We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Princeton, Illinois, hands down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Princeton, Illinois, hands down”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband grew up in Princeton and still has many relatives living there so we get back to Princeton several times a year. Until the AmericInn was built about 8 years ago, the existing Princeton motels ranged from crummy to just ok. As soon as the AmericInn opened, we stay there exclusively.....often making our reservations months in advance just so we know we will stay there. When you enter AmericInn, you will first be impressed with the large beautiful lobby. There are 2 large sitting area on either side of the center entrance, all done in natural wood rustic motif. The rooms are very spacious, super-clean, and virtually soundproof. We often pay a little extra to upgrade from a standard room to the king jacuzzi suite. We don't actually use the jacuzzi but we like the bigness of the room. The front desk staff are always very friendly and eager to help you with any question you might have. The hot free continental breakfast is delicious with a wide assortment of offerings. Anyone coming to Princeton should always try to reserve at the AmericInn first, and only "settle" for one of the other Princeton motels if the AmericInn is sold out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judychicagoillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    45
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
137
51
21
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado City, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This place is wonderful! We checked in on a Thursday and stayed until Saturday morning. The hotel staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. We had to make a few changes over our stay and they were always accommodating. The hotel is clean & spacious. The air conditioning works everywhere. Our room was great! It was big and open. The beds were clean and comfortable. Room was quiet. We hardly ever heard our neighbors. Continental breakfast was warm and good. I enjoyed that it changed each day we were there, which made it all the more better. The pool and hot tub area were great too. Overall a great place. We will be staying here all the times we need to visit.

Room Tip: They have suites but there are a few "regular rooms" that are as big as the suites (less c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMartinez987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel was booked by the bride's mother. We are from NJ so didn't know anything about the hotel or the location. It was conveniently located for our purposes and the staff, especially Jackie, was helpful and friendly. We even received a call one afternoon ( the day of our son's wedding) to say the housekeeping staff would be leaving soon so if we wanted our room serviced, we had to do it soon. We spent the 15 minutes in the lobby, a very warm, inviting and homey place, while they cleaned our room. It was very thoughtful of them to ask us if we wanted the room cleaned. I also had asked if a friend had checked in yet. I was told they hadn't. When the couple did arrive, I received a call telling me they just came. All in all, it was a friendly staff and a clean hotel.

Room Tip: We had the bridal suite on the second floor and found it very comfortable, with air conditioning wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My hometown is nearby and we head back to the midwest to visit yearly. We ALWAYS stay here as it's super clean, friendly, and has great construction with rooms that are nearly soundproof. Inquire about this if you have noisy kids as it's wonderful not to be "shushing" the kids constantly. This year, we waited too late to book and originally only had the first and last two days of our trip booked here, with no rooms available for the middle two days in a suite that matched our price range. Martha Sherwood, the owner, kept an eye on the cancellation list for us. Upon checking in the first night, she suprised us with an upgrade to a bigger room for the last 4 nights of our stay so that we could be there for our entire 6 day trip. What a relief!! We deeply appreciated her working with us and felt blessed with the larger room. We felt so spoiled and are deeply appreciative to Americinn and Mrs. Sherwood for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Princeton is a little midwest town along I-80 between Moline and LaSalle/Peru. We stayed for three nights and four days at the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton. The Suite that we stayed in was great and the service also was outstanding. They had a pool and workout room along with a hot tube, After driving that was awesome. We had a 24 hour Walmart close by so felt like home. It was my mother's birthday. Sorry I didn't get around to writing this review sooner. Love this place will stay there next time also.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartlan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

An overall nice place to stay, and a much better option than the surrounding motels. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and surprisingly large. I stayed there on two occasions about a week apart and the staff remembered me from my first visit. The breakfast was nice, with two rotating items (breakfast burritos and sausages, and cheese omelets and sausages), a waffle maker, and a variety of baked goods.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytonengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, IL
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just needed a room for one night due to a graduation party. Turned out to be a fine experience.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We asked for an extra coffee packet, for the in room coffee pot, and they brought it right over. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet, even though the were children in the room next door, we never heard them.

We were traveling by motorcycle and when it started raining that evening, the staff offered to let us park our bike under the awning by the front door. We didn't, as it wasn't necessary, but the offer was nice.

There is a decent bar and grill right across the parking lot and a nice family restaurant across the street where we had breakfast. The hotel has a free, serve yourself breakfast, but it was very crowded. So we didn't try it.

All in all, a pleasant experience and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baatfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Princeton
Days Inn Princeton
#4 of 4 in Princeton
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Princeton
Econo Lodge Princeton
#3 of 4 in Princeton
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Princeton
Super 8 Princeton
#2 of 4 in Princeton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
17.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton
Address: 2120 Claude Bailey Parkway, Princeton, IL 61356-9644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton 2*
Number of rooms: 64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing