We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utterly fabulous lake district gem”

Review of Hause Hall Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sequoia20...
cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly fabulous lake district gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at Hause Hall (and Cruick Barn) with 13 others for my 50th Birthday. The accomodation was absolutely perfect, rustic barns expertly restored with modern amenities and real home comforts. The location was idyllic with unspoilt views, walking and mountain biking on your doorstep and a whole host of other activities. The customer service and attention to detail from the Rowley Estates team was spot on. All in all an utterly fabulous gem in a tucked away, but beautiful part of the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, ambience
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Hi thank you all for choosing to come to Hause Hall Farm for your birthday celebration last month & for your kind feedback. We hope to have the chance to welcome you for another visit sometime soon! With all our best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_B1971
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow - a pure gem in a stunning location!”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

3 of us plus Bob (a large old English sheep dog!) stayed in this wonderful house for an amazing week in March. Weather was glorious making the views from the sun room simply stunning (although we all agree we would be equally happy here on a stormy rainy day as the house is so cosy and welcoming).
We booked late (one day before arriving!) so got a good deal that meant staying in such a large house was feasible for 3 people (+ dog) but despite the house size, it really was incredibly homely, warm and snug. We spent most of our time in the wonderful sun room which was a joy (even saw a lamb being born in the field at the end of the garden from the comfort of this room!!). Bedrooms are lovely - comfortable beds and clean, roomy en-suite bathrooms. The kitchen is incredibly well equipped with a cooker and separate aga (although as Aga virgins, we failed miserably when we attempted to cook with it!). There is an enormous dining table that whilst a little large for 3, would be fantastic for a large family gathering or group of friends.
We didn't see inside the two other accommodation buildings but I have no doubt they would be as well equipped as the main house.
In terms of location, this place is second to none. The drive up to the house can be a little hairy but once you are used to it, it only adds to the sense of getting totally away from it all. There are numerous walks right from the door - we only used the car once during our week long stay which was bliss! We pretty much walked every ridge and peak we could see from the sun room and can highly recommend Lowther Barn Cafe as a watering stop (with great scones!) - only 15 mins walk from the house. The walk to Glenridding is also well worth it and whilst the ferry back to Howtown was FREEZING, it was a great way to see more of the Ullswater.
All in all, a fabulous week in the lakes and we are already planning a return trip with friends & family!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sun room
Liked least: The Aga made the living room a little hot for us but we did have unseasonably warm March weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Hi thank you very much indeed for providing this detailed review and helpful feedback regarding your stay at Hause Hall Farm. It was great that we were able to accommodate you all with one day's notice! We would be delighted to welcome you all for a return visit anytime :) Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C B
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Outstanding accommodation , extremely well equipped , spotless and in a beautiful peaceful location. What more could you want.? I stayed with friends and family and liked the fact that every couple had their own bathroom. The hamper provided was very generous. We walked up Hallin Fell from the house which took about 30 minutes and were rewarded with stunning views across Ullswater. We have also stayed at Cazenovia Hall which has the same high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceptional accommodation
Liked least: Some guests found the drive down the narrow road to the property a bit of an experience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Hi,
Thank you very much for leaving a great review of your recent stay at Hause Hall - we really appreciate your feedback. Hallin Fell is such a lovely walk - one of our favourites too !! Thank you for choosing our cottages for you break and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
293paulin...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fourteen members of our walking group arrived at Hause Hall Farm and The Cruik Barn for a five night stay. First impressions: what a stunning location, what fabulous views, what outstanding accommodation. It was a delight to walk into a property that had been so sympathetically and tastefully renovated, and from the outset it was obvious that everyone involved lavished care and attention on both places. There was everything we needed and our only disappointment was that we had such glorious weather that we didn't need to light the fire! However, we made full use of the sun terrace when arrived back in the afternoons.

We were able to start all the walks that we had arranged from the house, and by making use of the Ullswater 'Steamers' we didn't need to use our cars until it was time to leave.

Four additional members of our walking group joined us in the evenings and the farmhouse dining table seated us all comfortably Although there was everything in the kitchen that we would need to prepare and cook a meal, we opted for outside catering. Thanks to Martin, Jan and the team from Purple Sage for providing an excellent service and delicious meals.

If you are looking for accommodation for 10 - 18 people in some of the most beautiful countryside, this is the place. None of us wanted to leave!

It just remains for us to thank Christine, Charlie, Jilly and all the team for our perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambience of the property and location.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Hause Hall Farm. We are so pleased that your walking group enjoyed the fantastic walks from the door and made use of the steamers too ! We will pass your comments on to Jan and Martin and Jilly and the housekeeping team.
We hope to be able to welcome your group back again soon.
Best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are all really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at Hause Hall and found it to be very comfortable. It's good to hear that you appreciated looking out on spectacular views of the fells and not forgetting the Herdwick sheep! We would love to be able to welcome you back as our guests again in the future. Kind regards, Charlie, Christine and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was lovely and the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Hi thank you for taking the time to get in touch after your stay at Hause Hall Farm. We never even turn on the TV when we are there just preferring to watch the weather come over the fells and the ever changing scenery in the valleys. We hope to have the chance to welcome you all again sometime soon! With our best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cottageda...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family or group holiday”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a long weekend here for a joint 30th birthday and booked the barn next door too.

It meant there was plenty of room for people to go off and do their own thing if they wanted.

The welcome hamper was a lovely surprise and the kitchen had almost everything we would need to get by. We had our groceries delivered by Asda which made our lives a lot simpler.

The open fire went down a treat with all of us and the spacious lounges meant we could all come together on an evening for board games.

The bedrooms are all well appointed and majority en-suite which was perfect.

A few improvement/suggestions:

I fixed the bath plug in Bannerdale whilst I was there but there's a loose tap and the shower handle also needs tightening.

Outdoor seating on the patio and a patio heater would have meant we could make the most of the incredible view. Even a BBQ would have gone down well as long as we wrapped up warm!

The handle to the left hand door of the patio was also loose and came off in my hand.

We think the welcome hamper would benefit from some cooking oil (it was the one thing we forgot!).

The beds on wheels....Without warning, I was sent flying when my husband came up to bed after me. In the dark he bumped into the mattress and the whole bed flew across the room. It moved during the night too. Is there any way of getting locking castors??

I have asthma and although I appreciate it must be difficult to do, there was thick dust on the beautiful beams in our bedroom.

On a similar note, we had a guest who is allergic to feathers and this wasn't mentioned anywhere in the advert for the house but all the sofa cushions are filled with them.

However for all my comments, it really is a beautiful place and I'd love to revisit in summer and have recommended it to all my friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Hi thank you for your review following your visit to Hause Hall Farm. We appreciate the detailed feedback regarding the Hall and thanks to you highlighting these issues, we have replaced the wheeled casters on the beds with chrome sliders which do not move so easily and have bought Jilly's team a new special duster which has an extended arm to get up to the top of the beams. We will also ensure that the agency who you booked your holiday through does a better job of communicating with their guests in future as we will happily change all of our feather bedding to poly cotton upon request but this information was not provided to you. Also, we provide sustainable plantation teak garden furniture and a large charcoal Weber BBQ (with charcoal)at all of our cottages. We wash and then store these during the winter months but will happily get them out again upon request. Please feel free to refer to the FAQ section on our website for The Rowley Estates which provides more information regarding these points. Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review after your visit and we appreciate the detailed feedback which gives us opportunities to improve our service! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing