We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”

Review of Melmerby Hall

Melmerby Hall - the front entrance showing the 'Archery Lawn' to the left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Melmerby Hall - the front entrance showing the 'Archery Lawn' to the left
Melmerby Hall from the Archery Lawn The arched entrance to Melmerby with the Pennines behind
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Melmerby Hall - the front entrance showing the 'Archery Lawn' to the left
Melmerby Hall from the Archery Lawn
The arched entrance to Melmerby with the Pennines behind
Melmerby Hall in the early springtime with daffodils under the beech trees
The entrance Hall
Chess in the Library
The fireplace in the Library
The Georgian Drawing Room at Melmerby Hall with one of the four working fireplaces (free logs incl!)
The Drawing Room
Tea in the Drawing Room
Afternoon tea in the Drawing Room with our homemade jam provided in the welcome hamper
The Drawing Room from the hallway
The Dining Room
The Family Living Room
The Kitchen from the breakfast table
The Kitchen
The Breakfasting Kitchen
The Breakfasting Kitchen opening onto the patio
The Welcome Hamper
The Jacobean Bedroom
The Jacobean room ensuite
The Master Bedroom
The spacious Master Bedroom and en-suite bathroom
The Master Bedroom
The Chinese Bedroom
The Chinese Room ensuite
The Victorian Bedroom
The Victorian room ensuite
The Edwardian Bedroom
The French Empire Bedroom
The Nursery
The Regency bedroom with an antique four poster 5' bed
Unwind with Icon Beauty in the Lakes, offering bespoke pamper packages.
Icon Beauty in the Lakes treatments in the Master Bedroom at Melmerby Hall
The Billiards room
The Billiards room
Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage on the right hand side
Melmerby Hall from the Archery Lawn
Our beautiful ancient beech tree in the garden
Melmerby Hall from the Archery Lawn
Melmerby Hall gardens and the Castle Folly
The walled orchard gardens at Melmerby Hall with traditional herbaceous borders
Summertime flowers in the gardens
Summertime flowers in the gardens
St John's Church Spire rising above the garden
The private woodland of Melmerby Hall carpeted with bluebells in April and May
Coming through the archway entrance to Melmerby Hall, the pub is within walking distance!
Walking distance from Melmerby Hall is the Shepherd's Inn Pub, a village shop & tea room  & bakery
One of the Pennine walks in the fells above Melmerby, one of the designated AONB's in England
An antique map of the local area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ingridwoo...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a clean house. Excellent kitchen. Wonderful spaces to relax in, billiards table, games and books. Tremendous gardens, lovely village.
We had a fabulous few days, many generations enjoying traditional time.
Lynn Hilditch catered for our evening meals. What a delicious array of dinner choices we had.
Thoroughly recommend this visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Hi
Thanks you very much for your positive review. We're so pleased you found the house to be so clean and we will pass this on to the housekeeping team. We will also pass on your compliments to Lynne Hilditch. It's great to hear that you had such a fabulous break. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonFlem
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fabulous place for a family get together. The Hall is decorated and equipped to a high standard. Each room has individual character and the Hall has plenty of different areas to socialise or enjoy some peace and quiet!
A special mention to Lynn Hilditch who catered for us. Delicious meals made with local produce. Her lasagne and goulash were delicious, but the chocolate pudding and crumble were the highlight for me.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Hi
Thanks very much for your lovely review. it's great that you appreciated the efforts we make to ensure that the decoration and equipment are of top quality and that you were able to make use of all the different areas in the Hall. We will make sure your compliments are passed on to Lynne Hilditch for her excellent catering. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annawhite...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend in a beautiful house”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Melmerby Hall is full of character. Every bedroom is comfortable and beautifully presented. The lounges are perfect for socialising as a large group. The kitchen has everything in it that you could possibly need. The gardens are gorgeous and extremely well kept. Melmerby village is also a treat, with a lovely coffee shop nearby and excellent walks in very scenic countryside. We didn't want to leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Hi, thank you so much leaving such a lovely review after your recent stay at Melmerby Hall. We are delighted you had everything you needed during your stay and enjoyed the gardens too. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and had nice scenic countryside walks! We would love to welcome you all back again, please get in touch if you a planning another trip to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavis R
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family and pet friendly superb accommodation”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Another stay on the Rowley Estates. Golden wedding celebration at Melmerby Hall for the whole family and we also booked Stag cottage next door. The interconnecting door made life easy. On the Friday night Lynn Hilditch cooked a wonderful 3 course meal for us, great to be waited on and all the clearing up done. She also brought one of her drop off menu's ready for us to pop in the oven on the Sunday night. The weather was good so the children were able to play outside and enjoyed searching for Easter eggs in the grounds. We didn't need to go out anywhere on the Sunday as the kids were happy and it was fit for us to sit outside. The snooker room kept all the enthusiasts occupied.
We ate dinner in the dining room on the Friday but the next nights we used the breakfast room, It is so light and airy with lots of room round the table for the children in high chairs. Wonderful having 2 dishwashers in the Hall plus one in the cottage.
Jilly & the team made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Just working out what excuse we can have for another weekend, only place we haven't been in is Blencow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Hi
Thank you so much for leaving such a generous review for us. It is great to hear that you had such a good time, I love the idea of the Easter Egg hunt and it's lovely that you were able to make full use of our grounds and the snooker table! We will pass on your complimentary review to Lynn Hilditch too. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddie H
1 review
“30th Birthday Heaven”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I booked Melmerby for a 30th Birthday celebration to remember. The house swallowed all 18 guests easily, leaving room to breathe and ample space to come together for dinner, drinks and games in the garden.
Everyone loved their rooms, each with their own individual character, as well as their own bathrooms (in most cases en suite.)
Every detail has been thought of - there were enough towels, champagne flutes and cafetieres to cater for an army. The double dishwashers are a welcome touch, as were the pre-laid fires in the library and drawing room. The snooker table at the top of the house has billiard and pool balls, and was very much enjoyed.
I had my birthday dinner catered for by Lynn Hilditch, who is recommended on the Hall website. Lynn was absolutely exceptional - providing an astounding six course 1930s themed dinner, simultaneously allowing for vegetarian and vegan guests. The best beef wellington I will ever taste, as well as home-grown veg and regional produce every step of the way. We were awestruck, and very grateful!
Melmerby will be forever special for me, my friends and family - we're already plotting an excuse to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Hi, thank you for your very detailed and wonderful feedback following your stay at Melmerby Hall for your 30th birthday - many happy returns! We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay and that your 1930's themed dinner was exceptional we will be delighted to pass on your comments to Lynn. Thank you for choosing Melmerby Hall to celebrate your special day with family and friends, we would love to welcome you all back again! Best wishes Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tannerjen...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Melmerby Hall is just stunning for an unforgettable break”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Having just got back home after an amazing long weekend away, we can honestly say this is the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. Melmerby Hall is just stunning and all our 14 guests loved it.
You never expect a place to quite live up to its' photos but Melmerby really is so much more beautiful in real life.
As a weekend away for 14 friends who have known each other for an average of at least 20 years, this was the perfect place to wind back the clock as if the intervening years have never happened.
Lynn Hilditch provided excellent catering for our murder mystery evening on the Saturday night. With a drawing room, a library and a billiards room, it really would have been rude not to have a murder to investigate!
Little touches of fresh daffodils in each room and the welcome hamper made us feel so at home.
Some very happy memories have been made this weekend and we really appreciate all the help from Christine and Jilly to make it such an unforgettable break.
Roll on next year!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. Your murder mystery idea sounds like fabulous fun and what a great way to entertain a group of old friends! It's great to hear that you appreciated the flowers and hamper so much, we really enjoy hearing that our guests have felt so comfortable and at home. I hope we are able to welcome you back to Cumbria and The Lake District at some future date. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolemb1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to celebrate with family & friends”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

17 of us stayed at Melmerby Hall to celebrate my 50th birthday 3-6 Feb 2017. What a fantastic house. When booking online you worry that the photo's aren't accurate, but I can honestly say everything was spot on. The welcome basket on arrival more than kept us going until the Tesco delivery arrived and I've never seen such a well equipped kitchen. I've certainly never seen so many frying pans in one drawer. We never ran out of crockery, or more importantly glasses. With 2 dishwashers to go at, it was easy to keep on top of things.
I can highly recommend the following:
Lynn Hilditch Catering. She prepared a fantastic birthday meal on the Saturday. The lamb shank fell off the bone, but the highlight for everyone was the sticky toffee pudding. We're all still raving about it.
If you want some flowers for the house, then look no further than Vine & Roses. Jane did a beautiful dining table decoration & they were already in place when we arrived on the Friday.
The Sandgate Friery in Penrith for a chippy take-away. Their lightly battered fish was superb.
This is a great venue to share that special occasion with family & friends, I'm just trying to come up with reasons to go again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Hi,
Belated birthday wishes and congratulations for your special birthday !!
It is so nice to hear about your weekend break in such detail and your recommendations all of the local business's who provided such a great service to you during your stay and helped to make your birthday celebrations extra special.
We really appreciate the feedback and will pass this back to Jilly and the housekeeping team who work so hard to make everything perfect for our guests.
We would love to be able to welcome you back again and please feel free to get in touch next time you are planning a visit to Cumbria and The Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing