We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a $50 night campground!”
Review of Springfield Koa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springfield Koa
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Unlike the other reviewers, we found the owners to be very friendly. The bathrooms were clean and so was the small pool. Our campsite was a long pull thru, but they were far too close together. Our neighbors RV was actually parked over our fire pit. No recreation except for the additional costing jump pad and bikes. Next time we will use the state park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfieldKoa, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Please note there is lots of area to explore. We offer a free pool. Also free basketball, horseshoes,basketball,playground, and shuffleboard. We are always open for suggestions, and if there is more you would like to see please let us know. Apologize for the camper over the fire pit, that is odd. Will work on the spacing issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The other reviewers (except the 5 star review) cover the major problems with the campground and its owners. With the exception of the amenities that you have to pay for (the blob and the tricycles), most everything is run down. There was black mold on the ceiling tiles in the game room. The playground equipment is severely rusted. The cement around the pool is very cracked and broken. The miniature golf area was torn up. Instead of fixing problems, the owners put up passive-aggressive signs in the office. One sign stated that you were camping and didn't need the internet. If that's the case, then why do they advertise that they have wifi?

KOA really needs to maintain its standards if they want campers to trust their brand.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfieldKoa, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Issues have been addressed. Ceilings are fixed. Play areas are groomed fixed and fresh. We have also installed a better internet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have camped at many KOAs and are usually very pleased. On arrival, this one looks unkempt and generally not in good repair. There are also several campsites that look occupied full time which leads to a feeling of disrepair since they are not in good shape. The bathrooms do seem clean but weeds all over the playground and ancient play equipment really annoy me since I paid an extra "per child" fee for activities. Even the jumping pillow is surrounded by weeds. Which costs extra, by the way! I would not stay here again and we limited our planned two nights to one.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JillH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfieldKoa, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Please be advised that these issues have been addressed. The areas are keep well groomed. Playground equipment has been repaired and refreshed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

An accident with our pet resulted with our water pipe breaking below the shutoff and water was pouring out across the site. When we notified the owners/managers, they were rude, vulgar: "How the HELL did that happen?!" When we explained, he said "That was stupid!" The water had to be shut off so a string of sites were without water for the rest of the day. Instead of being mature professionals, they kept reminding us how this was "our fault" and the other campers' stay was being affected by this. The reason it took so long to repair was they had to go into town to buy basic rudimentary plumbing equipment (pvc, sleeves, elbows, shutoff valves) they didn't have on site. The following morning we were told that we had to PAY for the materials AS WELL AS the time spent to fix the break, as if they didn't have a maintenance crew or supplies on their payroll to handle emergencies. I believe that because we then walked the entire campground and found NUMEROUS sites with poorly maintained utilities which we brought to their attention. Shortly after, the owner/manager is putting around securing straps to loose water pipes (which was the reason our pipe broke so easily). So I shelled out my remaining cash on hand to keep the peace for my families' sake. Fortunately, our kids had a GREAT time with the activities and our second day was much better as we didn't let the events ruin it for them. But the rude, snotty behavior hung a cloud over our stay. If we were treated with a professional demeanor, we wouldn't have cared about all the lackluster care given to utilities, restrooms, grounds. I'm seeing if our insurance will reimburse us for the work, materials which is our property now. But we will be staying at state, federal campgrounds from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 538scamper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've camped around the world, and cannot believe that this, a KOA, is among the worst we've stayed at. The owners were rude, and harrassing even to senior citizens. The owner is in a people service industry, but is mean and nasty. Nothings well kept minus the bathrooms. The basketball hoops in an inner city park would be nicer than the one here. Each campsite is very close, you cant even take a leak around your site! KOA needs to think about removing this from their listing. I would reccomend camping on the side of the high way over this place. Its a shame I couldn't give this a rating of anything below terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campingcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have stayed at this KOA multiple times for several years. When the owners first purchased the property it was in need of some updating and TLC. We have seen improvements and upgrades to the property every time we visit. They are constantly making things nicer there!
The road to the property is narrow and dark in places and you have to follow the signs, but they are well placed. The road to the property is not the fault of the KOA owners!
The campground is worth the little adventure to get there, so don't get discouraged!
We have found the owners to be very nice and receptive to needs, so I do not understand the previous posts! It is not a huge and elaborate campground, but it is quiet and away from highway noise.
Barking dogs inside a camper happens sometimes. This is again not the fault of the owners.
Don't blame the travelers that have had to leave their dog for a little while. This happens, so be tolerant!
We have future reservations, and will continue to visit at least twice per year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRENDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Having stayed almost exclusively at KOAs for the past 5 years, I've come to expect a certain standard in terms of facility quality from them. This is just a property that is in serious need of an upgrade. Bathrooms were clean, but in very run-down condition. Wi-fi was incredibly slow, and sign at the front-desk implied that if you're camping, you shouldn't need wi-fi.

Staff were friendly and helpful, but this place needs a facelift, especially given the rates they charge, which are higher than other KOA's we've stayed at.

On a side note, do not use google directions trying to find this place, they won't get you here. Fortunately, owners have put up signs leading the way, as this place is about 5 miles off I-55 down some serious backroads.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfieldKoa, Public Relations Manager at Springfield Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for the suggestions.we have installed a better internet. We are aware of address issue and now make sure everyone is aware it is Rochester,I'll address. The campground has received many improvements to give it a fresh clean look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Springfield Koa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Koa

Address: 4320 Koa Rd, Rochester, IL 62563-6111
Region: United States > Illinois > Rochester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rochester
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2014 we have a new and better wifi available. We also have added a k-9 kamp. We have a lodge, 2 cottages, 3cabins. Pull thru and back ins. Tent space available. Offer volleyball, basketball, bikes,mini golf, jumping pillow, playground, pool, shuffleboard and horseshoes. Pets welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing