We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay in corn country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochelle
Westfield, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in corn country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed for two nights over Easter weekend. Hotel staff was very courteous and obliging. Lobby and other public areas were spotless. Children enjoyed the indoor pool, which was also in excellent condition, clean, and appeared well-maintained. Rooms were standard, but clean and modern with flat screen TV. Cleaning staff responded immediately to request to clean room. Fast food, gas stations, and min-marts conveniently located adjacent to hotel. Only drawback - mattress was as hard as a brick! Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    38
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
19
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

First of all this is the worst Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed in. Upon entering the property lobby it was evident that housekeeping was poor. The lobby area looked to need a good vacuuming and things just looked untidy. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the hallways also needed to be vacuumed and there was a smelly odor. Upon entering our room, my first impression was that it seemed a bit out dated compared to most Holiday Inn Expresses and could have been vacuumed better as well. The worst thing was the dirty walls had black greasy looking stains all over them. The mattresses were not your typical very comfortable ones in most Holiday Inns. They felt like an economy motel mattress.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nhb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Rented two rooms (#233 & #235). Room #235 smelled like smoke. The front desk said they were sold out and could not move me so they handed me a bottle of naturalizer for me to spray around in the room. The walls in both rooms were dirty. Overall, I thought the rooms were poor value for what I payed ($109). I asked the owner/manager to call me on that following Monday, which he never did.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JCE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear JCE72,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience. We have sent you a private message with more information. I look forwarding to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a couple months and their staff is excellent. Extremely clean and the pool is wonderful. It is taken care of perfectly and if I could I would live here year round.
A nice quiet hideaway with everything you need within walking or a few mile driving distance. Good free breakfast. Coffee 24 hours a day.
Thank you to Maria and Lindsay for making my stay a great time.

Room Tip: If you don't want to look at semi trucks, pick a room on the other side of the building. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The lobby was very clean as well as the room. The bed was very comfortable, the internet was good, and the shower was great. The continental breakfast was excellent. They served omelettes, sausage, biscuits and gravy, warm cinnamon rolls, cereal, muffins, bagels and had a pancake/waffle maker. Coffee, juices, and milk were available to drink. All of the staff were very nice and always smiled. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank preggo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalama, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Worst hotel experience in my life as a business traveler. Disgusted to find that even though the bed was neatly made up, the sheets weren't changed! Found dirt and a sock at the bottom of the bed when I got in. They did move me to another room but how could you sleep after that experience? Management would not refund room only offer some points? Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Hello Sir,

I am extremely sorry for what you have gone through and we tried to fix your problem with changing room as at that time we can not do anything else as non of housekeeping staff was there but we did offer you extra points in your account so and we will take this accident seriously and will make note of it that this thing will not going to happen again. In our research we found that we have new housekeeper on staff and she cleaned that room and head housekeeper overlooked that so this is our internal problem and we will fix it as soon as possible.

I apologies for this accident. Hope you come back to our hotel in future and give us one more chance to serve you better.

Thanks

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We came to this hotel after a negative experience at a nearby hotel. I think that the staff was the friendliest hotel staff that I have ever encountered. The person who takes care of the breakfast bar (I believe her name was Sharon) was extremely helpful. The entire staff seemed to genuinely want to make our stay there nice. The hotel was clean, with a nice pool area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochelle
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
17.0 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
13.7 mi away
Super 8 DeKalb IL
Super 8 DeKalb IL
#3 of 5 in DeKalb
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rochelle

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Address: 1240 Dement Road, Rochelle, IL 61068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rochelle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rochelle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle Hotel Rochelle
u s Express Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing