We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best option around Ankarana NP”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antsiranana Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le relais de l'ankarana
Reviewed 5 April 2013

we (3 friends) stayed 3 nights at Le Relais de l' Ankarana and had a fantastic time. The rooms are neat and clean, electricity is provided 3 hrs at night and hot water is available. The best of our experience are the most friendly people and the fantasticly delicious meals served. An absolute recommended stop!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ph_leysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed here in November for two nights whilst exploring the Ankarana reserve. The lodgings are extremely comfortable and the food was excellent. I like the fact that this is not a rsort as it would not only spoil the area but also cause environmental damage. Staff are very helpful - I can thoroughly recommend Le relais.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

So friendly (Ilyas you were great), basic but clean and comfortable with hot water and good mossie nets. We were asked each morning what we wanted for dinner - the stir fry Zebu and Zebu steak with garlic and ginger were superb. Next to Ankarana Reserve so easy access. Agree the geckos are chatty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank binnsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Less than a kilometer form the park entrance, and super cushy compared to some other Ankarana options. It is comfortable, clean and convenient basic accommodation, with good food (20K Ariary for dinner). Electricity from 6 - 10 pm only. Mosquito nets. Spacious room with comfy armchairs. Pricier than others at 80K. (note: Goulam Lodge is right at the park entrance and it cheaper at 15 -35 K--no doubt more basic but looked much more attractive than some)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed for two nights on our recent trip - the clean room has a great bed with mosquito net, and a shower which you have to operate by holding the tap on the head down - no doubt to save water. Otherwise pretty basic, but fine, although it did get very hot, even in the middle of the Madagascan winter - June - and with no electricity, there was no fan or a/c. There was also a particularly noisy gekko which kept us awake as it was living in the thatched roof - I guess it goes with the territory. However, the food that the kitchen cooked us was marvellous, we even had a three course lunch one day, and they catered well for my partner's vegetarian choice. The waiter always had the biggest smile on his face and spoke the most perfect English. Electricity for a few hours at night only, but thats long enough to recharge your batteries. Perfectly good place to stop over and a great price....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The room itself was fine - we had only one niggle in that because it was so hot, we wanted to keep the room ventilated, but couldn't unless we left the wooden window shutters open (no glass on the windows). It's ok if you're relaxed about security but not if you're not! The rest of the room is again, basic, but completely functional - absolutely nothing to complain about. Other than that, it is a great base for exploring the Ankarana reserve, and between the little canteen style restaurant and a nearby eatery, we were well fed and watered. It also seemed to attract a more relaxed type of traveller too which makes a difference.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is a very basic clean lodge. The rooms are furnished well and are as clean as you would expect. Our shower only had limited water pressure so was difficult to use but there was hot water. The windows are just mosi nets with shutters (No glass) and thin white curtains. Mosi nets in our room were quite holey but net on bed was good.

As in most places the electricity is limited to between 6 and 10 in the evening but there is only one socket in room so difficult to charge everything you may need to charge. The hotel is right on the main road so can be a bit noisy but quiets down after dark but you can still hear the big trucks on the main road so a room at the back maybe better. The room was very hot especially with the foam mattress reflecting the heat in the end had to sleep with shutters open, which feels a bit weird as anyone walking pass can see straight in.

There is nowhere else to sit apart from in your room as there is no bar just an open area which is the restaurant. Dinner was good although we had very limited choices. Breakfast was very very basic just fruit and bread.
Location wise this is great as the entrance to the reserve is just up the road about 300m and it is right on National Route 6 so no long journey to get to it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antsiranana Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Nosy Saba Island Resort
Nosy Saba Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nosy Saba
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecolodge Ankazoberavina
Ecolodge Ankazoberavina
#1 of 1 in Ankazoberavina Island
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iharana Bush Camp
Iharana Bush Camp
#1 of 1 in Ambilobe
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le relais de l'ankarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le relais de l'ankarana

Address: Mahamasina | At the gates of the Parc Naturel de l'Ankarana, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Antsiranana Province
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le relais de l'ankarana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated: Ankarana, Between Ankify and Diego SuarezVery near to the eastern entrance of the Ankarana Park Opened in September 2008. Languages: English, French, Spanish, MalagasyRooms: Six with hot water and privative toilets(4 double and 2 twin rooms) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing