We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay in the Lake District”

Review of Riverain

The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall
Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
Riverain has a private gated garden and private parking surrounded by a sandstone ha-ha wall
The welcoming Carriage reception room is equipped with broadband wifi, leather sofas and a log fire
The Kitchen has a Bosch gas hob, electric oven and Dishwasher
The breakfasting kitchen at Riverain
A view from the Breakfasting Kitchen into the living room through the original sandstone archway.
The Living Room with a cast iron log-burner - complimentary logs and kindling provided for the fire.
A view from the breakfasting kitchen towards he main reception room.
A view from the Carriage Reception room at Riverain towards the kitchen and Derwent Room hallway
The ensuite ground floor Derwent Room with beds that can be arranged as a 6 foot double or two twins
The ensuite shower room of the ground floor Derwent Room
The first floor Haweswater Room which is ensuite with a shower room
The Haweswater ensuite shower room with limestone tiling chrome heated towel rail.
The first floor Ullswater Room which us ensuite with a bathroom
The original sandstone walls have been preserved in use where possible.
Fresh flowers are placed in guest bedrooms during the season.
A view of Blencowe Hall, showing Riverain in the background.
Riverain is set within the grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
A view of Riverain's garden in the early springtime
An aerial view of Riverain and Blencowe Hall displaying Riverain's amazing location.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave B
London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in the Lake District”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I just returned from a few days at Riverain. There were two couples - the house can fit 6 people so we had plenty of room. The cottage is very recently restored to a high standard - doors feel solid, fittings are good quality, and you get a great deal of privacy both within the cottage and outside - there are two other cottages and the "big house", but it felt like we had the whole estate to ourselves. Very well-stocked kitchen - we did a big Sainsbury's shop and were running late - we arrived to find that someone kind had taken in the groceries for us and even put the perishables in the fridge. Fast internet, comfy sofas, a great washing machine which was quite useful. We were blessed with beautiful weather and having Riverain's lovely terrace to return to after a hard day on the fells was wonderful. Overall a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and comfort of the house
Liked least: Location slightly farther away from some of the places we wanted to go
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Hi, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Riverain and made use of all it's facilities. Riverain is in a truly beautiful location and you had the weather to enjoy walking and the surrounding countryside. We are always happy to help our guests as much as we can and were very happy to stock your fridge. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to The Rowley Estates again. Kind regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hi0161
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Amazing spot”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 6 with a young baby spent 3 days at Riverain in February. The weather was amazing so we made the most of the great location for some great walks in the fells. Great location for getting into the north part of the lakes and easy access from the M6.

In some ways we felt disappointed the weather was so nice, because Riverain was such a lovely and comfortable place we could have gladly spent all day around the fire in the amazing double height living area.

We all said we would have no hesitation in returning. Set in lovely grounds, with great views of the Hall opposite it all felt of good quality and well worth the money.

We said we would like to return in the summer to make use of the outside area but all agreed the only thing to stop is returning to Riverain would be getting enough friends for us to take the Hall opposite instead!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Riverain. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and had some nice weather for walking (even in February !). We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, maybe in summer next time. Or even to welcome you back to stay at Blencowe Hall ?!
Best wishes.
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Hi Thank you for taking to leave a time after your visit to Riverain. We appreciate the feedback and agree that having a great supply of logs and an open wood burning fire at Riverain is a real treat after a day out on the fells! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon_Pa...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place we have stayed at Lake District!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my husband have been to Lake District for a few times for holiday. We have stayed at other four-star hotels but other than the location, there is nothing more to say. The stay at this family-run hotel was truly special and far beyond our expectation: The ancient-looking exterior was well-reserved and maintained, whilst the interior design was modern, pretty and environmental-friendly. We cannot give a higher score on their attention to details! Oh and the fireplace! We had an unforgettable family night with the crackling wood burning fireplace, talking about our childhood stories and dreams. We spent four days there, driving around in the local area. We found Riverain provides easy access to many lovely places in Lake District. If we come back to Lake District again, we will look no further than Riverain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy6197
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy comfort with huge warm log fire. Great attention to detail”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Spotlessly clean. Fabulously comfortable beds. Big fluffy white towels, what more could we ask for .... Oh yes views to the big horizon. Yes, that also. You must have dinner at the local pub the boot and shoe. Fab.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing