We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful, loved it!”

Cross Dormont Camping & Caravans
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross Dormont Camping & Caravans
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful, loved it!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I liked this campsite because it wasn't crowded like all the others. The facilities were basic but bearable. The views were amazing! We pitched on the hill to be away from families which was a bit uncomfortable when sleeping. A large part of the field is flat though. We had two 4man tents and two 2man tents, it cost £128 all together for two nights. Not bad between 7 people! A friendly middle aged couple own the site and run a farm next to it.The site is right next to the river it's an easy walk to the shore. At the entrance there is a sign directing campers to the bungalow to pay. Up the track there is a tree swing and taps are dotted around so easy ti get water. Pooley Bridge is about 3km away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eexxpplloorreerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We went to this campsite following reading the previous reviews and wanted to see for ourselves. It is on an elevated position with panoramic views on all sides with the lake and fells to the front and wonderfull views of the fells behind. There are walks nearby and a 30 min walk into Pooley Bridge where there are shops and pubs.
The facilities are very basic with one shower per male/female and an additional charge of 50 pence for 3 minutes ( not a good idea to have one when its dark!!)
The campsite is on a working farm with cattle, sheep and alpaca's and the occaisionally rat running around at dusk!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather100016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We went to this site on the hottest weekend of the year and were surprised to find how quiet and empty this site was compared the packed campsites that we passed on our way in. Our first trip to use the "facilities" may well explain this! The toilets are basic to say the least, and it's 50pence to have a hot shower which we considered to be a bit cheeky considering their appearance!

We were "greeted" by the owner as she drove down to confront us for not paying before starting to pitch our tents. She was rather rude until we were forthcoming with our payment (this was a genuine error on our part - we clearly weren't trying to rip anyone off, we simply didn't see the sign!). We all considered this to be somewhat unnecessary as we couldn't have been more conspicuous and clearly didn't know the site protocol (we are absolute camping amateurs!).

Having deliberately moved on from the bad start, we pitched our tents on a flat(ish) area and took in the most wonderful view of Ullswater. As mentioned before we are camping amateurs but being able to see such a picturesque backdrop made everything worthwhile. The site owns the field across the road and we were able to sunbathe next to the lake with almost nobody around.

The "20 minute walk" into Pooley Bridge (the nearest village) was more like 40 minutes, however, this may have been because of the sun. The walk itself is pleasurable as You can walk around the lake - it also emphasised how quiet our site was as you have to pass through another camp site (which had far better facilities).

We ate/drank in a number of places in Pooley Bridge and must say how surprised we were at how unfriendly/rude the staff were. Each pub was absolutely heaving but this can only be because of the weather as we overheard several people comment regarding the poor service etc.

Overall this is a fantastic campsite if you want a quiet stay with an amazing view and are happy to tolerate the facilties/welcome!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 110RTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed bank holiday Aug 2011. A large field and plenty of room to pitch up especially on a bank holiday weekend with no up front booking. You picked your pitch, it does slope but some areas are quite flat so no problem. Relaxed campsite with basic facilities and beautiful views. We met friends there as most campsites in lakes don't want groups of people. I don't think there was electric hook up but who cares if you are a proper camper! Camper vans and caravans were also there so u might need a generator.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This site must have one of the best views of Ullswater.  The whole camping field slopes down towards the water, although there’s plenty of flat to pitch up.  This means that where ever you site your tent you have a fantastic view of the lake, (see pix!) We spent the morning watching the Ullswater Steamers go back and forth.  Overnight it was a little windy but as we only stayed for one night this could have been a one off.  The toilets are clean, but a little dated, (that lost a star).  We had wanted to stay in a more popular camp at the other end of the water but that was full. I’m glad we opted for Cross Dormont as the views were much better than others we have stayed in round the water.  If you want simple no frills camping with a view to die for then this is your site.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cross Dormont Camping & Caravans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Dormont Camping & Caravans

Property: Cross Dormont Camping & Caravans
Address: Howtown CA1 02NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Howtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Howtown
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing