We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lake District and Blencow”

Review of Riverain

The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall
Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
Riverain has a private gated garden and private parking surrounded by a sandstone ha-ha wall
The welcoming Carriage reception room is equipped with broadband wifi, leather sofas and a log fire
The Kitchen has a Bosch gas hob, electric oven and Dishwasher
The breakfasting kitchen at Riverain
A view from the Breakfasting Kitchen into the living room through the original sandstone archway.
The Living Room with a cast iron log-burner - complimentary logs and kindling provided for the fire.
A view from the breakfasting kitchen towards he main reception room.
A view from the Carriage Reception room at Riverain towards the kitchen and Derwent Room hallway
The ensuite ground floor Derwent Room with beds that can be arranged as a 6 foot double or two twins
The ensuite shower room of the ground floor Derwent Room
The first floor Haweswater Room which is ensuite with a shower room
The Haweswater ensuite shower room with limestone tiling chrome heated towel rail.
The first floor Ullswater Room which us ensuite with a bathroom
The original sandstone walls have been preserved in use where possible.
Fresh flowers are placed in guest bedrooms during the season.
A view of Blencowe Hall, showing Riverain in the background.
Riverain is set within the grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
A view of Riverain's garden in the early springtime
An aerial view of Riverain and Blencowe Hall displaying Riverain's amazing location.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony C
1 review
“Lake District and Blencow”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A family trip to the Lakes with 2 teenagers and our Flatcoat Retriever. Rowley estate was recommended to me by my sister who visited 2 years previously. Riverain is part of what appears to be a barn conversion adjacent to Blencow Hall.
The area consists of rowling countryside just outside the National Park (wish I'd taken my bike)
The grounds of the properties are beautifully maintained and Riverain had a great private garden for the dog. The property is well presented with a modern kitchen with all the implements you need. The furniture is traditional and comfortable with a good TV and the all important wifi. Guest information is in abundance on local information etc. There was a good utility with room to dry wet jackets etc. The house was always nice and warm when returning from a wet day walking.
There are 3 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, each was nicely furnished but my only complaint was of the mattresses. With a family of back sufferers we all found them unsupportive leading to restless nights. The pillows, all a bit too soft for us and the feather down duvets quite warm and rustled when moved. I guess some people might like this but it would stop me returning which is s shame as everything else was great. Perhaps a choice of pillows and some new mattresses would get me back.
Locally there are some good pubs for food and 10 minutes to the A66 gives good access to all the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi thank you for your review and it is great to hear that you all enjoyed your visit and that your retriever had a great play in the private garden at Riverain. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding the cottage and its equipment and will check into your comments regarding the mattresses. We use Vispring mattresses, feather pillows and feather duvets with 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linen and are always happy to change to polycotton pillows and bedding for our guests who prefer a different type of bedding or who may have feather allergies. We do this regularly and there is no additional charge for this service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for a visit if your travels bring you to the Lake District and Cumbria again in the future! Thank you again for choosing to come to Riverain Cottage. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egen91
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect wedding party weekend stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I stayed here and one of the other cottages for my wedding weekend being held at the very close St Andrews Church and Greystoke Castle. The estate is set in absolutely beautiful countryside with a view to match. Christine and her team were amazing with the organisation running up to the wedding, making sure all the rooms were set up for each guest and the cottage was spotless with a lovely welcome hamper.
Ideal for a family get away, well located for a trip to the lakes and Greystoke village with the really friendly community and great food at the local pub, The Boot and Shoe.

We could not have asked for a better location to relax in for the perfect wedding weekend. Highly recommend.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding weekend staying at Blencowe Hall, Riverain and Wythburn Cottage. May we extend our congratulations to you both. Thank you also for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and are very useful for future guests. It sounds like you all had a super time getting out and about in the local area and sampling the delights of our local pub. We would be thrilled to welcome you all back to The Rowley Estates please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
460vickiw
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning location ”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Returned for yet another year. Fabulous location, brilliant views, clean, comfy and very well equipped. Would highly recommend to anybody.
Only thing that lets it down for us is the garden isn't fully secure for a dog.
We look forward to visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Hi, we were delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you all for a return visit and appreciate you choosing to come to Riverain for your holiday. Our garden at Riverain is surrounded by a 4 foot "haha" which is a sort of old fashioned walled moat. We find that most dogs will not jump down this height but totally understand that there are adventurous dogs out there :) Wythburn Cottage, which is also within the grounds of Blencowe Hall, has a traditionally wicket fenced and sandstone walled garden and might suit you all for your next visit. Thank you again for choosing to come to Riverain for your holiday this spring! Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen S
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect peace and dog friendly luxury”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in Riverain cottage with other members of our family party in the other 2 properties. The cottages felt very special, were extremely well equipped and everything seemed to have been thought of, right down to the provision of a dog towel and poo bags as we were bringing a dog. Great to have such lovely properties where you could bring a dog and at no extra cost.
The location is very quiet but not isolated with Ullswater and Keswick just a short drive away. The Rheged Centre is only a few miles away and is definitely worth a visit for shops, exhibitions and a cinema.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Hi, thank you for you lovely review following on from your visit to Riverain. We are pleased you had everything you needed during your stay for yourself and dog. It is wonderful you got out and about in the local area and enjoyed a visit to Rheged. Please get in touch the next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District we would be thrilled to welcome you back! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrine28
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful cottage perfectly located to join in the party at Blencowe Hall nearby.”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Six of my friends stayed here to join in the celebrations for my 40th birthday party at Blencowe Hall just across the courtyard. As with the main Hall every need was catered for at the cottage and my friends had a lovely relaxing and comfortable stay here. I would happily come back here and stay as a smaller party in any one of the cottages at Blencowe Hall. The cottages are done out to the same high standard as Blencowe Hall and are really useful to accommodate overspill from the main Hall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your friends enjoyed their stay at Riverain for your 40th Birthday celebrations. Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and are useful for future guests looking to stay in the cottages. We would be thrilled to welcome you back for a future visit. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgg5072
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome Christmas”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in Riverain for the the week over Christmas and had a great time.
Jilly and Mel really looked after us when we initially got there.
We stayed in Glassinby Old Hall last year so we are used to the high standards of the accommodation.
We found there was more to do this side of the M6.
There's an endless supply of firewood and the buildings are done to a very high standard.
We're booked in Blencowe Hall with all our friends soon so can't wait to return.
The people of Greystoke were also very welcoming and they Boot and Shoe is a great pub with great food.
We didn't feel like outsiders at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Hi, Happy New Year to you all and thank you for taking your time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Riverain and it's great you got out and about in the local area and enjoyed the welcome and delights of The Boot & Shoe pub. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again to The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
1 review
“Look no further - this is THE place to stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We live in NZ and were planning a trip to the UK to visit friends and family in Nov-2016. We have always wanted to visit the Lake District and saw this trip as an ideal opportunity to escape to the country. We had a limited time window as to when we could be in this region due to other commitments. And after being seriously frustrated by other sites who were stipulating check-in/check-out dates that suited them, I came across this accommodation offered by the Rowley Estate.

What a difference in their approach!!! Right from the get-go Christine and Jilly couldn't have been more accommodating as they responded quickly to my inquiry and were warm, friendly and professional throughout our stay. They really wanted to make sure we enjoyed our time at the Riverain Cottage.

The photos and description of the Riverain Cottage suggest that it is a cut above the rest - and WOW, we were not disappointed - you won't be either.

And as for the welcome basket - that was really thoughtful - particularly after a chilly, wet drive down from Edinburgh.

I do not hesitate recommending this accommodation to you. Would I want to stay again? - in a heartbeat. I have no doubt that we will be back to stay one day as there is so much to see and do in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive and detailed review of your stay at Riverain last month. It was great to welcome you all as part of your UK holiday and we will pass your kind comments back to Jilly and her team.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our cottages next time you are planning a return trip to the UK.
Wishing you all a very happy Christmas and good health and happiness for 2017.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing