We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Faith in Human Nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howtown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howtown
Certificate of Excellence
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
347 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent and Faith in Human Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

After a very wet walk today from Glenridding we arrived back at Howtown and called into the Public bar at the back of the hotel for tea and scones. Unfortunatley we had no cash and they could not take our credit card but the kind owner let us have our excellent tea and scones and send the money on. The hotel is very nice and we will now go back and stay. Thanks for being so kind. Pete and Anne

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    23
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

After a great walk from Glenridding to Howtown we arrived at the Howtown Hotel.
We had some time left before the ferry would bring us back to Glenridding and we decided that we deserved a pint (or two).
To assure peace and quiet to the residents of the Howtown Hotel the walkers are directed to a backside entrance into the quirkiest pub we've ever seen. It's an absolute gem. Because of the wonderful weather we sat outside on one of the benches provided for thirsty walkers.
The staff was ever so friendly and the pint(s) lovely and we do recommend a well deserved pint at this establishment

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolymops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We've just had a weekend here and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the flat behind the hotel which had everything we needed and it was ever more luxury without a phone signal or wifi! The food was excellent and service brilliant. The walks nearby were great and despite me being the youngest there (I'm in my 40s!) I can't wait to head back for a truly relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

If you want a place for children to run around and scream or somewhere to use you laptop don't go. BUT if you want to get away from it all, have brilliant service, fantastic British local food and totally switch off you must try it. We've been going for years and keep going back, who cares if there's no TV in your room, cant you think of anything else to do? Your in the heart of the Lakes have fantastic places to explore and let time heal you. We've stayed in the adjoining cottages, hotel and keep going back for luncheon and dinners. And guess what? We're not 'crusty old duffers' but we appreciate the Howtown and all it stands for. Quality, relaxation and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lallokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We realised from other reviews that this hotel is 'quirky' - and it is!

We knew there was no tele in rooms in advance, but were a bit taken aback to find no kettle etc either. Room service, if ordered, brings early morning tea etc but prefer to make my own, when I want it. Also added to bill of course!

The hotel has an atmosphere of a large county house owned by landed gentry, so much so I wouldn't have been surprised to see Charles and Camilla wandering in.
Food is generous although plain, and service is excellent - in fact the waitresses all in edwarding type dress - unusual!

Setting is idyllic, with great walks from hotel door, so this is brilliant.
Remember to take a cheque book or cash as they don't take credit cards. No warning of this!

Clientelle generally older, so not a place for youngsters.
Not sure if we would recommend - possibly a bit too quirky for a repeat visit, but sort of glad we tried it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wiseowlNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

I don't really want to tell anyone else about the Howtown experience in case this gem becomes too popular and I can't book again. However praise must be given where it is due. I have never stayed anywhere else where there is such old world charm and an atmosphere of complete relaxation. No T.V. in the room, No Tea or Coffee making in rooms because it would be quite wrong in such a traditional place and completely unecessary. Tea will be brought to you if you ask for it and it is real tea. The food is locally sourced, traditionally cooked and I have rarely eaten as good a steak. There is no menu just a simple selection at each mealtime which some may find odd but it is simply part of the unique character of the Howtown. I hope I can still book after such praise.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

An idyllic hotel which has never failed to impress. On the banks of Ullswater in stunning scenery, with a garden to match it is indeed a beautiful place to stay. The staff are charming, the smell of wood smoke, flickering fires, home made scones greet you when you arrive, and its charm overwhelms you. The meals are excellent, the best of British food cooked beautifully. No television so conversation with other guests once again comes into its own. I hesitate to write this report in case too many people find this gem and it becomes fully booked! However, as a base for walking or just rest and relaxation it comes into its own, and I am sure will long remain a favourite.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dakota63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howtown
0.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howtown Hotel

Property: Howtown Hotel
Address: Ullswater | nr Penrith, Howtown CA10 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Howtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howtown
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing