We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue for family and friends”

Review of Blencowe Hall

Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
The yew lined sandstone walled formal gardens at Blencowe Hall planted with shrub roses
The patio area leading to the gardens, yew hedges, climbing roses, sandstone, terraces
The formal Central Gardens at Blencowe Hall - yew hedges, climbing roses, sandstone terraces
Blencowe Hall's South Tower showing the formal stone lined rill in the foreground of the gardens
The South Tower Dining Room opens out to the sandstone terraces via the original rent in the wall
Lady Jane Grey's sister married Henry de Blencowe and Lady Jane's motto is inscribed above the door
The South Tower Dining Room with French doors opening onto the sandstone terrace and the gardens
The Dining Room at Blencowe Hall, seating for guests
A view from the patio in to The South Tower formal Dining Room
The breakfasting kitchen with Aga, two dishwashers, two fridges, washing machine and tumble dryer
A view of the 4 oven Aga, next to this is a stainless gas hob and a full size electric oven
Blencowe Hall's breakfasting kitchen also has two Bosch dishwashers, two sinks and a Bosch WM & TD
The Kitchen has two handmade solid oak tables and a children's play area built up into the inglenook
A full size billiards table and equipment is provided for guest use
The Billiards Room looking towards the four foot thick masonry walls leading to the North Tower
The Billiards Room on the ground floor of Blencowe Hall with an antique table
The first floor Solar Reception room occupies the entire North Tower
The Solar reception room was the original retiring room for the ladies of Blencowe Hall
The Solar Room has two massive stone fireplaces inset with two cast iron fires, one gas and one wood
The first floor Solar Room has two cast iron fires and is one of 4 rooms licenced for civil weddings
The first floor Solar Room licenced for civil weddings
The Solar Room at Blencowe Hall decorated for the holidays. Tree provided for guests from our farm
The massive South Tower Master bedroom ensuite with a private Dressing Room, balcony and bathroom
The window in the South Tower Master Bedroom dressing room overlooking the orchard field
Another view of the South Master Bedroom suite which occupies the Tower's entire top floor
Cromwell's Folly and the South Tower Master Bedroom both have private Juliette balconies
Every window in Grade I listed Blencowe Hall has been preserved and protected in the shape found
A quiet place for a read and relax in the bedrooms of Blencowe Hall
A king size bed in the West Range Cumberland Room which is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The West Range Master with an antique six foot super king bed
A view of the glass divided raised ensuite bathroom and ensuite in the West Range Master Bedroom
The Greystoke Room in the West Range with antique 3 foot beds is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The North Tower Master Bedroom with an antique five foot four poster bed and ensuite bath & shower
The Lady Jane Grey Room at the top of the North Tower, ensuite with beds that can be singles or 6ft
The ground floor Garden Bedroom with a double bed & private access to the North Tower walled garden
The walk in ensuite wet room of the ground floor Garden Room with a shower and glass screen
The Petteril Room (6ft) overlooks the formal Central Range gardens and has a massive stone fireplace
The Norfolk Room with beds that can be arranged as a king size bed or two single beds
The ensuite Henry de Blencowe Bedroom
The Henry de Blencowe Bedroom ensuite bathroom
Blencowe Hall in the summer sunshine
A view of Blencowe Hall in the morning sunlight
A side view of Blencowe Hall showing the arched entrance to the cobbled central courtyard
Blencowe Hall lit at night. The coloured lights can be lit or not depending on guest preference
An aerial view of Blencowe Hall and its surrounding gardens
Blencowe Hall is a 5* Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall at dusk
Blencowe Hall in the wintertime
Christmas wreath on the door at Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Blencowe Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony P
Willenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent venue for family and friends”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful weekend stay recently (our second) for my 65th birthday celebration and really enjoyed it. On the Saturday evening we had entertainment and a lovely buffet meal provided by Lynn Hilditch catering recommended by Jilly. Christine couldn't have been more helpful with requests for cots and high chairs and permission to leave our caravan on the car park to continue our holiday after Blencowe. An excellent venue in a fantastic location.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed another wonderful weekend at Blencowe Hall celebrating your 65th Birthday. Your comments are much appreciated by us and our team and I will also pass them onto Lynn. We are always happy to help with our guests requests were possible and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We will be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates again in the future either at Blencowe Hall or any of our other cottages. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip or family get together. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & JIlly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynis W
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a magical place”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was my 2nd stay at this truly amazing place. Two years ago I hire Blencowe Hall to celebrate my 60th birthday with family and friends, we had a wonderful time on both occasions. Everywhere was beautifully furnished with antique furniture in keeping with the "castle" but with all the modern facilities done to a very high standard. The kitchens had everything you could ever need, the sitting areas cosy and warm, ideal for anyone wanting a quiet moments, the library great for an evenings entertainment, the dining room idea for celebrating, and they had even thought of the children with a box of toys, not that they were needed with all the nooks and crannies to explore. My grandchildren now call it Grandmas castle and we are all looking forward to my 65th birthday when I will have a good excuse to return. If you have the opportunity to stay you would have an unforgettable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Hi thank you very much indeed for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay at Blencowe Hall, It's great to hear that Grandma's castle is as fun for the youngest members of your party as for the grown ups!! We would be delighted to welcome you back for your 65th birthday :) Thank you again for choosing to celebrate your birthday weekend at Blencowe Hall. Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliangb2...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best self-catering accommodation in Northern England ?”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thirty two members of my family representing three generations gathered at Blencowe Hall to celebrate my birthday. We also rented the adjacent properties of Cazenovia and Riverain because of the size of the party. Eveyone was enchanted with the properties and the quality of the accommodation.
I cannot recommend this see properties too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb location just a few minutes from the Lake District National Park
Liked least: Liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Hi, It's great to hear that you and your family had a super reunion and holiday at Blencowe Hall. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With all our best wishes for your birthday again! Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cumberland Room - Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having read the reviews my wife and I eagerly anticipated our stay at the Hall for my relative's birthday weekend.
When we arrived we were allocated the Cumberland Room.
We found the room dark and dingy.
The four poster bed was located directly below the light fitting which meant the light was blocked out by the canopy on the bed.
The bedroom furniture was old and shabby - the wardrobe door didn't shut properly without it being forced.
The chest of drawers had a number of drawers that were stuck shut and the silvering was missing from the mirror in a number of places.
The windows creaked and were difficult to open.
The wallpaper was peeling off the walls of one of the window openings.
There was no TV in the room.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Blencowe Hall and for providing this feedback regarding the Cumberland Room. In keeping with its status as a Grade I listed building dating back to the 1400s, the Hall is furnished with antique furniture throughout and this is subject to the usual foibles of furniture of this age. We are sorry to hear that your experience in The Cumberland Room was disappointing and we will ask our maintenance team to check and repair the specific items you have highlighted. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolutely first class large manor House in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a birthday celebration for a large family group and had the most amazing time. The age range was from 2 years---75 years. Blencowe Hall is absolutely perfect there was room for everyone to be together to sit or to eat. Also rooms to get away from each other !
It has been renovated to a very high standard. All the bedrooms are extremely tastefully decorated and comfortable. The children had a wonderful time playing in the grounds.
An activity centre nearby kept us all occupied one afternoon and another in the nearby town of Keswick. I cannot recommend it highly enough for any event.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your time at Blencowe Hall and thank you also for your kind comments they are always appreciated and we agree it is a perfect place for all ages to come together. It's great that you were able to get out and about in nearby Keswick and enjoy the activities at the centre. We would be thrilled to welcome you all again please get in touch next time you are planning a get together. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRR529
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family celebrations & Blencowe Hall was truly SPECTACULAR !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just had a family get together with age group ranging from 18months to 90 years old. We celebrated a 50th, 90th 60th 21st 30th Birthday and a 25th wedding anniversary and Blencowe was definitely the place to do it.. It was the most beautiful property and equipped with everything you could possibly need. We did all our own catering for 24 people all week and with 2 fridges/freezers and dishwashers it was really easy. We had a Salsa evening run by Richard Dunn which was amazing and so much fun and there was lots of space. Everyone in our party said the bedrooms were just out of this world and we have all had the most wonderful time.. Blencowe has given us lots of fabulous memories so thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful builging
Liked least: There wasn't anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review of your recent family celebration break at Blencowe Hall. It's great to hear that your family group of all ages were able to get together at the Hall to celebrate ! We are so pleased that your stay has given you all lots of fabulous memories.
We hope to be able to welcome you all back again soon should your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunybee
North West England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I really, really want to write a poor review simply to put people off from booking so I can go and stay every weekend, perhaps move in and live a lovely life. That just wouldn't be fair. 24 of us and 2 dogs stayed for my birthday weekend in March. I can't praise everyone involved highly enough from the poodle brained questions I was asking before we arrived (do I need to bring loo rolls etc!) to the cleanliness of the house, to the lovely welcome pack (I snaffled the toffees). This is an amazing venue. The house is warm and welcoming with lots of nooks and crannies, perfect for kids to explore and play hide and seek. We had clay pigeon shooting (recommended) and dinner catered by Purple Sage Catering (highly recommended - huge portions). I am very picky and there is only one slight issue I would advise about. Our group are loud, noisy and enjoy a glass - or six - of alcohol. If you are in the ground floor rooms the noise from the sitting room upstairs does travel. I like hearing people having a great time but babies might have a problem. I accept this is totally self inflicted and add as advice not as a criticism. I can't wait to return and we are already making plans for next year. Huge thanks to Christine, Jilly and the rest of the team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Hi thank you very much indeed for taking the time to provide a review following your stay at Blencowe Hall. I felt a bit nervous when I read your first sentence then laughed out loud when I reached the second! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blencowe Hall and that you have a fun visit with catering and clay pigeon shooting. I will pass your compliments along to Jan and Martin at Purple Sage and I am sure that they, like us, really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review following your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District! thank you again for choosing to come to Blencowe Hall for your weekend away. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing