We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused Service Entirely, Sent Us Out on the Street.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rock Falls
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Please bear with me, I know this is somewhat lengthy.

I don't ever write reviews on hotels. Frankly, I cannot remember the last time I posted anything online. I usually stay at a hotel, mind my own business, and continue on. Even in the worst experiences, I let it be, and let bygones be bygones.

Now, I'm not going to say anything negative about someone's character here. It looks to be a family owned business, and I imagine the owner is used to doing things a certain way. I have a family business, so I begin from a place of sympathy.

I booked my room on Priceline. Priceline didn't allow me to choose between a king bed or a double queen. We needed a double, but I understood the risk. Upon entering the hotel, I kindly asked if we could make the room a double room. The owner tried to gouge the price by an extra $15 per night, and said there was no option for a cot. I said that I had stayed at a number of super 8s through Priceline, and never had I been refused a double room, or had been surprise charged with extra upon request. He wouldn't budge.

I then said that I thought it wasn't necessarily a good judgement call; either you could squeeze extra money out of us now, or ebb on the side of customer satisfaction, and I would plan on staying there again sometime. I mentioned that this is the service industry, and I would hope he would make the right choice, considering customer satisfaction is the most important of all. Suddenly, out of nowhere, not only did he still refuse to back down on the price gouge, he refused us staying in the hotel all together, sending us packing on the street. We were left with a pre paid room, and a hotel owner who wouldn't let us stay, either out of stubbornness, spite, or both. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels in my lifetime, and not once have I been cast out in the street for calmly challenging a customer service decision. Isn't it in my right to have a constructive opinion?

I apologize for the long winded comment. Priceline called the owner to try and work it out. He still refused us any service. I couldn't believe it. Priceline was kind enough to go against policy and refund us. They were as surprised as we were. We went next door to the Candlewood, and so far, it has been great.

I'm not saying don't stay here. It seems like others have a satisfactory stay. I'm just passing on an experience, and my words of caution. I sincerely hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. However, if the owner of a hotel is capable of doing this once, I imagine it will happen again sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
John

Stayed: April 2014
Thank JohnElliott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was smaller than most, but the appointments were more than adequate and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location convenient and quiet. Overall a good stay at a very reasonable rate. Give them a chance the next time you are in town and need a quality stay on a budget!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is right off the highway and was easy to find. The room was nice for the money I spent. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Nathaniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at this hotel. It is an older property, nothing fancy, but new paint, new beds and very clean. We stayed in a smoking room, and yes, you can tell it's a smoking room as soon as you walk in. If you are a smoker but don't like the smell, maybe stay in a non smoking room and going outside to smoke would be an option. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast area is a little small, but very clean and orderly. Waffles, cold cereal, packaged cinnamon rolls, toast, coffee, orange and apple juices and banana's. I would like to see them add fruit cocktail, peaches or pears. Beds are very comfortable and provide a very good nights rest. For $60, it is a good deal. If you're looking for something fancier, I would suggest going next door, but you will pay over $100 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digetydog2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Yes there were new beds but the rest of the hotel is very old and not clean feeling. There was so much furniture in our room you couldn't hang anything on the rack used to hang items. Ok place but would stay there on purpose. Price was good however checked out one hour late and they charged us for a full day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Falls
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rock Falls, IL
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Days Inn - Rock Falls
#5 of 6 in Rock Falls
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Dixon
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Motel
All Seasons Motel
#4 of 6 in Rock Falls
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area

Address: 2100 1st Ave, Rock Falls, IL 61071-3558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rock Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rock Falls
Price Range: £46 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Falls Super 8
Rock Falls Super Eight
Super 8 Rock Falls
Super Eight Rock Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing