We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a large family or group holiday”

Review of Hause Hall Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cottageda...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family or group holiday”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a long weekend here for a joint 30th birthday and booked the barn next door too.

It meant there was plenty of room for people to go off and do their own thing if they wanted.

The welcome hamper was a lovely surprise and the kitchen had almost everything we would need to get by. We had our groceries delivered by Asda which made our lives a lot simpler.

The open fire went down a treat with all of us and the spacious lounges meant we could all come together on an evening for board games.

The bedrooms are all well appointed and majority en-suite which was perfect.

A few improvement/suggestions:

I fixed the bath plug in Bannerdale whilst I was there but there's a loose tap and the shower handle also needs tightening.

Outdoor seating on the patio and a patio heater would have meant we could make the most of the incredible view. Even a BBQ would have gone down well as long as we wrapped up warm!

The handle to the left hand door of the patio was also loose and came off in my hand.

We think the welcome hamper would benefit from some cooking oil (it was the one thing we forgot!).

The beds on wheels....Without warning, I was sent flying when my husband came up to bed after me. In the dark he bumped into the mattress and the whole bed flew across the room. It moved during the night too. Is there any way of getting locking castors??

I have asthma and although I appreciate it must be difficult to do, there was thick dust on the beautiful beams in our bedroom.

On a similar note, we had a guest who is allergic to feathers and this wasn't mentioned anywhere in the advert for the house but all the sofa cushions are filled with them.

However for all my comments, it really is a beautiful place and I'd love to revisit in summer and have recommended it to all my friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Hi thank you for your review following your visit to Hause Hall Farm. We appreciate the detailed feedback regarding the Hall and thanks to you highlighting these issues, we have replaced the wheeled casters on the beds with chrome sliders which do not move so easily and have bought Jilly's team a new special duster which has an extended arm to get up to the top of the beams. We will also ensure that the agency who you booked your holiday through does a better job of communicating with their guests in future as we will happily change all of our feather bedding to poly cotton upon request but this information was not provided to you. Also, we provide sustainable plantation teak garden furniture and a large charcoal Weber BBQ (with charcoal)at all of our cottages. We wash and then store these during the winter months but will happily get them out again upon request. Please feel free to refer to the FAQ section on our website for The Rowley Estates which provides more information regarding these points. Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review after your visit and we appreciate the detailed feedback which gives us opportunities to improve our service! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: total relaxation in peaceful surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay at Hause Hall - we are so pleased that you all had such a great time there for your 70th birthday !
Congratulations to you and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
With all our best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stacy S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning conversion with picture-postcard views”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a trip with extended family to Hause Hall and Cruik Barn. Everyone (aged 10-82) had a fabulous time! The property is stunning with amazing views. The little touches truly make it a 5-star experience with everything you might possibly need having been thought of already. Catering from Just Jilly was scrumptious. All in all, this place is a real treat. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay at Hause Hall and the Cruik Barn. We are so pleased that you and your family had such a great time there and hopefully we may have the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright, airy day room and outside seating area with incredible views
Liked least: WiFi didn't seem to work, although it was actually really nice to not have access to google or emails!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review for Hause Hall. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and also the glorious weather we have had this July. We hope that we may have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Best Regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Lack of disabled facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve_Sha...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from Hause Hall and having stayed at another of the Rowley Estates properties last year we were full of high expectations for this property, however, what we arrived to was just jaw dropping. This is holidaying in The Lakes on a completely different level, you don't just look at the views you are part of them as this house is slap bang in the
middle, fantastic walks, peace and quiet and wonderfully comfortable beds. As far as i am concerned you usually get what you pay for and boy you get a lot here.
Just a tip, don't bother with the Howtown Hotel as it appears that they don't really want you
there, instead book your shopping to be delivered by Sainsburys, open a bottle or put the kettle on, and sit on the patio or in the day room and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your stay at Hause Hall. Next time we would be delighted to help unpack your groceries before you arrive so you can spend even more time relaxing at your leisure :) Best regards from all of us Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetheral
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing