We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fabulous place - a renovated castle that...”

Review of Blencowe Hall

Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
The yew lined sandstone walled formal gardens at Blencowe Hall planted with shrub roses
The patio area leading to the gardens, yew hedges, climbing roses, sandstone, terraces
The formal Central Gardens at Blencowe Hall - yew hedges, climbing roses, sandstone terraces
Blencowe Hall's South Tower showing the formal stone lined rill in the foreground of the gardens
The South Tower Dining Room opens out to the sandstone terraces via the original rent in the wall
Lady Jane Grey's sister married Henry de Blencowe and Lady Jane's motto is inscribed above the door
The South Tower Dining Room with French doors opening onto the sandstone terrace and the gardens
The Dining Room at Blencowe Hall, seating for guests
A view from the patio in to The South Tower formal Dining Room
The breakfasting kitchen with Aga, two dishwashers, two fridges, washing machine and tumble dryer
A view of the 4 oven Aga, next to this is a stainless gas hob and a full size electric oven
Blencowe Hall's breakfasting kitchen also has two Bosch dishwashers, two sinks and a Bosch WM & TD
The Kitchen has two handmade solid oak tables and a children's play area built up into the inglenook
A full size billiards table and equipment is provided for guest use
The Billiards Room looking towards the four foot thick masonry walls leading to the North Tower
The Billiards Room on the ground floor of Blencowe Hall with an antique table
The first floor Solar Reception room occupies the entire North Tower
The Solar reception room was the original retiring room for the ladies of Blencowe Hall
The Solar Room has two massive stone fireplaces inset with two cast iron fires, one gas and one wood
The first floor Solar Room has two cast iron fires and is one of 4 rooms licenced for civil weddings
The first floor Solar Room licenced for civil weddings
The Solar Room at Blencowe Hall decorated for the holidays. Tree provided for guests from our farm
The massive South Tower Master bedroom ensuite with a private Dressing Room, balcony and bathroom
The window in the South Tower Master Bedroom dressing room overlooking the orchard field
Another view of the South Master Bedroom suite which occupies the Tower's entire top floor
Cromwell's Folly and the South Tower Master Bedroom both have private Juliette balconies
Every window in Grade I listed Blencowe Hall has been preserved and protected in the shape found
A quiet place for a read and relax in the bedrooms of Blencowe Hall
A king size bed in the West Range Cumberland Room which is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The West Range Master with an antique six foot super king bed
A view of the glass divided raised ensuite bathroom and ensuite in the West Range Master Bedroom
The Greystoke Room in the West Range with antique 3 foot beds is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The North Tower Master Bedroom with an antique five foot four poster bed and ensuite bath & shower
The Lady Jane Grey Room at the top of the North Tower, ensuite with beds that can be singles or 6ft
The ground floor Garden Bedroom with a double bed & private access to the North Tower walled garden
The walk in ensuite wet room of the ground floor Garden Room with a shower and glass screen
The Petteril Room (6ft) overlooks the formal Central Range gardens and has a massive stone fireplace
The Norfolk Room with beds that can be arranged as a king size bed or two single beds
The ensuite Henry de Blencowe Bedroom
The Henry de Blencowe Bedroom ensuite bathroom
Blencowe Hall in the summer sunshine
A view of Blencowe Hall in the morning sunlight
A side view of Blencowe Hall showing the arched entrance to the cobbled central courtyard
Blencowe Hall lit at night. The coloured lights can be lit or not depending on guest preference
An aerial view of Blencowe Hall and its surrounding gardens
Blencowe Hall is a 5* Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall at dusk
Blencowe Hall in the wintertime
Christmas wreath on the door at Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Blencowe Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lovelybec...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place - a renovated castle that feels like a five star hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here in a large family group of 24 and I can honestly say that there wasn't one moment when we felt cramped or claustrophobic.

The finish at Blencowe Hall is to 5star hotel standard - Molten Brown in the bathrooms, nearly all bedrooms en-suite with the most amazing views from every window. We felt that we had the run of a luxury hotel.

The owners catered for our every need and the small touches - the hamper, all necessities and the attention to details in the property we all so appreciated.

This property had something for every age - we had guests from 2-80 years old and we are still buzzing from having spent time in such a magical property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
''Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your stay at Blencowe Hall. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness and the views that the hall has to offer and appreciated the welcome hamper and the attention to detail that we aim to provide. We are so pleased that all members and ages in your family were catered for and we would love to welcome you back if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake district in the future. best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steinbeck...
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect venue for a small family wedding”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Blencowe Hall, an old restored manor house was the perfect venue for our small family wedding. The 11 bedrooms (most with lovely en-suites) were very comfortable and furnished well. The comfortable communal areas afforded a lot of space and the well appointed kitchen made catering for 22 easy! The staff were friendly and helpful but never intrusive, dealing with our few minor issues promptly and efficiently. Because we had perfect weather, we made good use of the outside space. Lots of room to sit and chat and for the children to play and run about safely. Shops etc are closeby in Penrith but the location means you feel well away from civilisation and the views and countryside are stunning.
This is a special place, perfect for celebrating a special event! Excellent in all respects.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
''Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Blencowe Hall. We appreciate your compliments and are delighted that you found the Hall comfortable ans special and enjoyed the outside space and beautiful views of the countryside. We would love to welcome you back to stay if your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.''
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazz s
n.e. scotland
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Wedding Dream Achieved.”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband and I (heehee) had a small wedding with approximately 16 guests here at the end of April. We actually had Blencowe Hall booked since 2014 as we fell in love with it from a photograph.

All communication from the owners, managers and latterly the wedding planner was prompt and they could not do enough to help. Even providing equipment for my granny to use (raised toilet seat and grab rails) which was very much above and beyond.

We arrived early on the Friday and they very nicely allowed us to get in early which allowed me to set up the rooms and get prepared for everyone else arriving.

The rooms were all flawless. Absolutely spotless and all beautiful. I loved the addition of daffodils to the rooms. Unknown to them but my favourite flower. We also had a wonderful hamper which was full of delicious and local treats.

We had booked Lynn Hilditch to do our catering and she was phenomenal. We discussed our menu and she made it beautifully. We told Lynn that my family were big eaters and the amount of food was more than we could manage in one sitting. Lynn even made extra puddings as some wanted both options.

Anyway, back to the hall. We had a minor hiccup on the Saturday night when my nephew was sick in his bedroom (only 7 years old). We apologised and they were again, wonderful. Asked if he was okay and told us not to worry about the room.

The only downside we had the whole weekend was that the exterior lights weren't working to begin with and one of the radiators was leaking. However, the staff were amazing. Sent a plumber straight out to fix the radiator and came round themselves later to sort out the lights.

Fantastic venue. Amazing meal. It really was our dream wedding. Thank you to all at Blencowe Hall/Rowley Estates for making our wedding weekend a wonderful, beautiful one and for giving us great memories of one of the biggest days of our lives. :)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Hi, thank you for leaving such a great review of your stay at Blencowe Hall and we are delighted that we could help you to achieve your dream wedding. We are really pleased that we could help with your special requests and that you so enjoyed the wedding meal and the accommodation at Blencowe Hall. Thank you for all your great comments and we would love you to come and stay again if your travels bring you back to Cumbria. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nstanley1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and exceptional building”
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Had a70 birthday party and this exceptional building was a wow with everybody. It was also pristinely clean with pleasant touches such as daffodils in the reception rooms to bring Spring into the building. As it was such a large venue even with a crowd of us we had a spacious and grand time. The pub in Greystoke was a short, interesting walk from the venue.
We also had a formal dinner prepared by the recommended Lynn Hilditch which was a great way to round off the week of celebrations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
Hi
Thanks for your great review. We are so pleased to hear that your 70th birthday celebrations were such a success and that you all enjoyed Blencowe Hall. The pub in Greystoke is super and it's very handy to be able to walk home! Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz T
1 review
“Amazing family break”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Well what can I say other than FANTASTIC!!! Being from a large family, getting all 27 of us together in one place is quite a challenge but Blencowe Hall hit the bill in so many ways - Blencowe is a magnificent building allowing plenty of space for the children to roam and play in a very safe environment (15 children aged from 18months to 16years) and for those adults who required peace and quiet, space to indulge in this also (Grandad). The children spent 3 days playing hide and seek/sardines and we never heard the word BORED once!!! The surrounding area is beautiful with plenty of walks and attractions - Aira Force is stunning, and I would highly recommend the Boot and Shoe Public house - they are extremely accommodating with children and dogs alike. I cannot thank Christine and Jilly enough for there help and advise prior to our stay, the Hall was beautifully prepared prior to our stay and the welcome hamper was a wonderful surprise. To this end we were all so impressed with our stay we have decided to book again in 2020 for our parents 50th wedding anniversary and cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Hi
Thanks for your lovely, friendly review. Your stay sounds as if it was huge fun, hide and seek is a family favourite of ours too! It's great to hear that the Boot and Shoe were so accommodating of you all , we do find them to be very helpful and a trip to Aira Force is always a treat. We're delighted to hear that you would like to make a return trip to Blencowe Hall for your parents 50th wedding anniversary and look forward to welcoming you back then. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECM2014
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning country house for large groups”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Blencowe Hall with 9 other couples. It is a beautiful house mixing fantastic old features with modern amenities. It is well equipped and the 12 bedrooms are all lovely. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Hi
Thanks for your kind review. It's great to hear that your party had such a super weekend and that you all enjoyed Blencowe Hall so much. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Cumbria and The Lake District if your travels bring you this way again. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect Location for our Wedding”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were fortunate enough to have our wedding at Blencowe Hall for a small, intimate ceremony over the course of a long weekend. The building is absolutely stunning, mixing modern amenities with the grandeur of a centuries old building, and the location is perfect on the doorstep of the lakes, you can see the rolling countryside for miles with snow capped mountains in the distance. Gillian was exceptionally helpful in organising our day and planning our ceremony, nothing was too much trouble for her.

The catering for the wedding was fulfilled by Lynn Hilditch and was absolutely exceptional, the dining room would go completely quiet with each course served. The whole wedding party was in agreement that it was some of the best food they had ever eaten, especially the pork which had been cooking since 4 am! I couldn't recommend Lynn highly enough, she really helped make the weekend and was very personable to match.

If you want a small intimate wedding which will really be a treat for everyone involved then Blencowe Hall is the perfect building, in the perfect location with the perfect service.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Hi
Thanks for your lovely review. Your wedding celebrations sound absolutely great and we're so pleased we were able to help you with such a special occasion. We will pass your kind comments onto Gillian and Lynn, they will both be delighted that you were so happy with everything. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing