We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and breakfast”
Review of Green Acre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Acre Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Cornelly
swindon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location and breakfast”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for one night .staff very pleasant but there was a lack of them . The staff were continually multitasking ,trying to book customers in and out as well as serve food and drink, room was nice and clean and bed comfy, toilet was broken ,breakfast was delicious and really nice . Plenty of parking ,would stay here again ,coney beach at porthcawl was full of rubbish !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    44
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
19
26
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a good honest budget hotel that should be fine for most people. We certainly didn't have any problems with the double room accommodation or the breakfasts. It's very convenient for the motorway. If you have children Margam Park is nearby, as is Porthcawl and Bridgend. There is also a golf course and driving range close by too. If you do have any "issues" speak to the lady here and I'm sure they will be amicably resolved.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We required one room, and then a second one at short notice, both provided ok.
Rooms a bit basic, but clean and tidy. Beds were clean with new sheeting and a duvet.
Shower of the home type, ie a fixing on the wall with the shower handle loose to use as you please.
Breakfast was good quality, and staff pleasant.
This is a motel on the back of the village pub which my daughter described as 'rough'. There was no noise at night.
.
We didn't eat there except for breakfast.
.
Good basic rooms, possibly a little overpriced. £49 for a double b and b, daughter was in a double room for £39.
.
No real objection to the place, but nothing special, but much better value than the Premier Inn we looked at earlier at £81. Just felt we might have got better value elsewhere but there was nothing available.
.
Would stay there again if I couldn't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxford71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room with booking.com and requested one extra bed in the room and a phone call if that would not be ok(info online said you could have up to two extra beds at £5 each). No call so we arrived to check in around 5.30-6pm to find our room smelling smoky, hairs and excretions on the bedding and a door lock that wasn't secure at all (we couldn't lock the room at first and had bad attitude from staff about this when it was down to them turning the lock too much?? On a Yale lock??). No extra bed for our worn out 4 year old. When asked about that the manager said she would do it but she had just arrived. We saw the bed though-outside in an alley, not covered. The hairs in the bed were one step too far for me so I asked if we could change room. We were shown to a room but there were dubious white staine on the duvet :( needless to say we then decided to try elsewhere. The manager said bo

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atd250981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Cornelly hotels

Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room with booking.com and requested one extra bed in the room and a phone call if that would not be ok(info online said you could have up to two extra beds at £5 each). No call so we arrived to check in around 5.30-6pm to find our room smelling smoky, hairs and excretions on the bedding and a door lock that wasn't secure at all (we couldn't lock the room at first and had bad attitude from staff about this when it was down to them turning the lock too much?? On a Yale lock??). No extra bed for our worn out 4 year old. When asked about that the manager said she would do it but she had just arrived. We saw the bed though-outside in an alley, not covered. The hairs in the bed were one step too far for me so I asked if we could change room. We were shown to a room but there were dubious white staine on the duvet :( needless to say we then decided to try elsewhere. The manager blamed booking.com for the lack of extra bed, didn't seem to believe us the beds were dirty & said it had been reported to the cleaner. Regarding any charge we have to wait until tomorrow to hear what the manager says. Funny- I thought they said we were talking to the manager, but then she wouldn't even come out to speak about it. One member of bar staff was very helpful and I felt sorry for her stuck in the middle.
We stay in hotels/motels a lot and expect basic rooms when they are cheap but even a £9 youth hostel must have a clean bed. We have had to book elsewhere last minute-fingers crossed!
Some reviews you read and think the people expected too much or exaggerated-trust me....not the case here. Just stay somewhere else (& I wouldn't eat there either with the strong smell of urine in the function room before the cooking began). Seems that contractors use the place mostly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atd250981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Visiting to watch Golf, friendly welcome from Helen, we got the wrong room to start, but the double room looked ok,we eventually got the Twin as booked. Room was clean and adequate for a 1 night stop.

Food from the Bar was good, value and choice was good and service quick and efficient,breakfast was very good quality part self service and part order.

All in all a reasonable place to stop, would say price was slightly on the high side,considering the facilities offered, but not a huge number of options in the local area.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the small car park at rear of the building, reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Maybe I've not travelled that much, but "motels" in the true American sense of the word don't seem to be that common in the UK. This is very much an American-style motel (my mum kept comparing it to the place in the Clint Eastwood film 'Every Which Way But Loose"!) where your room door enters onto the car park, rather than being a traditional room inside a Bed & Breakfast Guest House or Hotel. The Green Acre Motel actually doubles as the village pub and bar, so in addition to your included full English breakfast, you can also pay extra for an evening meal here as well as they have a fairly decent pub food menu on offer. The rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast is delicious, the wi-fi is free, parking is ample, and the motel is only minutes away from the M4, suitably equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea. Crucially, it is very competively priced, and comes in at the same kind of price level you would get at a Premier Inn or Travelodge. Maybe the only negative is that the room walls were paper thin and I was woke up at 5am by the couple next door doing early morning "bed exercises" with appropriate 'groaning' noises, but that's the sort of thing you might expect at almost any hotel. If I was in South Wales at any point in the future, then the Green Acre motel is certainly a place I would come back to and book again. It was quite a nice little find. I quite enjoyed my two night stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentalmickey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Cornelly
3.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.2 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acre Motel

Property: Green Acre Motel
Address: 111 Heol Fach, North Cornelly, Porthcawl CF33 4LH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl > North Cornelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Cornelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Acre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Acre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing