We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Green Acre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Acre Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Cornelly
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed the night there as it was not far to go and see my kids,Grandkids and fam.Rooms are clean,Staff are very helpful,We have stayed there a few times,There is plenty of car park space,A good breakfast in the morn.Bar was ok aswell.Shower was ummmm not to good,as it was slow,Its value for money.And yes we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Well worth the money we found,As we travel a lot I know its just my word but try it yourself. Tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 715andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    45
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
26
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the green acre on the 15.2.13. My partner had booked through laterooms as a valintines suprise for me. It was value for money as we dont have much so it was good for us to get away for the night. The staff were friendly and welcoming on our arrival as we were a bit late getting there. We asked about what time dinner was finishing and we only had 5mins to get settled in and get to order but they said if we wanted food they would hang on for us for a bit so that was nice in it self.We had food and the food was a1 cant fault it and a service with a smile is always good. We then retierd to our room and it was nice and warm and very comfy lovely nites sleep. Breakfast was exellent Cath was very welcoming and helpful and polite which u dont get in all places it goes a far way. So on the whole we would deffinate stay here again with out a shadow of a dout.

Room Tip: which ever room you stay in its quite so id stay in any
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAVANT
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stopped for one night, saturday 15 dec.2012. We we're attending a christmas party reunion in the hotel. I booked our room through Laterooms. After reading some of the reviews was a bit skeptical but it was convenient to stay there. On arriving in pouring rain, we entered the pub door and a Lady showed us to a different car park closer to the rooms. Within a couple of minutes were shown to a very good double en-suite room. The receptionist explained all rooms had been refurbished. Ours was very good with arm chairs, tv. coffee,tea etc.and matching modern units, very similar to a Premier Inn, although one extra we've never had before, a proper bed side lamp. Breakfast sunday morning , was a good cooked full english, only downside no cold buffet to choose from, had to ask for juice. Just a couple of little niggles, The door to the room stuck and had to slam it to close it, Also a hook in the bath room to hang your clothes on would have been handy, also a toilet seat lid or stool to sit on while drying yourself. Taken all together a good stay at £49 for 2 people b and b. Would certainly use it again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORMA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked rooms at the Green Acre Motel as we were attending a birthday party there. The staff were very friendly and the locals made us feel very welcome in the bar and at the party. I would describe it as 'cheap and cheerful" and value for money. Some rooms have been recently decorated and are of a good size including the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely although we had to be in the restaurant for 9am at the latest and would have preferred 10am as we felt we had to rush on a Sunday morning. A great base for anyone wanting to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Green Acre Motel is another one of these establishments that is very practical for rapid access to the M4 but not on it so that you fail to get a good night's sleep. I found my double and bathroom (inc bath) to be spacious, comfortable , well equipped and with decor that appealed. Strong complimentary WIFI and secure car parking were included as was a cooked breakfast.
This Hotel/Motel/Pub/Restaurant has the appreciated 12 pm check out. My only quibble is the breakfast arrangements which due to the cooked breakfast and staff serving requirements ends at 9am. I personally wish the British would dispense with the cooked breakfast expectation/malarkey (who has it at home ?) and instead and as in Central Europe adopt the more civilised and 21st century self service buffet approach. This would be healthier, more flexible and probably easier on the staff. (Maybe Britain will catch up in another 20 years ?) This is my ONLY reason for not awarding 5 stars. All in all a highly recommended establishment. Final tip - Hotel (as opposed to Pub) car park and its Reception are right at the back of the building reached by driving through main car -park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardmlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

why pay £80 for a hotel in Porthcawl itself. you can drive there within 5 minutes and save yourself money.

This motel seems to have been recently redecorated new carpets laid through out very comfortable rooms, very clean and fresh.

Friendly rececptionist

Recommended.

Room Tip: although part of a local pub it was very quiet and no noise heard from the pub's customers. did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WELSHMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked this motel via Laterooms for a one night stay. We booked a double room which included breakfast. We were made to feel welcome from the time of arrival. Our room was well decorated, well maintained, comfortable and clean. We could not fault it. We ate in the motel, there was a modest menu but meals were good and at a reasonable cost. The staff were very welcoming and chatty and willing to openly interact with those who wanted to engage with them. The Motel is three miles from Portcawl and would provide a good base for anyone wating to explore the Vale of Glamorgan area. We would recommend this Motel on this basis.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Cornelly
3.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
42 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
163 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#2 of 6 in Porthcawl
242 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acre Motel

Property: Green Acre Motel
Address: 111 Heol Fach, North Cornelly, Porthcawl CF33 4LH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl > North Cornelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Cornelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Acre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Acre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing