We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane!”

Burpee Museum of Natural History
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you love paleontology and lots of other great scientific biological history, you're gonna love Jane and her friends! Dinosaur skeletons and lots of groovy fossilized life forms await your visit to this above average museum! I'm so glad I live nearby so we can visit at least once a year!

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"t rex"
in 18 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 7 reviews
"museum of natural history"
in 8 reviews
"discovery center"
in 13 reviews
"tunnel connecting"
in 2 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"great learning"
in 2 reviews
"great collection"
in 2 reviews
"first floor"
in 3 reviews
"learn something"
in 2 reviews
"the river walk"
in 2 reviews
"visiting rockford"
in 2 reviews
"jane"
in 34 reviews
"triceratops"
in 11 reviews
"juvenile"
in 11 reviews
"minerals"
in 7 reviews
"homer"
in 6 reviews
Filter

92 - 96 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

My science geek friend and I recently stopped in at the Burpee to take in the Megalodon display. Although a bit pricey for the entrance fee and special exhibit (it can't be cheap to keep up regular exhibits and bring in new ones to try to stay competitive with larger city museum offerings), it was totally worth it! The Megalodon was, well, mega. You could have walked into his mouth as an appetizer!

The gift shop is small, but we were able to pick up some stuffed dinosaurs for a special little guy we know. Perfect!

I recommend the Burpee Museum the next time you are in the Rockford, Illinois area. But do take extra time to visit the Discovery Center next door. You won't need to entertain your kids or grandkids for a couple of hours.

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank NosyTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This museum would make me pine for the Museum of Natural History in Chicago but there isn't anything to pine over. Again, not worth the price of admission. Make sure you get in for free and you will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank RockfordREG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

There are museums and then there are museums. The Burpee not only had great exhibits, starting with Jane the T-Rex, but enough things to keep kids and adults interested and occupied. Terrific family exhibition.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank BobNesoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a great place to visit. There was so much information about the world in which we live in from the past to the present. If you love dinosaurs then you are going to love the dinosaur skeletons that they have there. And the displays are very informative. What they also feature are the different rock formations and what can be commonly found in the area. On the third floor was an exhibit of how the Indians lived in the area. What they did and how they went through the winter season. And finally they had an exhibit called Rick's Picks. The lead guitarist for the band Cheap Trick had several of his possessions on display. The Rick's Picks exhibit was for a limited time. As of this writing it is no longer at the museum. However if it does come back make sure to check it out. All in all I found the museum to be very informative and the kids will have a good time there as well.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank alfie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burpee Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Burpee Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing