We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Holiday”

Review of Cazenovia Hall

Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hal next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage Chef's Kitchen - equipped with 4 oven Aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hal next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage
Chef's Kitchen - equipped with 4 oven Aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Open Dining Hall with antique beech table which converts to a billiards table (equipment provided)
A view from the dining area back into the Kitchen
A view from the dining area in Cazenovia Hall through to the courtyard garden
Looking through the kitchen towards the rear garden
A view from the kitchen area of Cazenovia Hall towards the handmade galleried oak staircase
A view from the oak gallery at Cazenovia Hall over the dining area and kitchen
Main reception room with large open log burning fire and private terraces facing Lake District fells
The Gin Case reception room with an open fire (used to be a gin engine area for horses in the past)
Main reception room with large open log burning fire
The ground floor Lincklaen bedroom with zip and link beds
The Lincklaen Room in the afternoon sun
The ground floor Lincklaen ensuite bathroom
The ground floor Madison Room, ensuite with a shower room and wc with a five foot bed
The first floor Lorenzo Room ensuite bedroom with six foot antique bed
The ensuite bathroom for the Lorenzo room with separate shower and cast iron bath
Chittenango Room first floor ensuite with a shower room and wc, with twin size antique beds
A view across the gardens towards Cazenovia Hall's private sandstone terrace
Cazenovia Hall's sandstone terraces equipped with Weber charcoal grill
The rear view of Cazenovia Hall facing Blencowe Hall courtyard
The orchard garden at Cazenovia Hall
Cazenovia Hall in the winter with a view towards Mell Fell and the Lake District
A sunny winter afternoon at Cazenovia Hall, relaxing in front of the log burning fire, logs provided
Cazenovia Hall is within the 30 acre grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The service I received from Christine & Jilly was great, right from the first email enquiry. We were a party of six on a short break to celebrate my bother's birthday & we had a fabulous time. Cazenovia Hall was lovely - light; spacious; warm (a little too warm for some of our party!); quiet (until we arrived!); obviously well insulated against sound, thank goodness, as we could hardly hear each other moving about in the other rooms, much less the occupants of Riverain or Wythburn; well equipped throughout & had plenty of room. I was sceptical about the welcome hamper, despite other reviews, & took all the basics with me. I wish I hadn't bothered! The welcome hamper really was a welcome hamper with a large selection of basic items & treats, many of which were local; all of which were lovely. My only disappointment were the grounds, which although beautiful & well maintained, we were unable to find anywhere suitable to run off the excess energy (& noise!) of a seven year old in our party, without disturbing the guests in Riverain or Wythburn. We did have our eye on a paddock opposite us but weren't sure if it belonged to Rowley Estates & before we could find out, on the second day we were there, a marquee went up on it. Visitors should also be aware that the country road you have to walk on to get to either Blencow village or Greystoke doesn't have any sort of pavement/walking area & when we were there, the verges were very overgrown with a lot of stinging nettles. We had a number of very close encounters with some very large farm machinery each day we were there, which were a little unnerving with a young child. But overall I would recommend staying here - & I hope I get the chance to do so again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness & the darkness
Liked least: The dinner gong when it was found by a seven year old!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide such helpful feedback following your stay at Cazenovia Hall and it's great to hear that you had a relaxing break. The solid sandstone walls are definitely great for sound insulation and for keeping the underfloor heating well retained within the cottage. We will update the Guest Information folder at Cazenovia Hall to make it clear that we own the fields surrounding the Hall and that our guests are more than welcome to run around in these paddocks provided the sheep and cows are grazing other fields (which is normally the case in the warmer months as we move them away from the cottages to other fields at this time of year). We will also highlight the map in the Guest Information Folder which shows the way to the off road bridleway / foot path which runs between the village of Blencowe (starts near the Old Smithy) and runs along to the village of Greystoke. We would be delighted to welcome you all for a return visit to Cazenovia Hall or one of our other cottages if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District in future! Thank you again for choosing to come to Cazenovia Hall for your holiday :) Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APDID
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Britains 28th Gold Medal.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here during the Olympics and it was very much another Gold. The property was found clean and tidy, and well appointed. We had 8 adults staying and at no time did we feel we were tripping over each other, such was the space we had to enjoy.

The grounds at Blencowe are simply wonderful, and we couldn't have wished for a better base for our wonderful no stress Lakes Adventure, as its location is perfect to reach the Lakes and beyond, plus handy for Keswick and Penrith.. This isn't our first stay at Blencowe and the best recommendation I can give is that from the first stay 4 years ago to this, the quality of this particular Rowley Estate property has been maintained and remains to a high standard.

We will certainly have no hesitation returning to a Rowley Estate in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Quality of the property and its location.
Liked least: It would be trivial to say anything negative.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this 'Golden' review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Cazenovia Hall thank you for your kind comments. It's great that you got out and about and your no stress Lakes Adventure sounds like great fun. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates again please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lakw District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beancount...
South East England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Total perfection”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I almost cried with happiness when we arrived: lovely, lovely house in a perfect location with amazing views. The house was spotless and roomy, with a well-stocked kitchen and plenty of bathrooms ( v useful with teenagers).There was ample parking. The teenagers were overjoyed to find wifi and a billiards table. In the evenings, we loved to eat on the rear terrace overlooking the hills. There was a hamper with local food waiting for us when we arrived and also milk, bread and cheese, which was very thoughtful. The house is very handily placed for hill walking and trips to the Lake District. Penrith is the nearest town and has a very good local supermarket. We would be very happy to visit again (or to try one of the other houses on the estate). I wish it had been cold enough to light the fire in the sitting room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard and quality of the property was very good.
Liked least: I really cannot think of anything to complain about...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent holiday at Cazenovia Hall. It's so nice to hear that you all had a great time at the cottage and enjoyed visiting the Lake District. We appreciate your feedback and will pass this back to our housekeeping and gardening team who work so hard to keep the cottages clean, tidy and well maintained.
I think Cazenovia Hall is one of my favourite cottages on the estate too !!! We would love to welcome you back and please get in touch again if you are planning a future trip to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wonderful hamper provided with tea, coffe, wine , bread plus goodies. Also milk, eggs and butter in fridge so don't buy any basics.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review and we are delighted you enjoyed the 'Welcome Hamper'. It is great for us to know how much they are appreciated by our guests. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidw012...
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
“Really excellent in every way.”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The whole experience added so much to a lovely family event - a truly memorable grandson's wedding.
We very much appreciated your hospitality provisions - a very thoughtful and kind gift.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole deal.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Hi, thank you for your message and for taking the time to get back in touch regarding your stay at Cazenovia Hall. We are delighted that your family wedding weekend was a great time for you all to catch up and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for a visit another time. We enjoy making the Rowley's Raspberry jam and it's lovely to hear that you liked our welcome hamper :) Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandTr...
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extra special stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Cazanovia Hall is a fantastic place to stay,It has a lovely relaxed feel to it and everything you could need and more. The attention to detail is second to none and thank you for the welcome hamper.
The bedrooms were lovely with very comfortable bed and all had beautiful en-suites too. The kitchens have absolutely everything you need for cooking & celebration drinks & nibbles. Lovely big squishy sofas, rugs and roaring fires with plenty of wood & candles too! The dining table in Cazenovia Hall has a pool table underneath which was a great bonus and we had great fun playing the games that were available in the cupboard overall a truly special holiday break and a magical place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: main bed very squeaky
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday at Cazenovia Hall and it sounds like you had great fun playing all the games! Thank you for your kind comments as they are very much appreciated not only by us but also our future guests. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third year as a group travelling at New Year. Cazanovia Hall is a fantastic place to stay.It has a lovely relaxed feel to it, everything you could need and more is there. The attention to detail is second to none. Thank you for the welcome hamper this is by far the best we have ever had. Cazanovia is in a beautiful setting and the area has some lovely walks, with plenty of places to visit near by. We all enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was to a high standard
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your New Year stay at Cazenovia Hall. It's super that you got out and about in the local area and enjoyed some lovely walks. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Cazenovia Hall or any of our other properties at The Rowley Estates. Please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charles & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing