We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic escape to the beautiful lakes”

Review of Wythburn Cottage

Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden
Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
The antique kitchen table at Wythburn with the kitchen doors opening to a second sandstone terrace
A view towards the hand built oak open staircase leading to the first floor sitting room
The open plan kitchen is equipped with stainless steel appliances including an American F/F
A massive breakfasting kitchen with Brittania range cooker, dishwasher and granite counter tops
Wythburn's cathedral ceilinged first floor reception with a cast iron stove
A view through the first floor reception room to the Master Bedroom suite adjoining this.
The Blencathra Room - the first floor master bedroom ensuite with a separate shower
The Blencathra Room ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Skiddaw Suite on the ground floor with a five foot bed and ensuite bath and shower room
The Skiddaw Suite ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Hellvellyn Room, ensuite with beds that can be arranged as a six foot or two single beds
The Hellvellyn Room is on the ground floor with an ensuite bathroom.
The rear terrace at Wythburn Cottage
The beautiful view over the orchard at the rear of Wythburn Cottage
Wythburn Cottage is set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall.
A side view of Grade II listed Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Wythburn and Blaine Cottage, as well as the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antony C
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic escape to the beautiful lakes”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a truly wonderful place to stay - Wythburn is a lovely for several reasons - everything has been thought of. The kitchen does not want for anything and you will go a long way to find more comfortable beds. The gallery sitting room has two large "go to sleep" sofas and I am sure it would be lovely and cozy in the winter with the wood-burner going. It is meticulously clean when you arrive and the welcome hamper has lots of delicious goodies. The table out on the patio is nicely sheltered and it is glorious to sit out there in the sun.

The Boot and Shoe in Greystoke is a two minute drive away and there is also a village shop for any essentials. It does not take long to get to Ullswater and it is also easy to get to Keswick as well. No matter what you want from your Lake District holiday, be it walking, cycling or using it as a base to go further afield, you will not be disappointed. We shall definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the beds.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Hi thank you for your review following your stay at Wythburn Cottage. It's great to hear that you enjoyed visiting the Lake District National Park for cycling & hiking. We love the Boot & Shoe also & it is super convenient to have it be either a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute or so walk up the lane from the cottage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another action packed visit!! Best regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Wythburn”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and family have just returned from a long weekend at Wythburn Cottage and have to say, it was simply perfect. The setting and the quality of the cottage was everything we could have asked for and more. The only criticism we could make is that we don't own it, otherwise we would be moving in tomorrow :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space light and the finish of the whole building
Liked least: we don't own it :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Wythburn Cottage. We agree with you ... wouldn't it be wonderful to live there !!!! We would be delighted to welcome you as our guests again at Wythburn Cottage or at any of our other cottages. Please get back in touch when you are planning a future trip. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway with a touch of luxury!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I found Wythburn Cottage while searching through Trip Advisor, the reviews were amazing so thought I would enquire. From my very first contact with the owners Christine and Charlie the service we received was second to none. The cottage itself is delightful catering for every need from a welcome hamper to soap powder and a much needed washing machine and tumble dryer. We had a great time, ideal location and would recommend this holiday cottage to anyone who likes a little touch of luxury and something special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving and returning home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this great review on Trip Advisor your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased that Wythburn Cottage lived up to it's 'amazing reviews'! We are glad that you enjoyed your break in Cumbria and we would be delighted to welcome to back to Wythburn Cottage or any of our other properties. Please get back in touch when you are planning a future trip. King regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam091166
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Luxurious Cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a weekend break at Wythburn Cottage. Despite the wind, rain and snow we had a lovely weekend break.

On arrival we were not disappointed. The cottage is spotless, there is a starter hamper with all the necessities and the bedrooms are large with spotless en suite bathrooms. The owners really have thought of everything to make your stay a good one. The little touches make all the difference- a welcome bottle of wine and filled fruit bowl, the dog's facilities supplied and toiletries in each bathroom.

The kitchen and dining area is large and well equipped so great to congregate in and enjoy a meal and a chat. It looks out onto the neighbouring hall and well maintained gardens. The upstairs lounge is cosy and the adjoining four poster bedroom is luxurious.

We really cannot fault the Wythburn and will definitely return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property
Liked least: n/a it was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review after your visit to Wythburn Cottage. We have shared your kind comments with Jilly & her team and they were delighted to have the positive feedback. We hope to have a chance to welcome you all back for another visit! Best regards Christine and Charlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digger201...
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have to admit that ideally I would like to keep this accommodation top secret and not tell anyone- however this would be doing the owners a huge disservice! The cottage is stunning and a fantastic experience for anyone staying here.

The bedrooms are luxurious and the showers amazing. The kitchen is a perfect size for everyone to get together and prepare a meal. The lounge is cozy and comforting. In fact it is safe to say the whole place is spotless, warm and inviting.

Not only is this a great place to stay the surroundings are also stunning and peaceful. There are also three parking spaces which is not a common feature of this type of accommodation but very handy.

This review would not be complete without highlighting what a pleasure it was to speak to the owners and Jilly. From my initial enquiry to booking, they could not have been more friendly, helpful or efficient. The welcome hamper was also a lovely touch!

My friends and I had a fantastic stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We feel very lucky to have stayed here.

The Tower House pool is also well worth a visit if you get the opportunity.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Hi,
We can't thank you enough for leaving such a positive review of your recent stay at Wythburn Cottage. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass this back to Jilly's Team.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our properties again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi-trav...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great place - good sized rooms with ensuites - good beds”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderfully warm - nicely laid out - great kitchen with all the added extras like soap, dish washer tablets, washing powder for the clothes washer, etc

Plus a basket of goodies to get us started

RECOMMEND

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your recent stay at Wythburn Cottage. We really appreciate your feedback and recommendation of the cottage.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again another time.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive and lovely review of your stay at Wythburn Cottage. We really appreciate your thoughts and feedback on the accommodation and service provided. Thank you also for recommending Wythburn to your friends and family etc.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing