We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place - good sized rooms with ensuites...”

Review of Wythburn Cottage

Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden
Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
The antique kitchen table at Wythburn with the kitchen doors opening to a second sandstone terrace
A view towards the hand built oak open staircase leading to the first floor sitting room
The open plan kitchen is equipped with stainless steel appliances including an American F/F
A massive breakfasting kitchen with Brittania range cooker, dishwasher and granite counter tops
Wythburn's cathedral ceilinged first floor reception with a cast iron stove
A view through the first floor reception room to the Master Bedroom suite adjoining this.
The Blencathra Room - the first floor master bedroom ensuite with a separate shower
The Blencathra Room ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Skiddaw Suite on the ground floor with a five foot bed and ensuite bath and shower room
The Skiddaw Suite ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Hellvellyn Room, ensuite with beds that can be arranged as a six foot or two single beds
The Hellvellyn Room is on the ground floor with an ensuite bathroom.
The rear terrace at Wythburn Cottage
The beautiful view over the orchard at the rear of Wythburn Cottage
Wythburn Cottage is set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall.
A side view of Grade II listed Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Wythburn and Blaine Cottage, as well as the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kiwi-trav...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great place - good sized rooms with ensuites - good beds”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderfully warm - nicely laid out - great kitchen with all the added extras like soap, dish washer tablets, washing powder for the clothes washer, etc

Plus a basket of goodies to get us started

RECOMMEND

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your recent stay at Wythburn Cottage. We really appreciate your feedback and recommendation of the cottage.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again another time.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive and lovely review of your stay at Wythburn Cottage. We really appreciate your thoughts and feedback on the accommodation and service provided. Thank you also for recommending Wythburn to your friends and family etc.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lindalewi...
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wythburn”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Wythburn was a lovely spot to stay in during our visit to the Lakes. Great attention to details was paid to when this place was renovated and it couldn't have been a nicer stay. We used it as our home base to make several trips into the Lake District park for hikes and then back to the local pub for a great meal and a pint. I loved waking up to the sound of the cows and seeing people go by on horseback. I hated to leave. Thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Hi,
Thank you for writing a great review of your stay at Wythburn Cottage. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and time exploring the Lake District. We think the local pub is great too!
Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fabulous dining kitchen
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent break at Wythburn Cottage. We are so pleased that we could help with your last minute booking arrangements for the cottage and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RavenMeol...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property is true luxury and made all the more special as it was very accessible for my disabled daughter who is a wheelchair user. The estate manager and owners went to a lot of trouble to lay boards and ramps for the wheelchair as well as taking time to establish our needs before we arrived. It was lovely to have a welcome hamper and plenty of additional extras like toiletries, kitchen roll, dishwasher tablets etc that are usually rationed in self catering properties - but not here. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottage to friends and family and hope to return again soon. Thanks so much to Jilly and Christine. Val, Beth, Michael, Joan and Jan x

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review of your stay at Wythburn Cottage. We really appreciate the feedback and are delighted that we were able to assist you with all of your needs. We hope to be able to welcome you all back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spotlessly clean, quiet with lovely views
Liked least: elderly relative found the steps in Riverain difficult
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review for Riverain and Wythburn cottages. We are very happy that we were able to assist you during your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Best Regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Billinge
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing