We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best we could have asked for”

Review of Cazenovia Hall

Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hal next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage Chef's Kitchen - equipped with 4 oven Aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hal next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage
Chef's Kitchen - equipped with 4 oven Aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Open Dining Hall with antique beech table which converts to a billiards table (equipment provided)
A view from the dining area back into the Kitchen
A view from the dining area in Cazenovia Hall through to the courtyard garden
Looking through the kitchen towards the rear garden
A view from the kitchen area of Cazenovia Hall towards the handmade galleried oak staircase
A view from the oak gallery at Cazenovia Hall over the dining area and kitchen
Main reception room with large open log burning fire and private terraces facing Lake District fells
The Gin Case reception room with an open fire (used to be a gin engine area for horses in the past)
Main reception room with large open log burning fire
The ground floor Lincklaen bedroom with zip and link beds
The Lincklaen Room in the afternoon sun
The ground floor Lincklaen ensuite bathroom
The ground floor Madison Room, ensuite with a shower room and wc with a five foot bed
The first floor Lorenzo Room ensuite bedroom with six foot antique bed
The ensuite bathroom for the Lorenzo room with separate shower and cast iron bath
Chittenango Room first floor ensuite with a shower room and wc, with twin size antique beds
A view across the gardens towards Cazenovia Hall's private sandstone terrace
Cazenovia Hall's sandstone terraces equipped with Weber charcoal grill
The rear view of Cazenovia Hall facing Blencowe Hall courtyard
The orchard garden at Cazenovia Hall
Cazenovia Hall in the winter with a view towards Mell Fell and the Lake District
A sunny winter afternoon at Cazenovia Hall, relaxing in front of the log burning fire, logs provided
Cazenovia Hall is within the 30 acre grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sparrowsn...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best we could have asked for”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had the best holiday and the accommodation was fantastic, you guys genuinely thought of everything! The place was immaculate and the perfect set up with each of the four bedrooms having an ensuite! The only thing that would have made things easier with dogs and children would have been an enclosed garden area, but the garden area that was provided was well kept and very beautiful and a minor problem in comparison to how lovely everything else was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Hi thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor review following your holiday this summer at Cazenovia Hall and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate the feedback regarding the garden which is located to the rear of our estate at Blencowe and not at all close to the country lane leading between the village of Blencowe and Greystoke. Recognising that other families travelling with children & dogs might also appreciate having a fully enclosed garden at Cazenovia Hall, we will look into making this change. Thank you again for choosing to come to Cazenovia Hall for your holiday this summer and we would be delighted to welcome you back for a return visit if your travels bring you to Cumbria and the Lake District in the future! Best wishes from us all - Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBSNorfol...
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay at Cazenovia Hall”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived at Cazenovia Hall on a Friday, wow, a beautiful home in a fabulous setting, it was exactly as it said on the tin and more. Everything was available what 5 adults 2 children and 3 dogs would need for a week. Penrith was easily accessible and also to the lakes. The local pub(a mile down the road) in Greystoke did fabulous food, or fantastic Tapas in another pub a few minutes drive away. There was so much to do for everyone and any age close by, the walks were good too, no time to be bored. After a day on the lakes or walking up Helvellyn to come back to Cazenovia Hall only to sit outside with a glass off wine admiring the beautiful surroundings of the Blencowe estate. A very enjoyable week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Hi
Thank you for leaving such a super review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed Cazenovia Hall and that you had such a stimulating holiday, it sounds like you really made the best of everything that our local area has to offer. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimbersW1...
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and peace and quiet in the lakes”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Situated in a truly beautiful rural area just north of Ullswater, Cazenovia Hall is really your luxury home away from home. I stayed there with my husband and mother for a week in June and couldn't fault anything. Although only 3 of us, the property caters for 8 with 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms. There is more than ample space for everyone and extremely well kitted out. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need - the kitchen has everything even down to tin foil, cling film and washing powder and an umbrella should you need it after long walks in the beautiful countryside surrounding property. And after a long journey the welcome pack containing quality items was extremely welcome. I could go on and on. But what really stands out is the owners attention to detail in making sure you having everything available in the property that you could possibly need even down to a fire laid in the hearth should you arrive on a chilly day. Their customer service is excellent - nothing is too much trouble for them. I would not hesitate in staying there again [and hope to do so at some point] and/or recommending it others. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Hi, Thank you for your lovely review of Cazenovia Hall. We are delighted you have given such wonderful feedback after your holiday. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the welcome pack and had everything you needed during your stay and it is wonderful to know you had excellent customer service! We will pass this onto Jilly and her team. We would be delighted to welcome you back again, please feel free to get back in touch when you are next visiting Cumbria and the Lakes, Best wishes Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowBe...
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for family reunions”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful property for a large family gathering, excellent accommodation, with everything you could need from the fabulous welcome hamper to the overall detail of the property, truly a first class rental property.
Everything has been thought of from the toiletries to the BBQ, peaceful country setting, lots of outdoor space and the furnishings are first class.
Only negative is the lack of fly screens as it is a country setting the flies were a problem but with some screens could be easily solved .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Hi, thank you for taking the time to get in touch regarding Cazenovia Hall and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for the suggestion regarding placing screens on the windows. We have not considered this before but will look into this and see if it is feasible for our windows. Thank you again for choosing to come to Cazenovia Hall for your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for a return visit if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and The Lake District in the future. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Stunning accommodation!”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned form a 3 night stay at both Cazenovia Hall & Wythburn Cottage. Both accommodations were absolutely stunning, every last detail had been so considered and didn't go unnoticed by us during our stay. From the building itself to the welcome hamper, the gorgeous textiles to the views, this place is very special and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury Lake District break.
We were visiting for my Hen party but will most definitely be returning with my family!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Hi Thank you so much for the lovely review following your recent stay at Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is lovely to hear to liked the welcome hamper, textiles and views! We would be delighted to welcome you all back again, please feel free to get back in touch the next time you are planning another trip to Cumbria and the Lake District! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
741lisa
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing accomodation”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The moment we stepped inside this wonderful accomodation we soon realised that Cazenovia Hall was special. The accomodation suited our needs as we had party of mixed ages and ability, so the ground floor rooms were valuable. The Hall is equiped to a very high standard with thoughtful touches like the welcome hamper and champagne. Exceptionally clean. The location is excellent, with many walks and even a fantastic pub in Greystoke, serving excellent food. Penrith very quaint. Would highly recommend and without hesitaiton we will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Hi, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review following your stay at Cazenoiva Hall. We are really pleased your party found the Hall so accommodating with the ground floor rooms. We are delighted you enjoyed the location and had a nice visit to the local pub in Greystoke. We hope we can welcome you back again soon when you are next planning a visit to Cumbria and the Lake District. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B
1 review
“Perfect stay at Cazenovia Hall”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in Cazenovia Hall with family members in both Riverain and Wythburn to celebrate a special family birthday. The location was wonderful and the accommodation was lovely. The cottages were very well equipped and we wanted for nothing especially in the kitchen. There was a delightful hamper to welcome us and lovely toiletries in all the en-suite bathrooms. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and the attention to detail was second to none. There were lovely walks straight from the house and Ulswater was only about 6 miles away so very well situated for the Northern Lakes. I would not hesitate to recommend this property as we all had an amazing time and the age range was 1 - 90, so it catered for all ages. Many thanks again our stay exceeded our expectations and the wonderful weather was just the icing on the cake!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review after your recent family celebration break at our cottages. It's great to hear that you were pleased with the hampers and toiletries and that all the family members - young and old were catered for at the cottages. Of course we were happy to provide the lovely weather too !!!
We very much hope to be able to welcome you all back to our cottages and halls again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing