We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.”

Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Rockford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This year-round garden, which started as a commercial nursery, includes 155 acres of trees and 300 woody plant species mapped and labeled. The gardens include: a Rhododendron and Azalea dell, Hosta Garden, Nancy Olsen's Children's Garden, Fountain Garden, Demonstration Garden, Peony Garden, Grasses Garden,Woodland Wildflower Garden and Plant-a-Row garden. There are several signature events hosted each year also. Botanica luncheon,Garden Fair, Plant Sale, Woodsong Concert Series, Autumn in the Arboretum and Twilight in the Garden are all popular annual events.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have not gone again this year, but it is constantly growing (no pun in pleasure). The water features are pure fun in the summer. The gardens themselves are unpretentious, straight-forward Midwestern beauty. We have gone many times with many different ages; never been disappointed. Garden shop is small, but quite nice, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JSTVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are happy to hear you like our grounds. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Everytime we go there is hardly anybody there unless it is a special event. It is a very peaceful walk around with wildlife, flowers, trees, looking stand, picnic benches, fountains, childrens area..
Bring a picnic and walk around

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank krn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We think of Klehm as the gem of Rockford! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
508 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
“Serene and expansive garden and park.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

PROS: The majestic sentinel Oak tree that is one of the original trees in the garden; the arbovitae hedge maze near the children's section. The variety of Magnolia trees, clean and well maintained paths for families with small children. Free and abundant parking. Very photogenic setting for memorable familial celebrations.

CONS: May be bland for people who do not appreciate the diverse flora they have in the property.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are a very tranquil garden, but our signature events bring in a lot of visitors. We hope you join us for one of those, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Beautiful park and terrific facilities for a business function. Can take a break and enjoy beautiful gardens. Just take some time to visit a gem in the Rockford area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank timothy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
5 stars! Thank you so much. We appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous park setting”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Great prairie and midwestern plant life is well annotated and planned. I've even enjoyed concerts with the beautiful background. I recently saw photos of an October wedding that showed the loveliness lurking even in the rain.

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you, Theresa. Send your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing