We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”

Review of Wythburn Cottage

Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden
Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
The antique kitchen table at Wythburn with the kitchen doors opening to a second sandstone terrace
A view towards the hand built oak open staircase leading to the first floor sitting room
The open plan kitchen is equipped with stainless steel appliances including an American F/F
A massive breakfasting kitchen with Brittania range cooker, dishwasher and granite counter tops
Wythburn's cathedral ceilinged first floor reception with a cast iron stove
A view through the first floor reception room to the Master Bedroom suite adjoining this.
The Blencathra Room - the first floor master bedroom ensuite with a separate shower
The Blencathra Room ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Skiddaw Suite on the ground floor with a five foot bed and ensuite bath and shower room
The Skiddaw Suite ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Hellvellyn Room, ensuite with beds that can be arranged as a six foot or two single beds
The Hellvellyn Room is on the ground floor with an ensuite bathroom.
The rear terrace at Wythburn Cottage
The beautiful view over the orchard at the rear of Wythburn Cottage
Wythburn Cottage is set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall.
A side view of Grade II listed Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Wythburn and Blaine Cottage, as well as the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Best self catering property we have ever stayed in. Worth every penny. Will definitely return and thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent break at Wythburn Cottage. Its great to receive such positive feedback about the cottage and we would be happy to welcome you back next time you are planning a return visit to Cumbria and The Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenWD3
1 review
“Hoping to return to Wythburn soon!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked Wythburn Cottage as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday and we really loved our stay. We had a three night stay and took our dog with us, and it was such a nice base to enjoy the Lake District from. It was lovely to have Wythburn Cottage to come back to after a busy day! It is the best self catering accomodation I have ever been to, providing everything you could possibly need. There is so much space but still feels so cosy and homely, and we really didn't want to come home! I hope we will be back, and bringing family/friends with us so that they can enjoy a visit to the Rowley Estates as much as we have!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your holiday at Wythburn Cottage. It's great to hear that you had fun exploring Lake District National Park then relaxing back at the cottage after your visit. We would be delighted to welcome you all back for a visit if your travels bring you to Cumbria and the Lake District in future. Best regards from all of us! Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family just returned from a very sunny week at Wythburn Cottage. We had the most amazing weather, which makes all the difference in the lakes.
The house was really lovely, featuring a very welcome, welcome hamper! The facilities were fantastic. You really don't need to take a thing. Bedrooms are specious and decorated beautifully.
We used the local Greystoke open air pool and it was so brill for the kids. I would highly recommend it.
We also had a hot tub and I would advise other guests considering having one to ask the supplier to position the tub in the more private patio area as the larger space is very much overlooked by your neighbours.
We addressed our thoughts to Christine and she was incredibly accommodating and very lovely. (thank you for the champagne!)
All in all a fab week away with the children and would highly recommend.
Thanks for having us Christine. We look forward to returning to one of your properties soon.

The Moores

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Hi thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review following your visit this summer and it's great to hear that your kids enjoyed the pool in Greystoke and the cottage. Thank you also for the suggestion regarding the hot tub location at Wythburn Cottage. We have installed a second external electrical point and garden tap so that our guests who choose to have a private hot tub filled and placed at Wythburn Cottage may choose to have this on the side looking towards Blencowe Hall or on Wythburn's private sandstone terrace adjoining its garden. We look forward to welcoming you all for another visit if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District in future. Best regards from all of us, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandberg6...
1 review
“Excellent, well equipped immaculate cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a week at Wythburn for my partners birthday, joined by his daughter, son and his girlfriend. The cottage was ideal with lots of room for us to have our own space but lovely open plan living areas for us to spend time as a family.
The weather was mainly good and we were able to make use of the beautiful gardens and bbq, and enjoyed a great game of boule!
Wythburn is one of the most well equipped and comfortable cottages we've stayed in, which I would rate as five star in terms of quality, cleanliness, layout and customer service. As we all enjoy cooking, the kitchen was also very well equipped with everything you could need, even a cooks blow torch !
Hope to return sometime, thanks for a great holiday !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your family get together at Wythburn Cottage for your partner's birthday celebrations. Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team and are very useful for potential guests who are looking for a holiday in the local area. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation and surroundings”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We cannot recommend highly enough this accommodation. It is a first class cottage and with the many extras that come with it (welcome hamper, etc.) we felt at home from the moment we arrived. The property is very roomy and all the facilities are top notch.

We all had a wonderful time using it as a base to explore the beautiful Lake District and would recommend it to anyone, without hesitation.

A big thank you from the Sims family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Wythburn Cottage. We appreciate your kind feedback and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed exploring the beautiful Lake District.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our cottages again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke5
wigan, england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from this lovely cottage. Cant fault the accomodation or Christine Rowley who we dealt with. We were 3 couples and 2 dogs, the weather was not very good but then again every time we go to the lake district it rains, everything is provided for you even large umbrellas and dog bowls! It was a bit dangerous walking along the lanes and
I wouldnt do it at night as the cars were travelling quite fast along the lanes. We drove out during the day as the cottage is quite central for Windermere and Ambleside etc. We would definately stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the cottage
Liked least: Roads for walking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Wythburn Cottage. It's great that you were able to get out and drive through the Lake District. We would be thrilled to welcome you back. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptlytham
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wythburn Cottage is beautiful and certainly 5* in a quiet and relaxing location.”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wythburn Cottage is certainly beautiful and 5* in a relaxing and quiet location. A big THANK YOU to Jilly and her team. The cottage is well maintained with a spacious dining/ kitchen.Our bedroom was very comfortable with a view over the countryside that is stunning. The landscaped gardens and grounds are very well maintained with a gardener who is very conscientious as we saw him work so hard. The hamper was a treat with so many good quality items as well as the milk, fruit juice, eggs and butter provide in the fridge. The cottage was full of all those necessaries which are sometimes overlooked but make a real difference to your holiday.We often holiday in self-catering accommodation and find it annoying to remember to pack such things. At Wythburn we were well catered for in this respect and this enhanced the enjoyment of our stay.
We will certainly look forward to booking Wythburn again in the not-too-distant future.
A big THANK YOU to Christine, Charles and Jilly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of the cottage, gardens and lovely rural position.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the views and the hamper at Wythburn Cottage. Thank you for all your kind comments about Wythburn Cottage they are much appreciated by us and are also very useful for future guests. I will pass on your compliments to Jilly and Steve the gardener and the rest of our team. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again to The Rowley Estates. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing