We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great stay”

Review of Cazenovia Hall

Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hal next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage Chef's Kitchen - equipped with 4 oven Aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hal next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage
Chef's Kitchen - equipped with 4 oven Aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Open Dining Hall with antique beech table which converts to a billiards table (equipment provided)
A view from the dining area back into the Kitchen
A view from the dining area in Cazenovia Hall through to the courtyard garden
Looking through the kitchen towards the rear garden
A view from the kitchen area of Cazenovia Hall towards the handmade galleried oak staircase
A view from the oak gallery at Cazenovia Hall over the dining area and kitchen
Main reception room with large open log burning fire and private terraces facing Lake District fells
The Gin Case reception room with an open fire (used to be a gin engine area for horses in the past)
Main reception room with large open log burning fire
The ground floor Lincklaen bedroom with zip and link beds
The Lincklaen Room in the afternoon sun
The ground floor Lincklaen ensuite bathroom
The ground floor Madison Room, ensuite with a shower room and wc with a five foot bed
The first floor Lorenzo Room ensuite bedroom with six foot antique bed
The ensuite bathroom for the Lorenzo room with separate shower and cast iron bath
Chittenango Room first floor ensuite with a shower room and wc, with twin size antique beds
A view across the gardens towards Cazenovia Hall's private sandstone terrace
Cazenovia Hall's sandstone terraces equipped with Weber charcoal grill
The rear view of Cazenovia Hall facing Blencowe Hall courtyard
The orchard garden at Cazenovia Hall
Cazenovia Hall in the winter with a view towards Mell Fell and the Lake District
A sunny winter afternoon at Cazenovia Hall, relaxing in front of the log burning fire, logs provided
Cazenovia Hall is within the 30 acre grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard H
2 reviews
“A great stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Used this as accommodation for a large party that hired Blencowe Hall. Worked a treat as it was so close and everything was so well looked after. We will definitely be back next year. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor we are delighted your stay at Cazenovia Hall worked well with Blencowe Hall. Thank you for your kind words and we will be thrilled to welcome you back next year. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We were thrilled, beautiful property and location.”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cazenovia Hall is an outstanding holiday let. Myself, husband and 5 close family members stayed for a few nights over my 60th birthday time.
Everyone had an excellent time.Cazenovia is a lovely big barn with simply everything we needed, warmth, ( underfloor heating hugely appreciated by all especially my elderly mum) space, beautifully furnished and the kitchen was excellent with every piece of equipment we needed and then some.
Loved the aga even though I had not used one before...even the kids took it in turns to cook.
We have never had a welcome hamper so comprehensive, generous or of good quality.
There are views from every window, beautifully kept gardens and we all had a great time with the pool table, no arguing over bathrooms as we all had our own.
Thank you and very well done Christine, Charles and Jilly...we are already planning our next visit as there is so much to see and do in this stunning and peaceful part of this country.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Hi, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review following your recent stay at Cazenovia Hall. We are delighted you all had a wonderful time and enjoyed celebrating your 60th Birthday at Cazenovia Hall! It is great to hear your all enjoyed cooking on the Aga. We would be delighted to welcome you all back again, please feel free to get back in touch if you are planning another trip to Cumbria and The Lakes. Best regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttownsen...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxury holiday rental in lovely rural setting”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for 7 nights in early August 2017 – extended family of 8 (including 2 small children) and a dog.

We very much enjoyed our week at Cazenovia Hall. We have spent many short holidays in various parts of Scotland and England in rental accommodation where the younger members of our family (and pets) have the freedom to relax. We have invariably found that the accommodation does not quite meet the standard of the marketing material. This was not the case at Cazenovia Hall.

The property fully met the information posted on the web-site. The property had obviously been carefully refurbished and redesigned providing a very grand double height kitchen / dining room with separate large living room adjoining. An extra bonus was the dining table converted easily into a 8ft x 4ft snooker table.

There were 2 large bedrooms (one on ground floor, one on first) a reasonable sized double and good sized twin room. All bedrooms had high quality ensuites, 2 with baths.

Separate utility room with washing machine and drier.

The furnishings and fittings and fixtures were all as described and we found we were wanting for nothing (other than a blender for making fruit smoothies! - not really essential).

The gardens were very attractive and well maintained. We were blessed with reasonably good summer weather but we feel the property would also be very attractive during the winter months with the Aga and open fire. The outside seating area and table was perfect for the afternoon / evening sun and was largely sheltered from the breeze.

Although the other units were occupied we did not sense that our privacy was being encroached upon.

We also found the location very attractive - close to the Lake District attractions but at the same time offering a quiet, rural setting.

Everyone in our family, both young and old, expressed a willingness to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Hi
Thank you for your very comprehensive and positive review. I am delighted to hear that Cazenovia Hall met your expectations as we never want our guests to be disappointed. It's great that you were able to make good use of the outside seating area and did not feel that you were overlooked, we love to make the most of opportunities for some sunshine! As you say, we feel that Cazenovia Hall is equally enjoyable in the winter months, do feel free to give it a try! Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparrowsn...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best we could have asked for”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had the best holiday and the accommodation was fantastic, you guys genuinely thought of everything! The place was immaculate and the perfect set up with each of the four bedrooms having an ensuite! The only thing that would have made things easier with dogs and children would have been an enclosed garden area, but the garden area that was provided was well kept and very beautiful and a minor problem in comparison to how lovely everything else was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Hi thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor review following your holiday this summer at Cazenovia Hall and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate the feedback regarding the garden which is located to the rear of our estate at Blencowe and not at all close to the country lane leading between the village of Blencowe and Greystoke. Recognising that other families travelling with children & dogs might also appreciate having a fully enclosed garden at Cazenovia Hall, we will look into making this change. Thank you again for choosing to come to Cazenovia Hall for your holiday this summer and we would be delighted to welcome you back for a return visit if your travels bring you to Cumbria and the Lake District in the future! Best wishes from us all - Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBSNorfol...
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay at Cazenovia Hall”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived at Cazenovia Hall on a Friday, wow, a beautiful home in a fabulous setting, it was exactly as it said on the tin and more. Everything was available what 5 adults 2 children and 3 dogs would need for a week. Penrith was easily accessible and also to the lakes. The local pub(a mile down the road) in Greystoke did fabulous food, or fantastic Tapas in another pub a few minutes drive away. There was so much to do for everyone and any age close by, the walks were good too, no time to be bored. After a day on the lakes or walking up Helvellyn to come back to Cazenovia Hall only to sit outside with a glass off wine admiring the beautiful surroundings of the Blencowe estate. A very enjoyable week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Hi
Thank you for leaving such a super review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed Cazenovia Hall and that you had such a stimulating holiday, it sounds like you really made the best of everything that our local area has to offer. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimbersW1...
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and peace and quiet in the lakes”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Situated in a truly beautiful rural area just north of Ullswater, Cazenovia Hall is really your luxury home away from home. I stayed there with my husband and mother for a week in June and couldn't fault anything. Although only 3 of us, the property caters for 8 with 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms. There is more than ample space for everyone and extremely well kitted out. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need - the kitchen has everything even down to tin foil, cling film and washing powder and an umbrella should you need it after long walks in the beautiful countryside surrounding property. And after a long journey the welcome pack containing quality items was extremely welcome. I could go on and on. But what really stands out is the owners attention to detail in making sure you having everything available in the property that you could possibly need even down to a fire laid in the hearth should you arrive on a chilly day. Their customer service is excellent - nothing is too much trouble for them. I would not hesitate in staying there again [and hope to do so at some point] and/or recommending it others. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Hi, Thank you for your lovely review of Cazenovia Hall. We are delighted you have given such wonderful feedback after your holiday. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the welcome pack and had everything you needed during your stay and it is wonderful to know you had excellent customer service! We will pass this onto Jilly and her team. We would be delighted to welcome you back again, please feel free to get back in touch when you are next visiting Cumbria and the Lakes, Best wishes Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowBe...
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for family reunions”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful property for a large family gathering, excellent accommodation, with everything you could need from the fabulous welcome hamper to the overall detail of the property, truly a first class rental property.
Everything has been thought of from the toiletries to the BBQ, peaceful country setting, lots of outdoor space and the furnishings are first class.
Only negative is the lack of fly screens as it is a country setting the flies were a problem but with some screens could be easily solved .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Hi, thank you for taking the time to get in touch regarding Cazenovia Hall and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for the suggestion regarding placing screens on the windows. We have not considered this before but will look into this and see if it is feasible for our windows. Thank you again for choosing to come to Cazenovia Hall for your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for a return visit if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and The Lake District in the future. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing