We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Sheets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochelle
Kalama, Washington
1 review
“Dirty Sheets!”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Worst hotel experience in my life as a business traveler. Disgusted to find that even though the bed was neatly made up, the sheets weren't changed! Found dirt and a sock at the bottom of the bed when I got in. They did move me to another room but how could you sleep after that experience? Management would not refund room only offer some points? Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Hello Sir,

I am extremely sorry for what you have gone through and we tried to fix your problem with changing room as at that time we can not do anything else as non of housekeeping staff was there but we did offer you extra points in your account so and we will take this accident seriously and will make note of it that this thing will not going to happen again. In our research we found that we have new housekeeper on staff and she cleaned that room and head housekeeper overlooked that so this is our internal problem and we will fix it as soon as possible.

I apologies for this accident. Hope you come back to our hotel in future and give us one more chance to serve you better.

Thanks

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    39
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
19
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We came to this hotel after a negative experience at a nearby hotel. I think that the staff was the friendliest hotel staff that I have ever encountered. The person who takes care of the breakfast bar (I believe her name was Sharon) was extremely helpful. The entire staff seemed to genuinely want to make our stay there nice. The hotel was clean, with a nice pool area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband, teenaged son and I stayed here for two nights over the busy Thanksgiving weekend on our way to and from a day trip to Madison, Wisconsin. All three of us have nothing but glowing reports about our experience. My husband, a frequent business traveler, even commented on the staff, cleanliness and room accommodations. You definitely cannot find a better roadside stay. Breakfast was more than we are used to in a hotel priced at this level. Maria, the woman who takes care of the breakfast bar, was most welcoming. When I inquired as to what time the breakfast lasted, she told me 10:00, however, if we needed additional time, she would be happy to accommodate us. Thankfully, we did not need to call upon her for this favor, but it put less stress in what was to be a very long car ride home. The desk staff and cleaning staff were also most helpful--with what seemed to be a genuine interest in a comfortable stay for us. The rooms are stylish and the beds are extremely comfortable. Very quiet, thus insuring a restful night's sleep, even over a busy holiday weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank park56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed a couple of days for work at the local ethanol plant. The rooms were clean, and the staff excellent. Mary who takes care of the breakfast bar was very helpful. Even made bacon for one guest even though sausage was the meat of the day.

Only issue I had was that I was working nights and the cleaning staff knocked on my door at 10 am even though the “do not disturb sign was on my door”. Also the desk staff did not give me a 11 am wakeup call. But maybe they don’t get a lot of day sleepers.

The town is known for the crossing of the Union Pacific Railroad and BNSF Railway mainlines. They cross at the Railroad Park near downtown. It is a rare twin at grade crossing. Nice little park. There is a train every 5 minutes. It is worth just seeing it even if you are not a train fan.

Room Tip: I think they are all about the same. Highway is far enough away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazoo_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After checking hotel reviews for Rochelle (just passing through) we were already in town and hadn't chosen anything because all the reviews we read were so negative. We pulled into the Holiday Inn Express despite reading poor reviews; thought we'd check the place out. We were wowed walking into the lobby and they had the king room we wanted near the door so we wouldn't have to walk too far. The room was absolutely beautiful, impeccably clean and the furnishing were stylish and current. There was a big flat screen TV, a fridge and microwave. We asked the very nice young man at the front desk for a dining recommendation. He mentioned three places nearby so we chose one, which was wonderful.
The free breakfast was the best I've ever seen in a chain hotel. Hot fresh cooked pancakes, fresh cinnamon rolls, several juices, cereal, omelets with ham, peppers and onions, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, etc. It was absolutely wonderful! Although the price of the hotel was more than we'd wanted to spend, with this breakfast, it was well worth it!
In short, there is NOTHING to criticize in this place. I recommend it highly without exception.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrannyJules218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Cleanest hotel we have been in, in years.Maria, that works here, showed us around the hotel. pointed out all amenities. She was extremely helpful and courteous,The hot breakfast was a plus, with many options to choose from.. We are going back again very soon, Nice getaway!!!!!!

Room Tip: Depends on how many are staying.Any room is good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Newer hotel, nice staff, clean. Flat screens, new bedding, etc... Down the street from the truck stop and never heard the trucks.

Typical Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochelle
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
84 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
17.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
139 reviews
23.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rochelle

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Address: 1240 Dement Road, Rochelle, IL 61068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rochelle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rochelle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle Hotel Rochelle
u s Express Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing