We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a bargain BUT....”
Review of Alpine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Conveniently located for our purposes. Checked trip Advisor before making our selection, and the favorable reviews were largely accurate. I liked that the manager or owner replies to comments left on Trip Advisor so this was a selling point for my hubby and I as well. We received a free upgrade( which we appreciated) since this was a slow weeknight. Two very comfortable beds , a large entertainment stand housing the TV, a LARGE "dressing area" with long, horizontal mirror and a good sized mirror in the bath area as well .Outdoor marquee proclaims recently renovated rooms and this would seem to be true although the carpeting looked rather soiled.This is a motel so you park outside your room's door. Staff were friendly. Nice breakfast dining area off the lobby although free breakfast was not much and not what I would call healthy. You will want to know that the shower/tub water temp is lukewarm at best with handle pulled all the way to the left and the shower head produces a restricted flow of water . Asked about these frustrations at check-out and learned they are purposeful for water conservation. We support this so that is why I am not ranking the overall rating lower . You may wish to consider how YOU feel about that topic , though, should you select it because you will not get the heavy , warm flow of water you may be used to at other properties. One more thing...if you are restless sleeper (like me) you may awaken to discover the lower bedsheet is not a fitted one and has pulled off the bed leaving you asleep on the mattress. YUCK!!!!!!!! For the ridiculously low price, though, it was quite a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011lovinitsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

This is another very fair review! We truly appreciate this guest's honesty, support of water conservation, and acknowledgement of our value! We also appreciate the mention of the carpets- we are aware that when we state "newly renovated" we have to continuously keep renovating. We have replaced 18 carpets in the last 2 months and plan to continue this effort consistently- it is unfortunate that these guests did not receive one of these rooms though thanks to their review we were able to note the need for new carpet in the room that they did get. As for the breakfast, this is also very fair... we want to be able to offer a free breakfast without raising our rates as the cost of food items continue to rise, so as a value hotel we are able to offer a continental breakfast consisting of english muffins, bagels, donuts, muffins, and cereal. And so long as it is feasible we are more than willing to pick up any cold extras upon request, such as fruit, ahead of time. Lastly we want to acknowledge the lack of fitted sheets- this is not the first time we have received poor feedback on having unfitted sheets and we are listening! Starting with our last linen order we will be phasing out the unfitted sheets with fitted- thank you for letting us know how we can improve!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

I liked this place because it was a motel rather than a hotel, you can drive right up to your door, which makes it easy for unpacking and packing. I didn't think the breakfast had much to offer, we took food out of the car and ate that.

The motel to me seems like it is in the seedy side of town, but I asked the front desk and they told me it was in one of the better parts of town.

The room was quiet and bed comfortable. For the price I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank blackpupchucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We thought this was a very nice place to stay. Not expensive, yummy continental breakfast, comfy bed, clean and close to the airport. We met three of the employees there and thought they were all excellent! Great value!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have now stayed at the Inn several times and never with a disappointment, but our last stay was above all expectations. For you see, I came with a newly healing shattered rt shoulder which required unusual accommadations. Within 20 minutes of my requests they called me back at my home and said they were all set up for me. How can we be more greatful?
We have yet to meet a poor staff member! Tk U All!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbiedollDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

The real question is, how can WE be more grateful!!! Having such kind and loyal guests like you return to us is what makes our jobs so fun! Thank YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We found the place online and at the last minute. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Great location had lots of restaurants and stores close by. About 4 minutes away from the Metro Centre (BMO Harris Bank Centre). Room was clean with lots of space. Nice parking right outside the room. The only thing that could use a bit of work is the water pressure in the shower. We were still able to shower without any issue just not great water pressure. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We rented 2 rooms feb 2012 and the place was a dump. Rooms smelled of cigs in a non smoking room, the front doors did not shut securely and had gaps at the bottom a small animal could crawl through. The carpet was dirty and the bed was lumpy. You sure do get what you pay for these days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notrealhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

We are extremely sorry that this guest felt that they had an unsatisfactory stay here. We cannot express enough that we are a value hotel. This means that we offer a clean, comfortable, and safe place to stay for guests on a budget. While we excel at customer service, we simply do not have the resources to offer all of the amenities that you might find at a big name chain without raising our rates, and therefore we do not claim to be a perfect fit for everyone. We did offer to change rooms for this guest though they declined. We appreciate learning of the gaps on the doors (they do securely lock though some air was coming through the bottom) as we have already had our maintenance team weatherstrip those particular doors to resolve this issue. We are also in the process of replacing many of these doors. The beds in these rooms were just purchased within the last few months- the firmness of a bed is a personal preference, had they expressed their dissatisfaction with them we would have swapped them out immediately. Again, we deeply regret that this guest was not happy though we will continue to strive to improve to make sure that guests feel that they receive a great value by staying with us- we will do everything within our means to meet our guests needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Alpine Inn is an excellent place to stay for long and short stays. :It is always clean and well maintained. The manager and desk staff are great to deal with. Parking and security are never a problem. I would consider this motel to be a great recommendation to my own friends and relatives. I have stayed there on a number of occasions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - State Street
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 24 in Rockford
414 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Address: 4404 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rockford
#7 Business Hotel in Rockford
Price Range: £45 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and affordable, recently remodeled motel close to both downtown Rockford and the Swedish American Hospital. All rooms offer microwaves, refrigerators, satellite TV w/ 2 Encore channels, and newly refinished baths with granite counter tops. We are centrally located on Rockford's "Miracle Mile" and offer both nightly and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing