We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect house in the perfect location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tykesinfr...
Tours, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect house in the perfect location”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was the most amazing place to celebrate with family and friends.
The owners of this property have really thought about how it would be used and then made sure that everything is provided. Whatever we needed was provided -even the fire was ready to light!
The two kitchens were very well equipped and there was a recycling area by the back door.
My friends added hot tub hire as a birthday treat which was sited on the terrace with the wonderful views of the hillsides. The hire company,(Cumbrian Hot Tub Hire) was recommended by the Rowley estates and they had it all in place on our arrival.
We also had a meal catered by Lynne Hilditch, again recommended by the owners.This was definately one of the highlights of our stay! The food was wonderful and the service she and her assistant provided was very professional.
For the walkers, you can start at the garden gate and there are a variety of good walks, including a short walk to the Howtown hotel for a drink! We used the steamer to cross the lake, and then walked home one day. We had a delivery of food from Tesco and then didnt move our car all week.
The road up to Martindale from Howtown is very steep with hairpin bends for 1/2 mile so we were happy not to be constantly driving up and down to get anywhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Hi
Thanks so much for your lovely, positive review. I'm so pleased that you found everything you needed had been provided, this is what we aim for. A hot tub on the terrace at Hause would be a great place to relax with those spectacular views! We will pass your compliments on to Lynne Hilditch. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just spent the weekend at Hause Hall Farm & Cruik Barn for my 50th Birthday, so lucky with the weather which made the stunning views look even better.
The house was perfect for us, kitted out with everything we needed,rooms with en-suites to a very high standard with lost of original features.
We had the bbq lit two nights in a row, all charcoal etc provided at no extra cost.Wood fire inside too, all prepared, just needed a match.
We walked striaght up Hallin Fell behind the house, a few older ones were puffing a bit but the spectacular view from the top is well worth the effort.
Our group was fourteen, they have an extra building on site (The Stables) to cater for up to eighteen. You will get the local Herdwick sheep wandering through the grounds from field to field which we all enjoyed.
We also took a more leisurely walk down the road to the ferry on nearby Usllwater, we took it to Pooley Bridge and back, about a tenner return for adults, half for kids up to age fitteen. There are several pubs to choose from for lunch and drinks.
I would highly reccommend Hause Hall Farm, everything about the house and location is perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Hi
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We're really glad that we were able to make your 50th birthday such a memorable occasion. It's super that you took a walk up Hallin Fell and were able to see the Hidden Valleys in glorious weather, you seem to have packed a great deal into your break, so I hope you weren't too exhausted after your break! Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapstar
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

As a party of 13 we booked Hause Hall & Cruick Barn based on the pretty photos available online. Once we arrived we all agreed that in actual fact, the pictures didn't do the accommodation or scenery the justice it deserved. Everything was perfect, clean rooms, lots of space, filled bookshelves, en suites for almost every room. The welcome pack was a lovely touch, including biscuits, fresh bread, bottles of wine, juice and lots more. The kitchen had plenty of space to cook for 13 and although we were new to using an AGA, we have all left wanting one. The sun room was a personal favourite for us all, with a marvellous view and comfy sofas we spent a lovely evening there with a couple of bottles of wine. Cruick Barn is also a wonderful space and although most of the hosting took place in Hause Hall there was also a nice kitchen and space for hosting there too. Jilly, our contact was extremely welcoming and very kind, offering an earlier arrival time and a later checkout. We have made some wonderful memories during our stay and would not hesitate in coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Hi
Thank you for leaving us such a great review. It's lovely to hear that our efforts to make you feel "at home" have been a success. The sun room really is spectacular and there's always something to watch in the surrounding scenery, whatever the weather. We would love to welcome you back to Hause Hall if your travels bring you back to the Lake District in the future. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvedere...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed in March with family we held a surprise 80th & diamond wedding anniversary. The venue was great everything we needed under one roof.

Great place to hold a family get together. Lovely views & location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review following your stay at Hause Hall. We are delighted you had a wonderful time with your family celebrating the 80th birthday and diamond wedding, may we wish you many congratulations for both occasions! We hope we can welcome you back to Hause Hall if you are planning another visit the Cumbria and The Lake District. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsg151
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Paradise tucked away”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

This is one of the most picturesque places in the Lake District with the added benefit of near total privacy whilst staying in perfect accommodation. I arrived ahead of our party to get some work done - sitting in the lounge with my laptop open with a floor to ceiling view of Martindale was bliss (the view, not the work!). When the rest of the party arrived we proceeded to have the best weekend break one could want in spacious surroundings, with delicious locally sourced and cooked food arranged by the owners, and of course a glass of wine or too. ~Of course we'll be back!! Thank you Christine and Charles, a winning formula.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at Hause Hall. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed the amazing views and that you were so pleased with our recommended caterers. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Cumbria and the Lake District for another visit! Best regards, Christine. Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ski5bond
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Daughter Hen weekend”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a fabulous stay our accommodation was excellent both the main house and the barn what a gem hidden away .
We all loved the lay out and bedrooms that when it was time to leave i think we all wished we had booked for the week !!
Christine and Jilly made our transition for our arrival up to the last minute run smoothly
Thank you again we will be back !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your daughter's hen weekend at Hause Hall & Cruik Barn. Thank you for your kind comments and I will make sure Jilly gets to see them. We will be thrilled to welcome you back please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zimr0ads
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house and location”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Our party of 14 stayed here in September 2016. This was the second time we had stayed there so we must have been happy! The house and accommodation were first class as were all equipment, utensils etc. What really stands out with this house though is the location. If you want accommodation for a large party of family or friends in the most peaceful and beautiful location then this is the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Hi,
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review after your stay at Hause Hall Farm last September. We totally agree that one of the best things about Hause Hall Farm is the location - breathtaking views !
We are looking forward to welcoming you all back to Melmerby Hall this September !
Best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing