We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded ou expectations. just the perfect place...”

Review of Elk Cottage

Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden
The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
The kitchen and utility room at Elk Cottage with dishwasher, microwave and washing machine & dryer
The well equipped kitchen at Elk Cottage, guests receive a generous welcome hamper and wine
The courtyard garden at Elk Cottage looking towards the raised flowers beds leading up to the lawns
A great place to relax at the end of the day exploring the Lake District and the Pennines
The dining Room at Elk Cottage has French doors opening out onto a lawned area
Elk Cottage living room with wood burning fire
The ensuite Master Bedroom with a five foot king size antique oak bed and 2nd private entrance
Another view of the Master Bedroom with an antique linen fold carved king size bed
The Master Bedroom enuite bathroom with a shower over the cast iron bath
The second ensuite bedroom at Elk Cottage with a super king six foot bed and hand painted wardrobe
The second ensuite bedroom has a 6 foot bed that can be arranged as twins as requested
The second bedroom ensuite shower room with a rainfall shower and chrome heated towel rail
Elk Cottage is a 5* rated Grade II listed sandstone cottage with two ensuite BRs and wood fire
The raised rear gardens at Elk Cottage
The summertime view from Glassonby over the Eden Valley to the Pennines
The Eden River footpath near Daleraven within walking distance from Elk Cottage
Neighbours in the village of Glassonby and the early morning view over the Estate
The National Lottery funded playground in the village, walking distance from Elk Cottage
The wintertime view from the lane leading to Elk Cottage across our family farm
The view to the Pennines from the village of Glassonby
The nearby village of Melmerby in the foothills of the Pennines with a great bakery & village shop
The bridge at nearby Lazonby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craizie M
1 review
“Exceeded ou expectations. just the perfect place to be.”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

spent a 2 nights shirt holiday trip here while viewing the phenomenal lake district and me and i have to say it was such a great cottage to unwind everything going on in busy london maddnes(lol) all in all the manager (Jill) and Christie have been very warm welcoming, fully furnished cottage, came in with some groceries and a touch of local wine. just amazing. Will be sure coming back here in the future. Cheers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Hi,
Thanks very much for leaving such a lovely review of your recent short break at Elk Cottage. It's great to hear that you enjoyed getting away from all the London "madness" (!!!) and that you liked visiting the Lake District so much.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
556jack
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, Hi spec, dog friendly cottage !”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

3 night stay at Elk Cottage, with husband, friends and Oliver the bulldog. The cottage exceeded all expectations, it was very clean and furnished to a high standard, it was well equipped, even down to spare towels for Oliver !. The welcome pack was well thought out including not only the basics but a few treats aswell (even Oliver was spoilt !) The cottage is located in the quiet village of Glassonby, which is approx 7 miles from Penrith, so a car is necessary, but the cottage is a good base to explore from. Special thanks to Jilly (estates manager) who was very helpful during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all and especially Oliver enjoyed your stay and treats at Elk Cottage. We will be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates for a future visit please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulgurr2...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful, peaceful and perfect !”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My partner and I (plus the dogs..) stayed at Elk Cottage over the 2016 New Year, and it was exactly what we had hoped for.

Peace, tranquility and luxury all surround by amazing countryside and within a short drive of the lakes.

Everything you could wish for is waiting for you upon your arrival to Elk Cottage, and nothing is too much trouble for Christine, Jilly and their team.

Highly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you, your partner and the dogs enjoyed your peaceful stay at Elk Cottage over the New Year holidays. Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated and we would be thrilled to welcome you back for a future visit please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz N
North Aston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from home...better even”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Fabulous stay in warm cottage....just perfect for a shared family break. We rented three cottages together and the whole set up was perfect. Cosy and generous....fabulous hamper.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Hi, Happy New Year to you all and thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you all enjoyed your family break at Glassonby Old Hall, Jenny's Croft & Elk Cottage. Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated. We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahc39
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and well appointed”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is a really comfortable, luxurious cottage with a great welcome and everything that you will need: comfy beds, warm rooms and a well appointed kitchen. Lots of great walks nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Hi thank you very much for taking the time to provide a Trip Advisor review following your holiday at Elk Cottage. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to get out and hike nearby. We love the walk along the River Eden past Lacey's Caves and back around to Elk Cottage via Little Salkeld. We would be delighted to welcome you for a return visit if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District in future. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christian...
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best self catering break ever!”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What can we say... absolutely wonderful accommodation. We felt as though we were in our own home, but that we'd been lucky enough to own a spacious cottage overlooking the idyllic lake district landscape with open fires, and all the conveniences of a modern dwelling. From the complimentary hamper of wine, fresh bread, tea, coffee, fudge, toffees & fresh fruit, to the fridge with eggs, milk cheese (all of which was the top of the line products by the way), along with a pre-prepared fire (just needed a match to light it), we wanted for nothing. Complimentary Wi-Fi so we could keep in touch with friends & family, along with most toiletries, & fully stocked utilities cupboards etc. We were just stunned by the quality of service & accommodation offered. As per title, this is by far the nicest self catering holiday we've ever had, & we will be returning with other family members in the future so we can share this wonderful experience with them. Top marks!!!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2016
Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to get in touch regarding Elk Cottage and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have been improving our local sourcing of hamper items including buying our eggs from the nearby Lakes Eggs and Jilly has been making the jam herself from fruit we grow. We would be delighted to welcome you all for a visit another time if your plans bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District in future. Thank you again for choosing to come to Elk Cottage for your holiday. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julianrow...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swiss standards meet rural Cumbria”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our 5-day stay in Elk Cottage was perfect in every way. The cottage itself was charming, interesting and impeccably maintained. The standard of cleanliness was staggering - something we have never seen before on a self-catering holiday, especially in the kitchen where so often we have had to start our holiday with cleaning and scrubbing! From the welcome basket to the polished kettle and toaster, the beautiful bed linen to the perfectly appointed bathrooms, you could be forgiven for thinking you were in a Swiss establishment. Even the grounds were impeccably maintained with manicured lawns and a beautiful terraced Victorian garden. The location is very good, close enough to the Lake District without the inconvenience of the crowds, so we were able to enjoy the best of all worlds. Also the owner, Christine, was very helpful as was her manager, Jilly. This is really a very professionally run establishment and is a benchmark for others to copy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming property with character impeccably maintained
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to leave this great review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Elk Cottage and thank you for all your compliments they are kind, informative and very much appreciated by us and our team but they are also very useful for people looking to stay in our local area. I will make sure all of our team get to read this review. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Elk Cottage or any of our other cottages at The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing