburg, Illinois”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The Riverbank Lodge was very clean and the employees were very friendly.
Based on location, time of year we visited and amenities I feel the rooms are overpriced.
The first room we had is the room we originally booked. It was VERY small and although the view was beautiful the railroad tracks were right out the window. We asked to be switched to another room and the staff was very accommodating. The switch cost us an additional $20 per night.
Both rooms were very clean. The second room was much more spacious but was not very soundproof.
Things to keep in mind when visiting, the first room did not have a coffee pot, the second did. I have gotten used to hotel rooms having an iron and ironing board available, these were not in either room. No swimming pool, if that is important to you. Again I felt that for the price they should have had more available.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cre8if1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend recently . We had a ground floor room facing the river. It was very scenic and very quiet. We worried about the RR tracks that run directly behind the hotel but either trains don't run very often or they passed by when we weren't there. The small lobby seating area is really nice for visiting. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only knock is that I consider it a little pricey for the location and the amenities offered. I would still recommend it for anyone visiting Petersburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlinville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the lodge, as did several of our family and friends, for the weekend of our daughters wedding in May. The staff was helpful and curtious. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though ours were smaller than others because we chose several rooms with a lower rate. We hired a local trolley to shuttle guests to and from the hotel to the wedding at Hill Prairie Winery, 9 miles past Petersburg, Our experience with the lodge was what we had hoped for and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the main level off the lobby and were quiet. Others family members stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I went there for our 25th Anniversary, for some peace and quiet. 14 years of self-employment, and four children, makes Together time seem like a joke. We were close enough to Springfield for a lunch trip to the Chesapeake Seafood House (I recommend them, too), but far enough to provide peace and quiet. We stayed in the "Vault Room" (Rm. 110). It actually was the vault, in the buildings' bank days. Spacious, well-equipped, and comfortable. The 5' x 8' walk-in shower has eight (8) shower heads! My wife and I could have stayed in there a long time! ;-D Outstanding staff, too. Don't miss out on this.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stumbled on this lodge by reading reviews in Trip Advisor. It turned out to be a wonderful place. The room was first rate and comfortable. There is a common room with amazing chairs and a lounge that will make pizza and provide first rate wine and drinks. It was a slow Sunday night when we stayed, which made it very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We chose this lodge as a quiet getaway for New Year's Eve.
It was a great choice. The room was large, with windows on two sides, affording dramatic views of the surrounding woods and river.
The TV was mounted on a swivel, which allowed it to be viewed from the sitting area, the hot tub, and the area where the bed was located.
There was also a rerigerator in the room to keep the champagne cold until midnight.
The staff was friendly and knowledegable.
The lounge was well-stocked, and the pizza was top notch.
I had the forethought to bring a DVD player so we could enjoy a movie when we retired to our room for our own private celebration.
We didn't have the chance to sample the breakfast, as it ended at 10:00 AM, and we checked out after that.
The building itself is a wonderful repurposed bank building, which adds to it's charms.
We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GToddK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We found a gem amongst the central Illinois farming communities. RiverBank Lodge was the perfect jumping off point for fun away from city life. It's close proximity to New Salem and Jim Edgar Wildlife State Parks makes this a convenient retreat for after exploring. The rustic lodge atmosphere and open but comfortable lounge area allows for a cozy area to kick back for a visit. A windowed loft area of the lounge provides quiet and undisturbed scenic view of the Sangamon River much as Abe Lincoln may have seen it. The guestroom was clean and comfortable. Waking each morning to the forest and water view out our window, rounded out the restful nights sleep. I recommend this inn to anyone needing time away from the weekly grind.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnbarlow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
21.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
17.8 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
17.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
17.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
686 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverBank Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverBank Lodge

Property: RiverBank Lodge
Address: 522 S 6th St, Petersburg, IL 62675-1606
Region: United States > Illinois > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — RiverBank Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a unique 24 unit motel that was recently remodeled from a previous use. This affords RiverBank Lodge many unique architectural features not common in this price range ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your RiverBank Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbank Hotel Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing