We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yet another fabulous stay at this gorgeous...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila S
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yet another fabulous stay at this gorgeous holiday home”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had four generations of extended family stay here for a long weekend using both Hause Hall and Cruik Barn together with the Stables. Once again, I can't fault a thing. The house was immaculate, the facilities were great and the views to die for. Jilly, the housekeeper, went out of her way to provide all the bed combinations, cots, highchairs etc that we required and we had a wonderful stay. We shall be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the facilities and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Hause Hall Farm - it was great to welcome you all back again !
We really appreciate your feedback and will pass this back to Jilly and her housekeeping team who work so hard to make our places perfect for our guests. It was great that you got some lovely weather over your weekend too - it really helps to make the views even more spectacular !
Hopefully we will be welcoming you all back for a 3rd visit again next year.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony R
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You cannot get much better”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stunning Location with exceptional views .
The property has been developed to the highest quality imaginable .
The layout works for a group of any size and we would recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hause Hall, Cruik Barn & The Stables. Your kind comments regarding the property are much appreciated and we totally agree with you about the location and views! Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District it would be great to welcome you back. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy6197
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Every year we try a new property from the Rowley Estate website, partly because we love the area and mainly because they never cease to impress. This year we stayed at Kirkbride Hall in Melmerby (see my reviews) but whilst we were there the owners suggested we take a scenic walk to Matindale near Pooley to see another property.
OMG! The position is breathtaking and the quality is as you would expect from this rental group. Everything was perfect inside and out but the view from the living room would be hard to beat anywhere in the world.
We have just booked it for next year because I'm sure it will sell out fast and we don't want to miss this one.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Hi thank you for taking the time to provide a review for Hause Hall Farm, the Cruik Barn and the Stables. We are really excited to now be able to offer three options at Hause Hall Farm - the 5 bedroom farm house, the 7 bedroom combination of the farm house and the cruik barn and the 9 bedroom combination of the farm house, the cruik barn and the stables. We have designed and built a mahogany extension to the dining table to allow 18 guests to dine together when the three cottages are all used with one guest party which we remove when that is not the case. Other Trip Advisor reviews of Hause Hall Farm and Hause Hall Farm and the Cruik Barn can be found on their separate listings. Thanks again for the kind comments regarding Hause Hall Farm, the Cruik Barn and the Stables! Best regards Christine, Charlie, Jilly and the team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing