We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a girl's weekend or retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Plano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I just had the pleasure of enjoying a weekend at The Homestead for a women's retreat. This is a beautiful, historic bed and breakfast. The decor is beautiful and inviting. Mary Kay makes everyone feel welcome and at home. The rooms are wonderful - each one unique in it's own way with their own bath. The beds are very comfy and the linens were like butter.
The grounds are very nice and make a stroll outside very enjoyable. The labyrinth and hedge maze are added treats.
I highly recommend this B&B for a nice relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniea952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

What a wonderful weekend! Thank you for brining such positive energy to the property and for taking time to share about your experience here. Mary Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely bed and breakfast last week while in the area for a meeting. I would highly recommend it for business or pleasure. Mary Kay is a most gracious host and made us feel right at home with her thoughtful amenities and homemade lemon lavender cookies. I would have loved to have lingered longer and spent even more time in conversation with Mary Kay and learned more about the home's fascinating history.

Be sure to make time to enjoy the setting if you are on a business trip. This would be the perfect place for a girls getaway weekend, small wedding or retreat. The house is beautifully appointed and my room was warm and inviting and the bed was very comfortable. Even if you tend to stay in traditional hotels, you will enjoy this change of pace and the pleasure of this relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have their own bath and shower but I requested one that did and was very pleased with...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for choosing The Homestead for your mid-week meeting stay. You and your colleagues were amazing! Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with this review. Mary Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you want a short trip and get away from all the Chicago crazyness for a weekend, this is the place to be! Mary Kay is the best innkeeper that myself or fiancee have ever encountered. She upgraded us to a suite, for no extra cost, for our anniversary. Her hospitality went above and beyond all expectations! The estate itself is almost very well maintained and great place to unwind. Will definately be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Happy Anniversary-Thank you for selecting to celebrate at The Homestead! I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Mary Kay is an incredible host! She even picked up my daughter and I late in the night when our train came in. Breakfast was much more than I expected and she even catered to my daughters wants on the second morning! The rooms are wonderful! I am planning at least two more trips to Homestead in the next year! One with my husband and one with the family! Thank you for going above and beyond! It was a memorable 16th birthday for my daughter!

Room Tip: We traveled from Chicago Union Station to Aurora via train and found it to be the least expensive ro...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you so much for the nice words. What a great time helping you to provide a wonderful birthday gift to your daughter. I look forward to meeting the rest of your family and seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Such a wonderful and gracious hostess, Mary Kay went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. From the homemade Lavendar cookies, to the hot toddys before bed, to the full gourmet breakfast in the morning, it was a culinary delight. Our rooms were quaint and the beds extremely comfortable. Not one nicety was overlooked. Mary Kay made us feel as if we were not guest in her home but family. I will definately be coming back in the future. Peggy B - Berlin WI

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for the kind review of your stay. Chet and I were so delighted to have you stay at The Homestead and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Truly a relaxing place to unwind. We needed this night and it was more than
our expectations. Mary Kay and Chet were wonderful hosts with a setting
that proved to be relaxation extraordinary!!!!! More than a 5 Star B & B.
You will find it a wonderful experience.
Thanks.
The Wontors Mequon, WI

Room Tip: Be sure and see Sandwitch, IL antiques. It was the BEST!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libracdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Chet and I had a lovely time getting to know you during your stay at The Homestead! Thank you for spending some time in Plano and the surrounding communities. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This place is what I needed after a long day driving, nothing to say unless is that this place is awesome! I loved that I could walk to the train station so I was able to rest more. It was very cold so I didn't spend as much time as I wanted in the labyrinth. I will be back this summer!

5 stars!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plano
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Yorkville
Hampton Inn Yorkville
#1 of 2 in Yorkville
295 reviews
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Yorkville
Super 8 Yorkville
#2 of 2 in Yorkville
162 reviews
11.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Timber Creek Inn & Suites
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Homestead

Address: 611 East Main Street, Plano, IL 60545
Region: United States > Illinois > Plano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plano
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover-Induldge-Relax and Enjoy! Just minutes from Mies van der Rohehe's Farnsworth House, The Homestead Bed & Breakfast and Special Event facility re-opened by Chet and Mary Kay Sergo in September 2012.Built in 1854, The Homestead is the home of the City of Plano's founder Lewis Steward. On two acres, that features a labyrinth and hedge maze, the home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior. The Homestead is a boutique bed & breakfast featuring five cozy bedrooms, a spectacular dining room, quaint parlor and other beautiful common rooms. Guests marvel at all the ornamental painting that grace the walls, ceilings, and woodwork throughout the house and delight that the remarkable attention to details carries over to the luxurious amenities.The Homestead is a unique destination for overnight guests, the history buff, those interested in architecture and the arts and people who love labyrinths and mazes. For a perfect romantic getaway or an unforgettable intimate ceremony or family retreat, the historic Homestead is the ideal spot to create life's happiest memories. The Homestead is also a unique and inspiring place to host small corporate retreats and cocktail parties.With all the different aspects of The Homestead it is no wonder why the following phrase has become the adapted slogan, "Where the past and the present mingle for a moment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing