We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochelle
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An excellent hotel; we paid $108 plus tax. Very clean, large rooms, clean, new bedding with white duvet cover, desk, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, flat screen tv. The most clean and clear pool I've ever swam in! It was beautiful and warm. The best breakfast I've ever had at a hotel; there were egg omelettes with peppers in them and hot sauce to put on; in addition to all the regular fare. There was a conference room, the lobby was huge, there was outside seating for breakfast. Loved the fitness room. No hot tub in the pool area.
We walked over to the Iron Skillet (in a large truck stop) for a great supper. Best chicken strips ever and Louisiana whitefish (order off the menu).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

So glad you enjoyed your experience here at our hotel! Sounds like it was just a nice little efficient "pit stop" on the way to your destination! So, thank you very much for sharing your experience online. We greatly appreciate you! Maybe we will see you on your way back home! Hope so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I signed up for a nonsmoking room on the Holiday Inn website, then arrived and was told there were no nonsmoking rooms. I got stuck in a terribly smoky, smelly room and couldn't sleep. I should have gotten the room for free since the company screwed up, but didn't. The manager blamed a website glitch--but that's exactly why the company should have comped the room, as any professional company would do. A very unprofessional experience. Afterward, when I wrote a review on the Holiday Inn website, the company refused to post it, saying it was irrelevant. So Holiday Inn refuses to post bad reviews! That's why I'm posting it here. It was a shockingly bad experience.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 129Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel! Online reservations can be confusing at times. When making a reservation, our guests can select the option "standard room" which is a great money saving option. However, by selecting this option our hotel will assign any available room based upon occupancy. If our guest selects a more specific room type instead, we are to assign a more specific room. Guest satisfaction is very importance to us. We apologize sincerely for any inconvenience this may have caused you. To avoid any online reservation confusion in the future, please feel free to give us a call at 815-562-9994 and we will make sure you are well taken care of with your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here one night in mid-September. The Senior rate with tax was $129.87. Totally over-priced!! The room did not feel clean and even though it was supposed to be "none smoking" there was a heaving smoke odor in the room. The front desk girl was not helpful or friendly. There was a yucky stain right in the middle of the fitted bed sheet! Apparently the sheet had been laundered but the stain remained. The little refrigerator was so loud I had to disconnect it and there were two flies in the room.
My advice is to stop in Rockford IL instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMCGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

As I thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I would also like to apologize for the problems during your stay. As you can see by other reviews of our hotel, a dissatisfied guest is not typical for us. I understand 100% why you would be unhappy with our service. I do, however, welcome you back to our hotel! I would love to make things right with you and show you that we do strive to service our guests with complete satisfaction! I have taken your review very seriously, and have talked to our front desk department, as well as housekeeping, on how we can learn from your experience. Feel free to give us a call at the hotel, 815-562-9994! Thank you again for your review. We encourage all reviews, whether it be positive or constructive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stopped here for the night on our way back to Missouri after a vacation in Wisconsin! The room was very clean; the mattress was very comfortable; the room was spacious with a mini fridge and microwave; nice selection of channels on the tv; breakfast was good and well stocked. Only complaint was the free wireless internet worked fine in the evening but did not work at all the next morning. Front office tried to reset it to no avail. Not a big deal. We have internet on our phones. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita_from_wentzville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel! Next time you are headed north, you know where to stop! We have lots of "friends" that we see twice a year. Once on the way to their destination, and once on the way back! Its always comforting to find a hotel that you can rely on year after year when traveling can get so hectic. Thanks again and we hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spent two nights here while working for NIU. It's a short 16 miles drive from the campus. The hotel is not fancy but very neat and tidy. The room was immaculate, the bath very clean and the towels not bad for an inexpensive hotel. The room had a nice size flat-panel TV, a coffee pot and a frig. The motel appears to be fairly new. There was almost no sign of wear on anything.

Continental breakfast in the morning was the usual fair. I had to leave early before the official 6:00 a.m. start. The attendant was just setting up and allowed me to make my breakfast (nothing fancy - toast, cereal, juice and coffee) before 6:00 a.m. Very nice.

Nice place. I'd stay there again. Only gave it four stars because it's damn near impossible to get five out of me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESSRochelle, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

In your case, we will gladly accept a "4"!!! THANK YOU for taking the time to share your positive experience. I'm glad our location is convenient for you! We hope to see you again to continue serving you (and everyone else of course) with our excellent service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A nice surprise in the middle of corn country. Clean, comfortable bed. Spacious, quiet room. Pretty lobby. Everything you need for an overnight on a long road trip. Check in was quick. Friendly staff. Karen at breakfast had everything ready even before 6am. We were able to get an earlier start on the road. She also had a bright cheery good morning. Lots of soft towels, and some very nice soap and lotion. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RochelleHiexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for you kind words about our hotel and our entire staff welcome back whenever you are passing by from our area.

Really appreciated your time on writing this genuine experience about your stay !!

Stay Smart !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very clean and quiet hotel. Convenient access right off 39. Desk attendants were friendly and helpful, as were breakfast room attendants. The area is pretty sparse when it comes to restaurants, but if you are in Rochelle, this is where to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RochelleHiexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for you kind words about our hotel and our entire staff welcome back whenever you are passing by from our area.

Really appreciated your time on writing this genuine experience about your stay !!

Stay Smart !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochelle
98.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
94 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
17.0 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
17.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
16.5 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 4 in Sycamore
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rochelle

Address: 1240 Dement Road, Rochelle, IL 61068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rochelle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochelle
Price Range: £83 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rochelle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle Hotel Rochelle
u s Express Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing