We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay and been charged double :(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Average stay and been charged double :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is nicely located with bus service direct from Chicago airport to the hotel. But thats the only good thing i liked about the hotel.

The rooms were big but need renovation. My room ac had all its wings broken and also the swtiches were pretty old style.
The restaurant they have here is nice but i did not get a chance to eat here much as were eating out mostly.

Well i paid double for this hotel. They charged my card and told me it did not work properly and have cleared the entry and took cash from me. Now when I came back I see my card has been charged and money has been taken. Spent 2 months in sorting this with the hotel but no helps. So be careful that this does not happen to you. For me overall this was quite an average experience.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pawansahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Pawansahni,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    54
    50
    19
    13
See reviews for
42
25
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ham Lake
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My good friends youngest daughter got married about 20 minutes from this hotel location. Location was ultimate for our adventure this weekend. My priority was our 2 Exchange students. I wanted them to see a true American Wedding and still be in a good location to take a quick visit to Chicago. This worked out well for us. Our checkin was flawless. I'm a Gold member and my first name was waiting on a whiteboard. The girls were very impressed. The room was clean and spacious. We had difficulty with the shower, but that was our problem. Worked great when we were instructed by maintenance HOW to use it. Funny!

My only slight negative and I emphasize slight, is the pool area. It could use some updating and maybe a stronger exhaust system. It's been awhile since I've been in an enclosed pool area, but it seemed strong smelling.

Safe, secure, and well lit parking is important to me when I travel. This hotel really gets that issue. I tend to travel on my own and I like this feeling of safety when I arrive. I had no issue leaving in the evening to explore and venturing back.

Room Tip: Great elevator system, Higher is quieter and less bright at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollysJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at this property for 18 nights, starting Aug 7, 2012. We got a great value thru Priceline for this 3 1/2 star property.

The location is great for travelers, but is about 6 miles from downtown Rockford, via busy streets.

The parking is almost unlimited, the Hotel is very nice overall, but a little ragged around the edges, the two elevators are the slowest We've ever remembered. Our room was non-smoking with a very, very comfortable King bed and extremely high quality linens and choices of pillows. The maid service was always very nicely done, with high quality towels. The 42" flat screen TV had good choice of channels and with very good reception. In room coffee was by the cup brewing. In the business center there were 3 computers and a printer (which went on the blink 2 days before we left), there were always Airpots of Wolf Gang Puch coffee, which was very tasty)

The area of this Hotel has a lot of company, there must be 10-12 other hotels/motels, from Motel 6, Red Roof Inn, to Staybridge Suites, Residence Inn, Hilton,etc, all within walking distance. Which brings up the biggest problem we found with this location, besides the other hotels/motels, there were quite a few restaurants from Burger King, Denny's, Ruby Tuesday, and local upscale Italian, but this was an Extremely Unfriendly area for pedestrians!!

Especially after dark, there are no crosswalks, no pedestrian crossing lights, and two very busy roads, with 45 mph limits. Additionally, there are no sidewalks, only gravel or grassy shoulders. Both roads were multi-lane with two right turns lanes and islands. It was very difficult to make a crossing without a bit of a hustle! Not for the less than Fleet of Foot!!

The Hotel did have a very good, but pricey Restaurant, which locals recommended. The Hoffbrau House, had limited hours for meals, i.e., breakfast from 6-10am and then lunch from 11-2, and Dinner from 5-9 (?), point is, it wasn't as convenient as a Denny's or other 24 hour place.

Over-all we enjoyed our length stay and recommend this Holiday Inn as a good choice.

Room Tip: Our 7th Floor room had a good view, and was mostly quiet, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hi-desertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

It seems that Holiday Inns are getting better everywhere. Very nice large rooms, clean and fresh. Good staff, comfy bed and a great location. Right off the interstate and close to resteraunts. Price very reasonable.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during the Midwest BMX Nationals this year. The rooms were clean and sized well. The employees were very nice and helpful. I would have liked to see some breakfast coupons or something. The food was good and the beer cold. The salad bar was way too crowded to get in and was almost a free for all. I only looked through the windows at the pool since the races went a little later. The pool area looked very nice well kept. There was people checking in and griping the people had no clue what they were doing. I think people need to be more patient.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leifandmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortonville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was assigned a room on the smoking floor. I wasn’t even aware hotels still have smoking floors. I complained before I received the key, to which the staff said there was nothing they could do, because they were booked full. I am a Platinum member and never expected to be told “you will have this room on a smoking floor and thats it” before. At that point, I decided I won’t be staying at this hotel during my future travels to Rockford. The next day, I asked for a late checkout over the phone. My room had not been cleaned yet, and I needed to stay for another hour before going to a meeting. I was told I would not be given a late checkout, because my room was already booked for that day. Again, let me re-emphasize, I am a Platinum member of the Priority Club…one of the benefits of my loyalty to Holiday Inn is to get a late checkout if needed. Unbelievable lack of concern for my comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Rory B,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum member and bringing this to our attention. We would like to follow up with you regarding your recent stay. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Yes, this property is a little on the pricey side (not sure why?) but it's worth the money. Super clean and comfortable in a great location. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#1 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#7 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)

Property: Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)
Address: 7550 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63) 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Rockford's premier full service hotel, the Holiday Inn of Rockford invites you to experience a hotel stay unlike any other. Whether you are traveling on business to see such companies as Daimler Chrysler or Hamilton Sundstrand, planning a day of shopping at CherryVale Mall, taking the family to Magic Waters or playing at Sportscore the Holiday Inn of Rockford is the first choice for travelers. The Hoffman House Restaurant, located inside the hotel is known for its world famous prime rib. The Scoreboard Lounge is one of Rockford's finest sports bars. For conventions, nothing compares. Our banquet facilities can host from 5 to 500 complete with full service catering and technology needs. Relax, it's Holiday Inn located right off I-90 on East State Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rockford (i-90 Exit 63) Hotel Rockford
Rockford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing